We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value well located comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St George Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added St George Hotel to your Saves list
St George Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   49 Gloucester Place | Marble Arch, London W1U 8JE, England (Marylebone)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #511 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good value well located comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We booked 2 rooms - a single and a double for about the price of 1 double at bigger chains.
They were up several flights of stairs - no lift - and were comfortable, clean and more than adequate for a short stay. There were a few minor maintenance issues but generally the rooms were comfortable.
The single had a separate but private bathroom.
The hotel is well located about 10 minutes walk from either Baker Street Underground or Oxford street .
The hotel serves breakfast only. We chose instead to go to Baker Street around 5 minutes walk away and with a whole variety of eating places. This was also a good place to pick up a taxi cab.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    45
    16
    12
    5
See reviews for
17
28
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a good position in London. The staff were very friendly. We had a very noisy room at the front of the hotel.The breakfast was average. We paid £90 for a double room which is good for London prices. Rooms were clean . The stairs were quite steep so not for the elderly.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Walked in to find a tramp looking for a free room for the night and then got given an electronic room key that didnt even work so the room was unlocked all night and they couldnt fix it nor changed me to another room nor gave a refunden or even free breakfast. terrible experience. If you want to sleep with one eye open then stay here.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My single room was a bit tight, but it was well kept and adequate for my purposes.

The Baker Street tube station was within easy walking distance. Similarly, Oxford Street was also easily accessible by foot. Transportation throughout London and the surrounding area, therefore, was very convenient. I would certainly consider this place upon future trips to London.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

A very nice 4 star hotel in the heart of london. Between underground station Bakerstreet & Marble Arch.. just parallel street to the famous baker street, 10 minutes to St. Pancras and close to Oxford- & Picadilly circus..

Very good service.. nice clean rooms and friendly staff.

Check on bookings.com for special rates. We paid 71 £.

Room Tip: if you book.. check if you receive room 1.. is on the street side but have good price.. and is not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. We had a room with three beds, and although the room was not big, this worked well. 10 minutes walk to both Marble Arch and Baker Street tube. Nice breakfast restaurants in nearby Baker Street. Only negative: they charge you 3% extra if you pay by card.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a recent trip to the area and found it to be very good value. The room, although small, was adequate. Quiet and warm, I had a great nights sleep. The continental breakfast had quality products and plentiful. My only complaint was the bathroom for my room (14), had no hook on the back of the door and I had nowhere to hang my robe. Hopefully this will be rectified before my return trip next week :-)

Room Tip: Unfortunately the hotel has no lift so visitors with mobility problems need to book a room on the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Address: 49 Gloucester Place | Marble Arch, London W1U 8JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#311 Luxury Hotel in London
#370 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — St George Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George London
Hotel St George
St George Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St George Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.