We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh and delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wahaca

Wahaca
66 Chandos Place | Covent Garden, London WC2N 4HG, England (Covent Garden)
+44 (0) 207 240 1883
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #368 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: The original and still the best! As popular now as the day it opened, Wahaca Covent Garden collides the heat of the Mexican market with all the coolness of London's trendy West End, in an explosion of colour, texture and noise. Enjoy the funky music and lively surroundings in our bar while you wait to be seated.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's a busy restaurant specially Friday nights you may need to wait in the que for a while before seated. Good crowd, casual dining with variety of different Mexican street food dishes. Delicious starters; as main I chose spicy grilled chicken was very good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    349
    67
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The real deal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I always really enjoy my visits to Wahaca. I have been to Mexico and have to say that the food at Wahaca brings back some great memories of the best I have ever tasted. It is fresh, tasty, authentic and varied. The cocktails hit the spot too! Obviously you can't book and we arrived at 9.15pm on a Friday night and it was heaving. But within a minute of arriving we had our buzzer to let us know when our table was ready, drinks and tortilla chips were ordered and the 20 minute wait was no problem at all. The staff are great, the whole place runs really well. Always a fun atmosphere and the prices are really reasonable.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“great atmos, good servicephere, lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We hadn't booked, a bit of a gamble on a Friday, but only waited about 30 minuted to get a table for 3. We had drinks and nibbles in the bar area whilst we waited.
When we did sit down the service was great, food was delivered promptly and was really good. There was a vegetarian in out party, there was lots of choice for her. All of the food was well cooked and tasty. definitely no complaints.Great value, reat atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Yum yum yum yum yum. Just brilliant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've been to this restaurant twice (It would be more often but I don't get to London very often!)

The atmosphere is both vibrant and relaxed, although busy both times I went. Had to wait to be seated on second occasion but quick and attentive service once seated.

We had the small 'market food' plates, highly recommended are: Pork Pibil tacos (I have never tasted pork like it, really delicious), chicken taquitos, beef & chorizo quesadillas. The sweet potato side is delicious too. We ordered 3 plates and a side each which was a lot - I'd say only order 3 if you're very hungry. The good thing with this style is that you can always order more if you're still hungry!

If you have space left, the churros & chocolate pud is yummy.

Would definitely recommend this place - the food is great, prices are reasonable and the staff are friendly and attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I love Mexican food but have never eaten at a Mexican restaurant before. I thoroughly enjoyed eating at Wahaca. The service was good, staff were extremely friendly and food was beautiful. Easily accessible from Charing Cross Underground Station.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wahaca also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Wahaca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wahaca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.