We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short and simple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BT, England (Whitechapel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #194 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Short and simple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here in April celebrating my birthday and our anniversary. Before getting to the hotel we emailed ahead to request a double room for our special occassion and quickly received a reply from a friendly staff member.
To our surprise/delight when we arrived we were upgraded to an executive room which was beyond words! Spacious, elegant and beautiful are just a few!
The staff were all so friendly from the receptionst at check-in to the cleaners in the hallway and we can't thank them enough. It's those small touches that make a difference.
It's a lovely hotel and easy to get to from Shadwell station - just a 5 minute walk through the market.
The only down side to our stay was a long walk to find a restaurant, although there are many take-away places and cafes around so you won't go hungry!
I would highly recommend for a short stay away and I would most definitely return in an instant. Thankyou to everyone there for giving us such a memorable stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your weekend stay with us. I was pleased to read we were able to help make your birthday that little bit more special. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    197
    31
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
164
22
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Excellent hotel and service from all staff at this hotel. For any UK Senior Citizens the No 15 bus runs from outside the hotel all the way to Regent St - for free with your bus pass!! Also get to Kings Cross with one change!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your last stay with us. I was very pleased to read you had excellent service from the team and found the hotel to your liking. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed here on business and it isn't in an ideal location - need to understand that it is out of the city, and not a lot around to eat other than fast food/kebab places

Rooms were nice - and very quiet. Found the bed nice - pillows were OK, but found the "soft" and "hard" tags that were put on them meaningless. Might as well take that gimmick away - as all were pretty much the same, and typical "old" hotel pillows

Breakfast was included - and was very friendly service. Fast service which was exactly what was needed. Only used the bar once - and that was also very friendly

Good place to stay - just need to understand that it is out of the way

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your stay with us. I was very pleased to note you found the hotel a good place to stay and the breakfast was just what you needed in the morning. I will investigate your comment regarding the pillows as there should be a clear difference with the hard and soft pillows. Thank you for bring this to my attention. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for a two night stay with the families priority points. Amazing hotel considering the little points you pay in comparison to other HI hotels we have stayed in, in London.

The hotel is not in the nicest area of London but this should not out you off. After all hotels are a base and you spend little time in them. The DLR is only round the corner giving you direct access to bank UG where you can access all lines.

The hotel rooms are so comfy and spacious (club room) and you get the perfect night sleep

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your last stay. I was very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

First time staying at this Holiday Inn and I wasn't disappointed.

As I am a priority club member on this occasion I stayed on a reward night.

My husband and I were warmly greeted and we were treated exceptionally by the reception desk. We had stayed elsewhere the night before and arrived at 11.30 expecting to just leave our bags with the concierge and check in later. Our room was made available immediately and we were allocated room 322 which was an executive room. It was huge!

It's a shame the location wasn't a bit more central but it was only a 10 min or so walk to Whitechapel underground. Unfortunately it did rain so made the walk less appealing.

Our check out was just as smooth and the sun was shining so we walked to Liverpool Street station via Pettycoat Lane Market which took about half an hour and 1.3 miles.

I would stay here again. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your last stay with us here at Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. I was very pleased to read you experienced a very warm welcome and had an enjoyable stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

First, the staff - amazing, just lovely. From check in, to breakfast to housekeeping the staff go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. We travelled from Canada and all three rooms of us were able to check in early which was a blessing since we were exhausted and would have paid buckets for the privilege. The shower is really a surprise for the UK, Lot's of hot water & pressure, very nice. As I have very long hair I often find hotel showers troublesome but not this one, kudos. Breakfast is wonderful and sufficient to take you through to dinner if necessary but hey why not stop at a pub for lunch? We often had coffee at the Starbucks in the lounge area and though we found it unstaffed occasionally one one always appeared quickly if requested (seems they may do double duty at night?). Though indeed there are some odd noises in the hotel, it's a hotel not my house where I am used to its noises. Huge rooms for London, nicely laid out, and outstanding staff. Well done HI. Can you fix the tube so it runs on weekends in the area? Then it would be perfect!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments and taking the time to pass them on. I was very pleased to read you found the team here to be amazing. I know the team will take great pride in that as they are all very customer focused and its always nice to know when we are doing a good job.

Im not sure I will be able to do much with getting the tubes to run over the weekend, however they are doing upgrade works all over the network and the services do change week to week.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Lets start with the positive - good location, only a short walk from Whitechapel tube station. New modern holiday built and opened around he same time as the one at Stratford for the Olympics. Very pleasant welcome with staff explaining the hotel and facilities. Good security in that you need to use your room key to activate the lift.

Rooms large enough, clean and well looked after. Bathroom very pleasant with a good shower, works well powerful and hot water plentiful.

Evening meal - average, lots of things not available and what was available not worth writing home about. However, this I fear is standard for most hotels now. Serving staff pleasant and accommodating but the manager not up to speed on what was / was not available. Accept that food is a very personal choice so do not let this put you off, and there are loads of eateries in the area.

Breakfast much much better - good selection, presented well, fresh and not rushed.

I would stay at this hotel again and give top marks to staff and accommodation but the evening meal did seem to let them down.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments regarding your last stay with us here at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. I was very pleased to read that overall you had a great stay and would stay with us again. Please accept my apologise that your dinner experience was not up the high standard set by other areas of the hotel. I will address the points you raised with the F&B Manager and thank you for bring them to my attention. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road

Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Best Value Hotel in London
#113 Business Hotel in London
#143 Luxury Hotel in London
#172 Romantic Hotel in London
#337 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the newly built Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our brand new hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.