We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A honest budget hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn London City - Old Street

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn London City - Old Street to your Saves list
Premier Inn London City - Old Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England (Shoreditch)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book at premierinn.com
Ranked #108 of 1,052 Hotels in London
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A honest budget hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is one of a growing national chain. It is just over one year old. My family and I have used it several times in 2012. The staff are excellent and very helpful to the disabled and elderly. It seems to act as a training site for the group and the standard of care and attention to detail is high with for example many talented young staff persons able to speak in several languages.

The restaurant is reasonable but not haut cuisine, However the Christmas dinner offered was excellent as are the regular meal offers. The breakfast is good.

One wonders why charges are made for internet access in most hotels but at least here there is a free period before charges are made.

It is ideally situated to Old Street tube station, bus routes to the St.Paul's area and to Moorfields Hospital the international NHS eye hospital. Value for money and comfort it takes quite a bit of beating...but do not expect Victorian style personal attention like the Oxford Randolph hotel.

Probably best suited for the relatively short stay but to the visitor to London's attractions is quite a good focus point giving easy access to bus and tube transport.

Room Tip: All levels seem quiet but on arrival make sure you specify whether you want a bath, a step in shower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City - Old Street, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We have set a high standard in customer service and like to ensure every new member of staff are trained to the same high quality. We are located in a multi-cultural city, with guests arriving from all over the world, therefore we find it essential to be able to communicate with all guests.

In regards to the internet, each guest gets half an hour of free Wi-Fi every day , after that it is £3 for 24 hours or £10 for 7 days.

We're glad you enjoy staying with us and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Regards,

Team Old Street!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    997
    525
    94
    19
    7
See reviews for
708
358
57
231
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This hotel is less than a 5 minute walk to/from the Old Street station. The Old Street station looks a little un-kept but over all once you are outside and get to the hotel the area is very nice. From the Old street station take exit #1---walk about 3 mins. Stay to the right of the fork in the road. Hotel will be on you right.
Check-in was easy. Room was clean. My family had four people. 2 adults and 2 kids (12&14). The room did not have enough hand towels. Staff brought more. Because it was New Years Eve, there was not a lot open around the hotel to eat at. The hotel dining room could not sit us for about 90 mins. We did not want to wait so we decided to do fast food. A Mexican restaurant up the street near the Underground”; it was bad…You may not want to go there.
Hotel did allow us to store our luggage for free of charge the day of our departure. Over all very pleased with the room and price. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: 10th floor good view of fireworks.. internet is 3 pounds per day. ask for additional hand towels if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

stayed here at 27th and 28th of december 2012
everything was very clean, staff very friendly, breakfast and dinner was good, quiet at night, room temperature was good and easy to control, shower was nice, the room was nice, matrass was good, defenitely worth it!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We arrived to a lovely greeting and were permitted into our room 1hr early as it was ready. The room was snug for a family room, but manageable and very clean. Our room looked onto a side street and was fairly quiet at night with just some traffic noise and sirens from the main road.
The underground was not working when we stayed, but there were bus stops all around the area taking us to everywhere we wanted to go.
We chose the £22 dinner deal and had breakfast the next day and both were good substantial meals with plenty of choice and friendly efficient staff.
My only complaint was the room temperature which was uncomfortably sticky.The window did not open and the air con didn't seem to be doing its job. We asked for someone to check the air con was working and although it seemed that the room was cooler after this, within a few hours it had heated up again and meant a second night of no sleep thanks to being too hot. It was a real shame as this hotel was the best PI by far otherwise.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wijk aan Zee, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Good priced hotel.
Nice rooms and friendly staff.
Spend the last days of 2012 and the start of 2013 here.
The only thing that could be approved is the heating in the rooms. Airco does not work that best. Room is warm.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here 31st dec 2012 for New years eve celebrations to see the fireworks/big ben etc. Which was absolutely awful but no reflection on the Premier inn which made the stressful situation of new years eve more pleasant.

There was 9 of us all together staying in 3 rooms which included 2 family room and one double room. We had children with us age 5, 8, 11 and 15. Check in was smooth and easy. The lady on reception was very welcoming and cheerful.
Our rooms were very good standard and clean. The family rooms are a little small with 4 of you as beds very close together but this didnt cause a problem and was very comfortable still. There is you usual tea, coffee, toileteries and tv etc in there.
I did struggle to sleep due to noise outside but it was new years eve so to be expected and I imagine any other time this wouldn't be the case as it is situated set back out of hustle and bustle.

The hotel is located in an excellet place for sight seeing all round london. It is about a 3 minute walk to old street tube station where you can get on and off all aound within a few minutes and is very easy.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Eat as much as you like full english, fruit, yoghurt and plenty more.

Checkout was at 12pm and again very easy. We were allowed to store our luggage which was great as our train back was not until 6pm.

overall I would say this was the best Premier inn we have stayed in . It was over priced at £161 per room but compared to others in the area it was very reasonable for new years eve.

We would stay here with our children again when we next visit London ( just not new years eve)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

A nice budget hotel with a good location. The main problem being that as it was New Years Eve it wasn't a budget hotel at all...but in fairness to Premier Inn, all hotels in any city in the world will ramp their prices up at certain times of the year. That doesn't mean I have to like it.

I've just completed an email survey about my stay at this hotel and I was asked 'on checkin did a member of staff tell you about this and that', however, at this hotel the checkin is done using self-service machines. They are easy to use and efficient, however, they are a little in-personal and give them impression that you are more a cog in the workings of the hotel rather than a guest.

The room was basic but had the amenities you would require and was clean. From the look of it I would say the hotel is fairly new so still all fairly modern. The only problem was with the bath/shower. As soon is the water was turned on there was a very loud wailing noise from the pipework which must have been heard by several rooms on the same floor if not other floors too. It sounded like the noise was coming from a failing pump and I showered in fear that it was going to explode on me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Premier Inn London City - Old Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City - Old Street

Address: 1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Shoreditch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in London
#102 Business Hotel in London
#109 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City - Old Street 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a brand new 251 Room Premier Inn with 200 seat Thyme restaurant. The hotel offers en-suite, air conditioned rooms. We also have a number of interconnecting rooms as well as Universally Accessible rooms. We are 2 minutes walk from Old Street tube station (Exit 1). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn London City - Old Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel London
Premier Inn London City - Old Street England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn London City - Old Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.