We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cable Street Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cable Street Inn
Save
You added Cable Street Inn to your Saves list
232 Cable Street, London E1 0BL, England (Whitechapel)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 524 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Estes Park, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great place to stay. Very roomy and it felt like home. Julian was a very charming host. Will return again. Good location. Close to Shadwell station. I recommend taking the DLR down to the Prospect of Whitby which is a pub with good food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
68
7
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
saint-etienne France
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

The cable street inn is a true cosy place, fine location, esay to reach with the public transportation. This place was once a pub. This part of the east end, close to the docks and the Tower of London is nice ot discover.

Room Tip: room n°1, very quiet and comfortable, at the back of the house, once a local pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritAbroad
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This old London pub is an understated building that's easy to miss, just the shortest of distances from Shadwell DLR and rail stations. Nice, friendly, relaxed welcome and introduction to a lovely bedroom with generous bathroom. Room 3 is on the 2nd floor at the front of the building, above the shared dining room (with its complementary hot beverages and fruit available 24/7), and its tasteful but understated decoration added to a comfortable stay. Fresh flowers adorned the room, with its large comfortable bed and pristine bedding, wall-mounted TV, nice artworks and free wifi. The bathroom was equipped with full-sized deep pedestal bath, large shower, twin basins, wc, robes and plenty of towels. There was some road noise at night but certainly not excessive and thick velvet curtains to keep the room dark.

Continental breakfast is served from 07:00 (07:30 Sundays) with the added pleasure that those breakfasting get to share the experience with other guests at large tables. Breakfast consisted of a good choice of cereals, fruit juices, fruit, yogurts, pastries, ham, cheese, breads, conserves and hot beverages ... more than adequate for most appetites.

We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We were looking for somewhere comfortable and quirky and this certainly fitted the bill. Having such a friendly and laid-back host was also a big plus, happy to share lots of really useful local knowledge. Our room (top floor) was very well appointed with an excellent bathroom with roll-top bath as well as walk-in shower. Not just a hair-dryer but straighteners too!

Breakfast is continental but great range of juices, luxury cereals plus breads, pastries, ham, cheese all laid out for you to help yourself - what's unusual? Well you make your own cafetiere of coffee, toast etc - you are completely left to your own devices but it makes for a very relaxed breakfast.

The location is unusual and not central, but it's really well placed for transport links especially the 100 bus which literally stops outside the front door and meanders through Wapping but reaches Tower Hill and then the usual city stops through to St Pauls and environs very soon. Or the Shadwell DLR stop is only one station from either Tower Gateway or Bank. The Cable street area is quiet and interesting - and at least two excellent restaurants within 10 mins walk: Rosemary Lane and Cafe Spice Nameste. We also really enjoyed the walk along the canal to St Katherine's Dock and beyond. I will certainly be recommended this little gem to any London-bound friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

What can I say that no-one else has, a one night stay close to my daughter's house. Would like to have stayed longer but hope to be back. Very quiet, informal breakfast arrangement, comfy beds, very clean. Could not fault it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently stopped over for a few nights in London and chose the Cable Street Inn, in large part due to excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. We had an outstanding and relaxing stay and will definitely return.

The B&B was an old bar/inn dating to the late 1700s. It is a great, characteristic building with only three guestrooms and you can see some of the remnants of a later glass-enclosed pub room with advertising when you first enter the reception. We stayed in Room 1 in the back of the first floor (second level) overlooking the church yard and Battle of Cable Street mural. The room is large, like a small suite really, with wide board floors and a very nice bathroom featuring a deep tub, separate shower and toilet with antique iron elevated water receptacle. There is a flat panel TV with a good assortment of cable channels.

Also on the first floor there is a charming slightly sloping breakfast room/sitting room overlooking Cable Street with old wide board floors, and dual fireplaces. The continental continental breakfast was enjoyable with coffee, tea and juice, pastries, bread (a toaster is available), jam, yogurt, cereal, cheese and some cold cut meat. There are a number of books in the room about East London and several self guided walking tours of the area including walks of Wapping, the Isle of Dogs/Canary Wharf and Brick Lane/Banglatown. We took two of these walks during our stay and found them really enjoyable.

The home also has a roof deck on the second floor (third level) with views over the neighborhood, church grounds and city skyline and there is great contemporary art and quirky collectables (a number of which were found on the grounds of the inn) throughout the house.

The house was very quiet. We never heard people in adjoining rooms and only once or twice heard people climbing the stairs. There is no nightlife directly around the inn, which backs up to the grounds of St. George in the East. Cable street is a one way, one lane street running West bound with a parallel elevated bike route. There are buses on the street and a bit of vehicle and pedestrian traffic but overall it is quiet. Apart from groups of children passing by the side yard apparently passing through the church grounds on the way to/from school or playtime we heard very little street noise from our room.

