We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch in Mayfair” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thirty Six by Nigel Mendham

Thirty Six by Nigel Mendham
Dukes Hotel | 35-36 Saint James's Place, London SW1A 1NY, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )
+44 20 7491 4840
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Thirty Six by Nigel Mendham is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #361 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Description: In 2012 THIRTY-SIX was awarded three rosettes for culinary excellence. Indeed, Nigel's cuisine is some of the best modern British food you will find in the region. Interestingly, the secret of his excellence is the balance between classical flavours meticulously prepared, and a contemporary flair to produce both stunning presentation and taste.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Brunch in Mayfair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We strolled to Dukes Hotel via St. James Park on a Sunday. The calm peaceful restaurant is in this Bijou London Hotel. A pianist was playing a selection of gentle 30's dance music, the walls were covered in beautiful and interesting paintings and sketches, the service was excellent. The menu for brunch is very comprehensive and we were satiated by the end of our meal. We had a rest before setting off for home in the comfortable pale green and pink lounge - a wonderful restful experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    16
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I have found this restaurant by accident. And I'm glad that I did. We went for a romantic meal and I can't say enough good things about it!
The staff is welcoming, kind and very helpful! The restaurant has a very relaxed atmosphere and it's very pleasant!
We had a 3 course set meal - and I have not been disappointed! The meal was incredible! It was very tasty and we have had some little treats between courses.

The only thing is if you would like a drink before hand, you better off going to a nearby bar as the hotel bar was jam-packed and there was no chance of getting a table.

I would be happy to suggest this restaurant to anyone!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Sunday branch :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Excellent, cannot fault it... Very friendly and helpful staff, went out of their way to make one feel comfortable.
We had a voucher £49 for sunday branch and it was well worth the visit. Nice peaceful atmosphere and ambience, we were not rushed, we felt really looked after. The food was a cold buffet on one table (meat selection, cheese, fish, salads, selection of nice baked breads etc, then another table was sweet and healthy, pastries, yogurts, fruits, granola, etc, plus cooked to order waffles plus a selection from the menu of cooked breakfast. I had the dukes hotdog which i managed only half cos wanted to leave room for waffle ;) partner had haddock omelette and he did not manage waffle after all this.... Felt truly stuffed...
Very happy, will recommend, will definitely return as well, whether with voucher or without.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The Sunday Brunch was absolutely delicious. The buffet table was small but the contents were all excellent - fabulous smoked salmon and one of the best waldorf salads I have ever eaten. The other salads all looked equally good. The menu had a good choice of hot brunch dishes. The corned beef hash with home made baked beans exceeded expectations and I would return just for that. There was a good selection of cheeses and desserts but I settled for the freshly made waffles with berries and cream. The waffles were light and fluffy - couldn't be bettered. Limitless fruit juice and coffee were served throughout. I went with a half price offer which was superb value. At full price it was on the expensive side for brunch, but probably worth it. The service was friendly and attentive. One really felt that nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant was fairly empty so lacked a little atmosphere but the surroundings and comfort more than compensated.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Perfect way to spend a wintery Sunday afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We went for brunch, taking my partner's (grown up) children for a surprise on the Sunday before Christmas. What a treat. You start with the buffet table. Smoked salmon, delicious cold meats, the best waldorf salad I have ever tasted and fantastic sea food salads. A great selection of breads and cheese also. The main course was chosen from a selection of hot dishes on the menu. Four of us chose the black pudding and venison sausages and one chose duck eggs with ham. All enjoyed. Then it's back to the buffet table for 'pudding'. Great fruit salads, yoghurt dishes or the cheese board. The waiter will make waffles for you if you request. The best ever - very light. Trickled with chocolate sauce, syrup and cream. Yum. We shared one between us. Tea, coffee and fruit juice are included in the fixed price. Great value and ideal if you have a family of fussy eaters. There was a pianist playing Christmas carols. From the restaurant we found the covered passage into Green Park - just around the corner. Walked in dark late afternoon to the ICA Gallery and then on to see 'Dickens Abridged' in the Arts Theatre. A perfect pre Christmas Sunday. Highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirty Six by Nigel Mendham also viewed

 

Been to Thirty Six by Nigel Mendham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thirty Six by Nigel Mendham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.