We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the walk and the rain.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wahaca

Wahaca
66 Chandos Place | Covent Garden, London WC2N 4HG, England (Covent Garden)
+44 (0) 207 240 1883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #367 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: The original and still the best! As popular now as the day it opened, Wahaca Covent Garden collides the heat of the Mexican market with all the coolness of London's trendy West End, in an explosion of colour, texture and noise. Enjoy the funky music and lively surroundings in our bar while you wait to be seated.
Stoke-on-Trent
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Worth the walk and the rain.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Arrived in London on a wet Friday evening both of us already decided upon Wahaca's. Nearest was Charlotte Street but we went there last time so we decided to head to Covent Garden. Bit of rain, no problem. By time we got there I was like a drowned rat but we were seated straight away (10.15 pmish) in the busy restaurant and we were well looked after by Lily our server. (i'm usually rubbish with names but my daughter is also Lily so that was easy). She was lovely, friendly and helpful and brought us lots of lovely food which two starving parents who normally eat 5 hours earlier with the kids made short work of. The food seemed spicier than the last time which was good and just right for me, it seemed like they were holding back on my last visit. We had a variety of sharing plates/street food, each as tasty as the last. Would definitley recommend as a well priced, fun place to go, which you don't need to book for and good food and service. We will no doubt return next time we are in London.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    530
    350
    67
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tasty treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The service was very good: prompt and attentive. The food was lovely, very well cooked and prepared. Everything we ordered was fantastic. Great meal.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

I have visited other Wahaca restaurants and loved them and loved this one too. The food is great and reasonably priced. The service was a little slow but it was busy for a Sunday night.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home again
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“interesting, tasty, enlivening without scorching...but don't wear a white top!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

My mouth is salivating at this very moment thinking about the two meals I had here. YUM YUM!

I usually hate mexican food as it is all leftovers, refried catfood, regurgitated pap in a stale cover that fractures as you bite it, and the fillings then cascade over your hands, clothing, and plate. Then there is the mole with is a thick nasty bitter paste that ruins all it touches.
I'd rather stay at home and eat muesli.

so then; this restaurant:
1. fresh food; varying tastes, not cloying or pedestrian
2. noisy noisy noisy
3. stuff still may drip out one end of whatever you lift to your mouth but in this case the flavours are worth it.
4. Tuck napkin under your chin (see #3)

sorry I cant offer you anything more practical. I would go again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Very busy and service stretched, food did not have the extra special touch hoped for, obviously simply assembled, lacking in freshness and subtle spice, not hot enough, would benefit from greater supervision, the canteen atmosphere can work where the food is a very standard but on this occasion it was annoying as it was too noisy

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahaca also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Wahaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wahaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.