We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REASONABLY PRICED HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn London City - Old Street

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn London City - Old Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn London City - Old Street
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £117
Ranked #73 of 1,073 hotels in London
STAMFORD LINCS
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“REASONABLY PRICED HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Situated about 5 minutes walk from Old Street tube station (Northern Line). It is a clean but very busy hotel. My only complaint is that this particular hotel does not do the continental breakfast option and has a couple of computer check in/out terminals together a stand for the receptionists rather than a reception desk. Having said that if one does not want/require the "Full
English" then there are plenty of good cafes within easy walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City - Old Street, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Keith,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Premier Inn London City Old Street.

In regards to your comment regarding our Premier Inn breakfast, we would like to inform you that we do serve continental breakfast apart from our All-you-can-eat Full English breakfast.
Our continental breakfast can be booked at our reception desk or at the restaurant. We regret that you did not had the opportunity to do this on your last visit.

We appreciate your feedback for us, and hope to see you soon.

Kindest Regards,
Team Old Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    762
    385
    59
    9
    7
See reviews for
545
246
44
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CowThey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The hotel is easy to reach by subway from Heatrow, just jump on the Piccadilly line, changing at Kings Cross to the Northern Line and 2 stops and you're at Old Street, a short walk of 5 minutes.

As a Swedish / Nordic traveler I can simply describe the hotel by to say that it simply is "Scandic" standard, very similar to a Scandic hotel with a few minor differences:
1. Breakfast was not included, cost extra, we were happy with the breakfast, no huge buffet but well-cooked and generously .. it is English breakfast right through ..
2. Wifi was not included, 30 minutes free per day..

The hotel is fairly newly built, there are no worn carpets or dripping taps.

The room in general:
The rooms were not large but quite ok, clean o fresh.
Positive is that you could boil Coffee o Tea room (kettle and coffee / tea making facilities were in the room).
The room temperature was perfect, neither hot or too cold.

Sleeping comfort:
Good beds, we slept well :)
Lovely pillows, just one blanket but quite ok.
Not much noise outside, some "blue light" occasionally but no noise except that.
Our room was on the 10th floor which may have contributed to it was quiet.

Staff:
Was totally superb, quite young average age, everyone made an effort to the utmost that we might thrive. We got great tips on all excursions we had planned, the staff arranged and tried hard to help us and always with a big smile.
Example:
We had forgotten Electricity Adapters, reception arranged our problem directly, free of cost.
We asked for the the route to a market, after a few minutes we got a printout of exactly how we would get there, opening times etc..
Absolutely superb staff!

The area:
Not directly in the center, but we felt safe, there is not so much in direct area to do, but we did not examine the immediate area so we could be wrong.

The restaurant:
We ate dinner one night at the hotel, good food and affordable.
The staff was helpful and took the time to answer and explain all of our questions about the food and many other things that we asked about.

The only thing that annoyed me was that the wifi was not free.
OK.. cost only a few pounds but when will hotels learn that wifi is something that simply must be included in the service?

We will soon go back to London and our first choice will then be this hotel again.
Then maybe the hotel chain has had time to get into the same decade as many of its competitors and offer free wifi .. ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City - Old Street, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Carlsson,
We are glad to receive your feedack regarding your stay at Premier Inn Lodon City Old Street.

And although we understand that you found it bit disappointing that the Wi-fi is not free here, but we would like to inform you that we have worked hard to get the Wi-fi price reduced to £3.00 for 24 hours and £10.00 for 7days from the earlier price of £3.00 for 45 minutes and £20.00 for 7 days.

We have passed your comment to our team who were delighted by your review. It is comments like yours which makes our team excited and motivated to deliver good service time after time. It truly work as big motivational magic so we would like to thank you once again. We really appreciate it.

Kindest Regards,
Team Old Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

We have just come home from this hotel and what a little jem it is!! Just a 3 min walk from old street station exit 1, we were very early getting to london as we were only staying for 2 nights and wanted to pack as much in as possible, we took our bags to the hotel and they will lock them in a safe room until you are ready to check in so you can get on with your sightseeing and shopping straight away.

The man a the reception was very friendly and said it was no problem to leave our bags and not to worry just come back when we were ready, we went back much later on to check in, it was very quick and friendly, the room was warm (it was freezing outside) cosy, the beds was very comfy and as we were a family of 4 2 single beds for the kids.