The neighborhood, Shadwell, where the Cable Street Inn is located ended up being very convenient for exploring East London. It is East of the Tower of London about a mile and just north of the Thames and Wapping neighborhood. To the north of Shadwell is Whitechapel and Brick Lane. Most points in Wapping are about a half mile or so from the B&B. Brick Lane, Spitalfields and The Old Truman Brewery are about a mile. The Tower of London/Tower Bridge is a bit under a mile. Shoreditch is maybe a mile and a half. Hoxton is about 2 miles. Canary Wharf and the Museum of London Docklands are just a little more than 2 miles. If you like to walk you could certainly walk to all of the above areas but Shoreditch, Hoxton and Canary Wharf can all be reached easily by a couple stops on one of the rail lines (more on that below). You can also take a ferry or Thames Clipper service to other points in London from piers at Canary Wharf or the Tower Bridge area.

Admittedly coming from Heathrow reaching the inn will take a little more time (maybe an extra half hour) and effort than if you were to stay in Kensington, Knightsbridge, or Bayswater. To reach Shadwell you are going to have to make tube transfers and the Heathrow Express to Paddington is not going to significantly reduce your travel time. However Shadwell is served by both the Docklands Light Rail (DLR) and Overground lines (which are separate stops but essentially right next to each other on or just off of Cable Street and only a very short walk to the inn) so there are a couple options. From LHR take the Piccadilly line. Option 1: Transfer to the District Line to Whitechapel and then take the Overground one stop. You will exit at street level right onto Cable Street. Make a right, cross Cable street then walk about a block until just after you pass the entrance to the Church yard and the Battle of Cable Street Mural (on the left). The entrance is in the side yard through a private gate. Option 2: Transfer to the District or Circle line to Monument or Tower Hill and transfer to the DLR (one stop either way) to the Shadwell DLR station. This is an elevated platform. Head down to street level. Take a left on Watney Street and this dead ends on Cable Street. Turn right and proceed essentially as above.

On thing that we found pleasantly surprising was that getting into the heart of central London from Shadwell was fairly easy. Circle, District, Central and Northern lines can all be reached at Tower Gateway or Monument. You can take the Overground to Whitechapel, Shoreditch and Hoxton in just 1-3 stops. The Museum of London, St. Paul's Cathedral, the Tower of London and London Bridge are only a 1-2 stops (or could be walked). Various combinations of lines allow you to reach London Bridge or Soutwark (Tate Modern, Borough Market) in as few as 2-3 stops; Holborn, Covent Garden, King's Cross/St. Pancras or even Westminster in as few little as 5-6 stops; Green Park, Piccadilly Cir. or Bond Street in as few as 6-7 stops, etc. As a caution though some of these are going to require transfers some of which are going to involve modest walks and stairs.

A few other points:

This is really a low key B&B. The owner Julian is very friendly and approachable. He or another employee will meet you and show you to the room and give you the key and information on breakfast. After that you won't necessarily see a lot of him (though he is around). We liked that but it is not for everyone. If you need to leave very early I would make arrangements ahead of time. We did that and it worked out great.

There is wifi but it was slow and not tremendously reliable. Julian indicated that he was considering ways of improving the signal with a booster. There are also few bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel (though again there are plenty of options if you are willing to walk a bit or take the tube).

The hotel is a walk up. All rooms require at least one flight of stairs.

Also, in the interest of full disclosure, Shadwell (part of the Tower Hamlets) has been traditionally poorer and has crime but we definitely felt safe once we got a look around and got oriented. I would just use the ordinary precautions walking around at nights.

One last thing we thought about staying at the Cable Street Inn is that staying in East London (and Shadwell in particular) you are getting a really authentic experience. I really can't understate that. There are very few if any tourists, just locals. I get the sense that it is gentrifying rapidly -- bookended as it is by the financial centers in the City and Canary Wharf -- but it is still a fascinating neighborhood with a substantial South Asian immigrant population and an intriguing history.

*Note I accidentally marked "room service" below. There is no room service as such. The room cleaning service was excellent.

Room Tip: I liked Room 1 a lot. It was roomy and quiet. It faces the back of the house (the St. George in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Booked this place on a last minute whim and it exceeded my expectations There are 3 rooms . They are comfortably appointed, lovely bed and unexpectedly quiet. Very cosy and a lovely serve yourself breakfast (or hot drinks at any time) Very conveniently located for the city and east end. Tower of London less than 15 mins walk same for the now very trendy Spitalfields market and Denis Severs House. It is very easy to find and is less than 2 minutes from Shadwell DLR or overground and it also has its own bus to St Pauls (OK its the number 100 but it stops right outside the door and right outside St Pauls) please don't all book it I want it to be free when I need it..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cable Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cable Street Inn

Address: 232 Cable Street, London E1 0BL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 524 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique B&B in a historic former ale house built in 1790. Just 1 minute walk to Shadwell DLR and Overground Stations, it is a convenient, luxurious and affordable place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cable Street Inn London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cable Street Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.