We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel, close to the centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn London City - Old Street

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn London City - Old Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London City - Old Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 1,073 hotels in London
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice hotel, close to the centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel was perfect for our short break to London. It was (long) walking distance to St Paul's and the Thames. The breakfast is great value when you have children and it sets you up for the day. The evening meal was great. The hotel caters very well for tourists. The decor was quite stylish in the public areas.

The reception staff were young and enthusiastic, and all staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    747
    381
    58
    9
    7
See reviews for
535
243
44
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed here on the 13th of January for one night, and the service from all staff was fantastic. They were incredibly friendly. The room was also very comfy and very clean. The bar is pretty cheap also for London! Also, only a 2 min walk to old street tube station :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and i stayed at this hotel from 7th to the 10thof jan . the hotel was near an underground station 2 stops from kings cross . also there was a bus stop just outside hotel and opposite too . It was so easy to get into the centre . the rooms were excellent , the staff were so helpful & pleasant , & last but not least the food was lovely . the offer of £22.95 for breakfast and a three course dinner + a drink was excellent value . would certainly stay again . M & J YORK

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had breakfast each morning. Very good service, spotless room, all staff throughout helpful and smiling from cleaners to reception. Very close to tube station. our first night was spoiled by busy builders outside in early hours, not a problem we had a full refund and change of room without any fuss and had a blissful 2nd nights sleep! Would definitely return and recommend to anyone visiting London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Having used Premier Inn hotels for quite some time now, my review on this particular hotel is based both on this and that of Premier Inn as a whole.

Premier Inn Hotels are probably the easiest and most convenient hotels to use. The format is simple and works very well with eveything the traveller needs conveniently close at hand. I use Premier Inn mainly for business use, but their excellent position in most areas, make them ideal for both business and pleasure use, and London City (Old Street) is perfect too as it sits just outside the congestion charge area.

Parking can be a bit of an issue though as there is no hotel parking as such. You may park on side streets free of charge between 18.30 & 08.30 but as with most parts of London, outside of these times charges can be pricey at £4.00 per hour.

The bar and restaurants at Premier Inn in general are a good standard of quality with enough variation to suit most palettes and appetites. Obviously this isn't Michelin Star but its good, honest food, and I have to say if you opt for the 'Meal Deal' package when booking you would be hard pressed to find a better deal anywhere else. Dinner includes 3 courses and a drink from a selected menu, and the all you can eat breakfast is a fabulous and welcome start to any day, and all for £22.99 per person, you can't really go wrong.

The rooms are very comfortable, again - not exactly The Ritz, but they are equipped with everything you need, and the beds are fabulously comfortable and even have a choice of pillows!! Flat screen TV's are the norm, kettle with Tea and coffee, ironing board if you need one, desk, wifi availability and telephone, and you even get the first 30 minutes each day free on WiFi, but I suggest using iPads or phones as Internet costs are high and I never really did understand why or how any hotel justifies the charges they make for this service.

Check in and checkout is straight forward, although if you do travel frequently on business, I would suggest taking advantage of the Business Account Premier Inn now offer, it helps with the expenses side of things with one monthly invoice rather than a load of receipts etc.

What more is there to say really? Overall I was very impressed with the standard of the Premier Inn, Old Street, London as I usually am with most Premier Inn Hotels. However at £110 per room per night in January it is a little pricey for a budget hotel, but at least you know and can trust in the service and quality and the staff simply cannot do enough to make your stay as comfortable as possible. A+++

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this fantastic Premier Inn. The hotel offers great value for money and the staff are all extremely friendly and helpful. It is situated at a 3 minute walk fro the nearest metro station, Old street, and took exactly 15 minutes to arrive in London's Kings Cross-StPancras, at the hub of the city. The rooms are very clean and cosy, and the housekeeping staff are very prompt. The bathrooms are a decent size at this price althought the shower did make a strange wailing noise. There is a restaurant situated within the hotel itself, which offers a variety of delectable cuisines. The hotel offers a wonderul and filling breakfast in the mornings, with kids eating absolutely free! The only problem being the rather large queues in the cafeteria. Overall, a great hotel which we would recommend to anyone staying in London for a few nights.

Room Tip: Dont be alarmed if any fire alarms keep going off every five minute, the building is connected to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was the first time that I had stayed at a Premier Inn and I have to say I was mightily impressed on many counts.

- Great price (we paid £50 for a family room for one night)
- Great location (only 2 tube stops from Kings Cross/St Pancras)
- Great room (clean, tidy, large, quiet, bath, shower, big bed, good sized kids bed, drinks facilities, etc etc.
- Great breakfast (only £8.95 per adult, kids eat free, choice of hot or cold and eat as much as you like).

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to London, especially with a family.

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be of good quality - we personally stayed on the 8th floor which was service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn London City - Old Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City - Old Street

Address: 1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in London
#69 Business Hotel in London
#108 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City - Old Street 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a brand new 251 Room Premier Inn with 200 seat Thyme restaurant. The hotel offers en-suite, air conditioned rooms. We also have a number of interconnecting rooms as well as Universally Accessible rooms. We are 2 minutes walk from Old Street tube station (Exit 1). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Premier Inn London City - Old Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel London
Premier Inn London City - Old Street England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn London City - Old Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.