We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, quiet.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BT, England (East End / East London)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #138 of 1,075 hotels in London
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, quiet.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Commercial Road over the Bank Holiday weekend in May. The staff were welcoming and our room was lovely, spacious, clean and the bathroom was very modern. Free wifi and great choice of tv channels. We loved the breakfast which was included in the total price, a wide range of items. The hotel was a 10 minute walk to Whitechapel tube station. Unfortunately this station and East Aldgate were closed all weekend so we had a 40 minute walk to Aldgate station, this isn't the hotels fault but did impact on our weekend. Overall a great stay, thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your weekend stay with us. I was pleased to read you found the hotel clean and modern and that all the team were welcoming. its always nice to receive positive comments such as your and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    140
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
32
119
18
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel was a real surprise! Friendly staff welcomed us on arrival and our double room was very clean and spacious with huge windows to let in plenty of light. We enjoyed a good choice of evening meal and the staff in the restaurant were again happy and extremely helpful. The breakfast was lovely and there was plenty of choice. Everywhere in the hotel was very clean and tidy and we would recommend it to anyone who wants a very reasonably priced stay, in a good quality hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your last stay with us. I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable weekend and the team were helpful throughout your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wylam, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in deluxe room. 15mins walk from Whitechapel tube, good location on main bus route - number 15 direct to Trafalgar Square and Regent Street. Nice spacious rooms with large TV and tea/coffee making facilities.
We booked room only but breakfast is £15 each if bought on the day or £10 if you buy a voucher the day before. Nice breakfast, all you need from full English to cereals and pastries.

Short walk to DLR station to docklands area to go on Emirates Air Line to O2.

Friendly staff, would def stay here again when in London.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are more spacious, book breakfast in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your last stay with us. I was pleased to note you found the location of the hotel very convenient to your needs and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were pleasantly surprised the rooms were lovely the food was fantastic my only reservation is the location.
We had a car and parked on the street however it's not a nice area. Underground station and dlr are accessible though.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your stay with us. I was pleased you found the rooms lovely and the food fantastic. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I stayed here on business for one night on 4th June. As previously mentioned, the hotel isn't in the most salubrious of areas and I wouldn't recommend walking around at night as a female on your own. Fine in the day time though.

The hotel itself is very clean and modern. My priority status was recognised upon arrival and I was given an upgrade to an executive room plus a voucher for 500 extra points or a drink and snack at the bar. The room was lovely - spacious with effective air conditioning, a modern and clean bathroom, a big tv with lots of channels, water, a chocolate bar etc.

The bed was so very comfortable with a thick mattress topper. I had a really good night's sleep.

Breakfast in the morning was well cooked and varied. Usual options plus the choice of poached eggs or omelette. They also had a pancake maker which I really wanted to try but I was pushed for time. Next time...

The really fantastic thing about this hotel are the staff. They are brilliant. The girl on reception remembered my room number hours after I'd checked in. Gerard on the bar was pleasant, friendly and chatty - I hope he has a nice time back in Spain. The gentlemen on breakfast duty that morning were so cheery and engaging they really made me smile.

Stay here - I can't imagine that any other hotel would be as great for the money as close to the centre of the City. I shall definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your last stay with us here at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. As General Manager I was very pleased to read your feedback especially regarding the team here. They take a lot of pride in the service they offer and its always nice to receive the feedback to support this. It was also great to read you found the rooms spacious and offered a great nights sleep. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in plenty of places: no where does 'rustic bread' become cheap thin buttered white bread; also the waiter asked if I wanted it with my dessert??? Eh? The fish & chips DON'T come with mushy peas! (As per the menu) the menu in your room is not the same as the restaurant either. They skso like to rush u with ordering which i hate! A local member of staff had to direct me to a 'private' car park round the corner: £20 a night in a dodgy lick up. car safe SO far! Room can't go cooler than 18•c.. As it was extra got this week I suffered! On the plus side: gorgeous room, lovely staff. I'm here with work but I wouldn't choose to stay here. Sorry :(

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your last stay with us. Im sorry to read you experienced a few challenges during your stay with your evening meal. These points have been raised with the Restaurant and Kitchen teams where corrective coaching has taken place to avoid these issues going forward.
As with a large number of hotels in London we do not have our own parking facilities with space being at a premium. The area you were directed too is a small operation that is very close to the hotel and in the last year we have been open, has not experienced any problems with our guests cars, in fact it is 100% secure over night, which is the main priority. On a positive note I was very pleased to read you found the team lovely and the rooms gorgeous. I hope you will reconsider staying with us once again should you have need for accommodation in East London once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and it was a lovely experience. The hotel is very new and very clean and comfortable. On check in and out and during our stay we were met by a lovely lady on the reception desk who was very friendly and answered all our questions very efficiently.
Room was quiet, clean and large for London standards. Only problem was that on the Friday night we could clearly hear snoring coming from the room beside us so rooms wouldn't be the most sound proof.
Hotel is close to Liverpool street (£10 in a taxi) and Whitechapel underground station (5 min walk away).
If going to London again I would certainly be very happy to stay here.

Room Tip: we stayed in a twin room, all very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your last stay with us here at Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. I was very pleased to note you found the hotel comfortable and a great base for visiting London. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road

Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#97 Business Hotel in London
#103 Luxury Hotel in London
#120 Romantic Hotel in London
#224 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the newly built Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our brand new hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.