We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for people who like quantity...bad for people who like food...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodizio Preto

Rodizio Preto
73 Shaftesbury Avenue, London W1D 5, England (Soho)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7,464 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great for people who like quantity...bad for people who like food...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Preto is one of those Brazilian meat buffet places, where they come around with meat spears and cut the meat for you. The quality of the meat isn't that great. Also, everything was overly salty. I think this is all part of their plan to make you order more beverages to maximise revenue and also a ploy to fill you up on drinks to minimise cost.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    82
    41
    38
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great value steak in a friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The best thing about this place is that it serves an unlimited amount of food for a really good fixed price. We love Preto and have been there a few times - both the steak and the open buffet is really nice, and the staff is very friendly and entertaining. The only bad thing is you end up eating too much! I would really recommend this place for special occasions like birthdays!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

food was ok staff nice but policy and manager disgraceful she was not helpfull, not nice, very cold and told us not to come again because we didn't want to pay cover charge we prefer to pay tips. And she told us not to come again and we will not bother there is plenty of restaurants in London

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Value for money in a friendly environment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Visited on a busy Friday evening in December.
The meat delivered and carved was all fresh and hot. Whilst the salad and buffet section
Could be bigger for the size of restaurant it was continually re-stocked with fresh dishes.
Staff were all friendly and made visitors aware of their two hour policy at weekends.
Overall an enjoyable experience made better by the attentive and friendly staff team.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beds
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Carnivores Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I like Rodizios. They are a fun way to dine, you get exactly what and how much you want to eat and if you like your meat they are akin to heaven! We really enjoyed the food and service was friendly and efficient. Arriving on a Saturday night with no reservation we were told there was a 2 hour time limit but Preto is a little too cramped for my liking, not somewhere you could settle for a long languid graze and we were well fed and watered within an hour.The green/red card was a bit lame but did the job. Good variety of meats, the topside beef, lamb, gammon, ribs and seasoned sausages were especially good. Salad bar with rice, refried beans etc all very average. Looking forward to trying the Brighton branch in the New Year.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rodizio Preto also viewed

London, England
 

Been to Rodizio Preto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodizio Preto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.