We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gioberti

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gioberti
117B High Street | Wanstead, London E11 2RL, England
020 8989 9989
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8,026 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I had a lovely leisurely dinner here last week. The food was delicious, the lamb was so tender and very friendly service. It helped that it was a lovely evening and able to eat outside. The manager came and spoke to us at the end to check everything was ok. Very reasonable prices and couldn't fault it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    7
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Horror! Horror!! Don't go here if you're looking for a vegetarian meal!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Horror! Horror! Horror! I took my 9 year old daughter here today for what I thought would be a lovely way to spend quaility time during half term. We are both strict vegetarians which is why an Italian restaurant is always a good place to go to given how well they cater for this. I ordered the Penne Sciciliano and the Spaghetti Neopolitana for my little girl - both very well known standard pasta dishes.
Food arrived and we started to tuck in. After a few spoonfuls, my daughter decided to toss the spaghetti around in the sauce and I dropped my cutlery in horror! There was bolognaise looking 'bits' in there. My poor daughter burst into floods of tears and the waitress rocked up. I explained that there was meat in the Neopolitana sauce and that we were both vegetarians - worse still, bolognaise contains beef and we are both Hindus! This is pretty much the worst thing that my daughter could have eaten and she knew it, hence the tears! I was also pretty close to tears myself and just wanted to get out of there despite offers of apologies/free dessert to take away etc. The very disappointng thing was that the manager didn't even come over to see what was going on as by now, the whole restaurant could see how upset my little girl was.
Disaster and will not be going back in there!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Wanstead”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Above average, been twice. Varied menu, lots of starters. Good pasta, pizzas, fish and steak dishes. A bit cramped inside, narrow but a long restaurant. Can dine outside Al fresco.
Prices a little high, good desserts and service.

Would return,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Take a cushion and a torch!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

A dingy little place that could be classed as cosy with a little interior designing in mind. Hardly any natural light if you are unlucky to be seated at the rear and hard bench seating which is incredibly uncomfortable. An array of cheap posters of film gangsters affiliates this place to Italy as many of the staff and cooks are not, although I was informed the two owner brothers are. Almost impossible to read the hand written scrawl of a menu in the near darkness without help and had to make do with the help of my lady's mobile phone torch. Any queries regarding the menu had to be referred to the chef as the lady said 'I donno for dis' and kept going off to ask somebody.

As regards the food, everything seems to come with cherry tomatoes as though they were a threepenny bit in a Christmas Pud. They sell these for a pound a bag these days everywhere. Further, many dishes come with Gioberti's 'Famous Fish Stock' (sorry did I miss an episode of Dragons Den?). What is apparent is the sky high prices for such average fare that tasted no better than a top end ready meal. Starters between £7-£10 which are minuscule in quantity, 'leaves' out of a salad bag, a bit of cheese and more cherry tomatoes! Mains, rocket in price to over £21.00! again, tiny portions, even my lady friend who is a size 6 had to have more to eat when she got home after a starter and main. Generally miserable and rude waiting staff, not very attentive, looking as though they just want the table back before you have even ordered anything.

Cramped seating throughout, inch or two between tables at the front and peoples backsides in ones dinner as they get out of the bench arrangement to go to the equally cramped loos which one can just about swivel round in if you are more than 15 stone. All in all, not a very enjoyable experience and there are far better spacious places around to spend ones hard earned cash.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Good and tasty italian dishes and friendly service! It is a simple and great local option. The pizza is a great size for the value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gioberti also viewed

 

Been to Gioberti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gioberti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.