We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best coffee in London.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monmouth Coffee - The Borough

Monmouth Coffee - The Borough
2 Park Street, London SE1 9AB, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
020 7940 9960
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #188 of 17,213 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best coffee in London.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Fantastic coffee, great quality of service and friendly barristas. Would definitely recommend. Cappuccino is smooth and the coffee beans are of excellent quality.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    24
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The environment is really nice, the jams are delicious and the breakfast is great.
The food is of excellent quality. Recommended!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great coffee shop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

On previous occasions visiting Borough Market wondered what the fuss was about with queues around the corner for Monmouth's! This time the queue was bearable so gave it a try and it is certainly good coffee and a quirky atmosphere compared to the usual chains and enjoyed it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
645 helpful votes 645 helpful votes
“Great coffee and fascinating history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

When you see a queue around the block for a cup of coffee, you know it's going to be interesting so just have to try it! Great to read up, as well, about Monmouth, the first coffee house in the UK. My macchiato was amazing and well worth coming to Borough Market for!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I queued outside in the sweltering heat, somewhat annoyed that my friend was subjecting me to a wait for my morning coffee, but my goodness was it worth it. Friendly staff took our order while we waited in the queue and even offered us free samples of that day's filter brew (telling us to note the 'plummyness' and other nice little snippets of connoisseur knowledge). The queue moved quickly and our order was waiting for us just as we paid. We sat inside at the lovely communal wooden table, where bread, jams, honey and butter were on offer for £3.50 per person. We had opted for the slightly naughtier option of pain au chocolat and pain au raisin. The coffee was outstanding. It is truly a coffee-lover's paradise. I will definitely be visiting on my next trip to London. Fantastic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monmouth Coffee - The Borough also viewed

 

Been to Monmouth Coffee - The Borough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monmouth Coffee - The Borough, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.