We paid the extra and also had the breakfast deal with every 1 paying adult 2 children under 16 eat free and it was a lovely breakfast, the usual bacon, eggs, sausage etc but they will also make dishes to order eg, poched eggs on toast, omelette's and porridge, menu also included cereals, toast, crossants, muffins, fresh fruit and yoghurts, costa coffe, twinnings teas and fresh juice!!

Excellent hotel, excellent staff, will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City - Old Street, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Bob,
We appreciate your kind review regarding your stay at Premier Inn London City Old Street.

Our team here was delighted to know that you had a good experience at our hotel from the point of arrival to the time of breakfast.

Once again on the behalf of our team, we would like to sincerly thank you for leaving a nice review for this Little Gem.

Kindest Regards,
Team Old Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiria, Portugal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The hotel is a very modern building, very comfortable and cozy. The rooms were clean and the beds were good. The staff was nice and helpful, the buffet breakfast is great and the location is good - close to the tube. In spite of all this, in my opinion it is not a good value for money: the hotel is good but not amazing but there are not that many amenities (not even free wi-fi) to justify the high rates!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City - Old Street, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Nuno,
Thank you for your feedback abour your stay in Premier Inn London City Old Street.

We were glad to know that you found the hotel good, but at the same time we were also disappointed to know that you did not find the hotel as value for money.

In regards to making your future stay at Premier Inn as a good value for money proposition, may we suggest you to be flexible with the dates and location of the Premier Inns as doing this may help you in finding good room rates on your future booking. We would also like to point out that the earlier you book at Premier Inns, it gives your better opportunity to avail of the best room rates.

Thank you once again, for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you soon.

Kindest Regards,
Team Old Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend in December and although the hotel was busy the staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. I believe the hotel is fairly new but the rooms were spotlessly clean along with the rest of the hotel. The bar prices were very reasonable for London too. When you come out of Old Street tube station take exit 1 and the hotel is a short walk up on the right hand side (towards the NIG building).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City - Old Street, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Jarvis,
Thank your for your kind feedback regarding your stay at Premier Inn London City Old Street.
We are glad to know that you found our team extremely friendly and accomodating and we hope to see you soon.

Kindest Regards,
Team Old Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I took my 8 yr old daughter to london for the weekend with a friend and her mother. Being an all female group we didn't want to be too far out of town, but similarly didn't want to be in the thick of it. This hotel was perfect, the staff were excellent, we got two family rooms together on the 10th floor and had an amazing view. The rooms were clean and well equipped with everything we needed. The hotel was also very quiet given it was a weekend.

The girls weren't keen to use the underground so we caught the bus into town which was simple and cheap. The staff went out of their way to find out which bus routes (the 76 and 243) we needed and where we needed to go.

I would definately return to this hotel, if not just for the views and the breakfast, and the kids ate free, what more could you ask for?

Room Tip: If you can get a room on the 10th floor or above you'll get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City - Old Street, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Kay,
We would like to thank you for the time taken to review regarding your stay at Premier Inn London City Old Street.

We are really glad to know that you along with your family had a good time at our hotel.
We would like to once again thank you and your friends for choosing to stay at our hotel, and we hope to see you soon.

Kindest Regards,
Team Old Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is in a good location, has friendly staff, modern clean rooms, comfy beds. breakfast looked good, but I didn't eat there. It's a 4 minute walk to the tube station. Little tip : On Saturday and Sunday there is free parking, we found a space just outside the back of the hotel. Bargain!! We had a great time and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel R, Manager at Premier Inn London City - Old Street, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Manicolo,
We would like to sincerly thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at Premier Inn London City Old Street.

The free car parking that you found on weekend was indeed a bargain, and It was also good to know that you had a good time at our hotel.

We do hope to see you soon, and please do book early to be in better position of getting the same rates as you had this time.

Kindest Regards,
Team Old Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn London City - Old Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City - Old Street

Address: 1 Silicon Way, Corsham Street, London N1 6DR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in London
#66 Business Hotel in London
#107 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City - Old Street 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a brand new 251 Room Premier Inn with 200 seat Thyme restaurant. The hotel offers en-suite, air conditioned rooms. We also have a number of interconnecting rooms as well as Universally Accessible rooms. We are 2 minutes walk from Old Street tube station (Exit 1). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Premier Inn London City - Old Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel London
Premier Inn London City - Old Street England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn London City - Old Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.