We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel to your Saves list
Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Chesham Place, London SW1X 8HQ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save 15% Off
Ranked #58 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Nassau
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed here in June2014 for 2 weeks.unusually long stay for me in one hotel. Staff could not be more helpful and after upgrading to a larger room I had a super stay. Rooms are very well appointed and restaurants and bars are much enjoyed. Breakfast a real treat. Used hotel primarily for business but charming staff made me feel at home! Location in Belgravia is delightful and quiet. Already booked back for my next visit later this month.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more for the larger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Manager at Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear David M, Thank you so much for your fantastic review of your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you find our team so helpful and enjoy both the Bar at Belgraves at Pont St, especially for breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you "home" later this month. Warm regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    65
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
37
126
16
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We've had brilliant weather and the service at this hotel makes me feel like I'm visiting a friend as opposed to a hotel. It's small and inviting, without been too cramped.

The boiled eggs and sourdough soldiers are a brekkie favourite. As is avocado smashed on rye.


Will be back

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Manager at Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Lindsey D, Thank you for your review and kind words. It's great to hear that you feel coming to Belgraves is like visiting a friend, we look forward to welcoming you back soon and we'll be sure to have your sourdough soldiers standing to attention! Warm regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Wow! When I first walked it I thought this would be a Hudson NYC-style hotel: dark, trendy but dirty and with terrible service. Man was I wrong! The staff are very friendly and the hotel is very well maintained and clean. Needless to say, location is top notch. We got a fifth-floor room with great views of the small park accross the street. Rooms are very convenient and quiet, but a bit small (but hey, it's Belgravia!). A thoroughly good experience, will certainly return. Btw, there is a great italian coffee store around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Manager at Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear KingOfPatagonia, Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Belgraves. Our team is delighted that you had a good experience, found us very friendly and enjoyed the views and location of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon and enticing you into our restaurant, Pont St, where we also serve great coffee, as well as amazing homemade cakes! Warm regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My husband snatched up a room here last minute when the hotel his company paid for was dirty and covered in bugs. We arrived quite late in the evening but received a warm welcome from the staff. The room was lovely and modern, the bed was comfy, and we both loved the rainshower. Our room had no view whatsoever, but I didn't expect the best room available since we made a last minute booking. The location is excellent - we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room on a higher floor if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Manager at Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Katie D, Thank you for your kind review of your recent last minute stay at Belgraves. We are delighted that you enjoyed the modern comfortable room and especially the rain shower, and look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London. Warm regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

So, Belgraves has a new, relaxed and stylish feel, located in Belgravia among the embassies in London. My wife and I paid a little extra to get a superior room, but were slightly underwhelmed as the view we got was not as good as advertised and the window seat felt a little cramped. You really need to request a room on the top floors to get a view worth writing home about. Staff was friendly and the room was comfortable, although slightly smaller than expected. We left with a feeling of "been there done that" and will try a different hotel next time we want to treat ourselves to something special in London.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Manager at Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear JomBerg, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay of Belgraves, I'm sorry that you found your room smaller than expected. We are glad that your found our team friendly and we hope that you'll return in the future so we can arrange a room on a high floor for you. Warm regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Belgraves is one of the most stylish hotels I have stayed in and I will definitely be recommending to anyone looking for a room in London. The rooms are super 5* and have a chic, modern look. The location is fantastic, and only a short walk away from the amazing shops Belgravia and Sloane Street have to offer. The bar at the Belgraves has the most perfect atmosphere for relaxing and sipping cocktails with friends, and the staff are exceptional. I will be a frequent visitor!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Manager at Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear xtanyadx, Thank you so much for your lovely review of your recent stay with us. It's great to hear that you found the location fantastic and that you enjoyed the atmosphere in the Bar so much. All of our team look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, and the Bar at Belgraves, very soon. Warm regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed three nights at the Belgraves at the end of our UK trip and it was absolutely perfect. We were upgraded from a superior to a deluxe room on the 9th floor. We had a small balcony with a great view of the London Eye -- spectacular day and night. The hotel is a convenient walk to Sloane Square and the Tube as well as lovely shopping on King's Road Chelsea. Only one small hiccup that was solved amazingly well. The chambermaid mistakenly threw out an item that was not trash and the hotel actually found it! Incredible above-and-beyond service. Special recognition to the concierge staff as well. Everything was professional and lovely. Make sure to walk to Motcomb St. for lunch at Ottolenghi and to Thomas Cubitt for a charming gastropub experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Manager at Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear copywolf, Thank you very much for your very kind review of your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your upgraded room and the service received during your stay, especially from the Concierge Team. All of our team look forward to welcoming you back to Belgraves when you are next in London. Warm regards, David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel

Address: 20 Chesham Place, London SW1X 8HQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in London
#50 Luxury Hotel in London
#73 Romantic Hotel in London
#117 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thompson Hotels' premier transatlantic addition, Belgraves, is located in Central London's affluent Belgravia neighborhood, just minutes from internationally renowned shops, sites, and the bustling Sloane Square. Blending traditional British hospitality with an American bohemian attitude, Belgraves interprets the Thompson luxury experience in London joining an on-going creative movement in design, dining, and art that is currently forging the "new Britannia." The property features bold interior architecture and design by acclaimed British designer, Tara Bernerd, and architectural design by EPR Architects. The 85-room hotel includes Pont St. An all day dining neighbourhood restaurant, an intimate library bar with cigar terrace, and a fitness center, coming together to offer a seductive oasis in the heart of the city. The chic and eclectic lobby is set to become a second home for both hotel guests and London's glitterati alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LondonMarketing.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belgraves, a Thompson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.