We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good could do couple of things better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BT, England (Whitechapel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #194 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Good could do couple of things better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was lovely and clean room was very well appointed and trendy. However there where a couple of things that our party didn't like.
1 the room got stuffy and you can't open windows in fact the windows don't openin any of the rooms which I found strange. Not even a little bit for a breath of fresh air.
2 we waited for 50 mins before our food arrived in the restaurant. It was average nothing great we didn't eat there the second night. No explanation was given and no body even addressed the fact we had no food until went up and inquired . The restaurant was quite only four tables.
3 we had coffee in the Starbucks place took ages to get served and the man on the second morning was not overly friendly.
4 the street that it is on is not greatest so much so that at night we got a taxi to the hotel even though we where a hop skip and jump away.
As I say nice hotel but not sure i would be back...

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear justine140, thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your last stay with us here at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. I was pleased to read you found the rooms clean and well suited to your needs however the feedback on the restaurant and lounge is a concern and I thank you for bring it to my attention. I will personally speak to both the F&B Manager and Head Chef to review the service you received and ensure corrective actions are taken. This is not the high level of service we normal offer our guests and please accept my most sincere apologise for the convenience your encountered.

The windows do not open for two reasons, one London is a very noisy place and with out the fixed double and in some parts triple glazing the outside world would be audible with in the rooms even with the windows closed. Fixed windows offer a much higher quality of noise protection, the other reason is to keep the dust and dirt out. The rooms become much more harder to maintain at a fresh and clean standard with windows which open as the dirt and grim get into the rooms a lot easier. These were the reasons behind the choice to install fixed windows, plus each room as you know has individually contracted Air Conditioning to ensure all our guests have a comfortable stay.

Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments and I hope you will consider using the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    197
    31
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
164
22
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My daughter and I had traveled down from Birmingham for three days in London. The hotel was central so we were able to access all of the major tourist attractions. Our rooms were clean, comfortable with fluffy towels in the bathroom and a choice of soft or hard pillows on the bed. When we checked in the staff were efficient and helpful and welcoming.
Breakfast was a good selection of a well cooked English, cereals,pastries, pancakes and continental meats together with a good selection of drinks of which everyone who we sat with made full advantage of. An excellent Hotel with staff who go the extra mile for their visitors. We will try to visit again this year. Cant wait.

Room Tip: Ask the staff about the rooms. If you want a quiet none smoking room as we did 314 was brilliant. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for passing on your comments following your last stay with us. As General Manager I was very pleased you found the hotel and the team meet your needs throughout your 3 days stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel itself was spot on, as was the help we recieved when our room key wouldn't work to start with. The area around the hotel is far from the West End or 'posh' areas of London, but is by no means the war zone I expected having read some reviews. There's the tube 10 mins away and the DLR even closer, so getting wher you want is no problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following your last stay with us. I was pleased to read you found the hotel meet your needs and the location did not hinder you getting around town. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed on the 28th -30th march stayed in room 502. We got to stay in this room thanks to the very nice receptionist we arrived at 130ish and knew we couldn't book in till 3pm the receptionist said it wasn't a problem and that if we sign up to become a member free of charge we could book straight in, she even gave us an end room with a view of the city we could see the shard clear as day from our window.
As we got to our room we were blown away at how nice, clean and well presented the room was.
They even have hd tv a choice of hard or soft pillows and a safe.
The staff were beyond friendly probably one of the best customer service experiences I have ever had.
BREAKFAST so good from fruit to a full English even a pancake machine that was perfect.
5 Mins from the tube get off at white chapel and cross over road go left then right at post office one road straight to hotel. Alder gate east is a 10-15min walk.
The hotel is in an up and coming area some reviews have said that its rough I never felt uncomfortable at all it would just seem a lot different to someone that is used to staying in Kensington area but parts of bays water are the same as we have stayed there too.
The hotel is 15 mins from tower bridge and the Tower of London so great for tourists.
In conclusion the nicest hotel I've stayed in London and will be booking again just hope the hotel keeps up the great service and standards with it being new.

Room Tip: Sign up to be a member of priority club rewards then can book in early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments following you stay with us. It is always nice to receive positive feedback as it helps to to ensure we are constantly offering a great product and service. I was very pleased to read our bedrooms exceeded your exceptions and the service offered by the team ranked as one of the best customer service experiences you have received. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here for two nights on the 24/25th of March.We stay in London a couple of times a year and always like to stay somewhere nice but not mega expensive,the Holiday inn scored on both counts.we booked through lastminute.com it was one of their secret hotels,and it was one of the best London choices we have ever made!
We arrived really early and decided to drop our bags off before hitting the city sights,the reception staff were fantastic,really friendly and very helpful,we got rid of the bags and as it smelled so good decided to try the buffet breakfast before we went back out into the cold,it was fantastic,what a good decision :-)
Again the restaurant staff where brilliant,fast friendly and efficient and I really have to mention a young guy called Baly,who was the smiliest,friendliest fastest waiter I have ever met,he was brilliant,whoever employed and trained the staff did a cracking job.
When we arrived back later our bags had been taken to our rooms just leaving us to relax,and it wasn't hard in such a lovely warm clean room,filled with everything you need for a lovely city break.
We really can't fault this hotel,it is only a short walk to the nearest tube so you can get into the west end in no time,and if you fancy a walk its near to spittlefields market and some great curry houses,the rooms are lovely and very comfortable,the food is great,but best of all,and what really makes this hotel outstanding are the management and staff,who just can't do enough for you,I wouldn't hesitate to reccommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: If they are doing the £20 room upgrade offer,take it,big room,fluffy bathrobe and free chocolate! An...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Frogfarmer, thank you for taking the time to share with us your comments following your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. I was very pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay and will happily recommend us. It was also nice to read the team here had given you great service throughout your stay with the reception team offering fantastic and friendly service and Bally in the Restaurant proving to be the best waiter you have ever meet. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon and once again thank you for passing on your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our first visit to the hotel but it certainly will not be our last.From the minute we arrived we received 5 star treatment.Thehotel was clean , comforable,convenient and welcoming. Every member of staff we met were wonderful, nothing was too much trouble, and they really went the extra mile to make our stay memorable.We can also recommend City Cars who are local to the hotel, and booked by them. All in all a wonderful stay which will be one of many.
Hilary from Yorkshire

Room Tip: Lovely view from 6th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback following your first stay with us here at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. As General Manager I was very pleased to read you felt like the hotel offered a 5 Star service from the moment you walked in. Thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Only a 2 night stay but my first impression of this place is good.

The only downside is the walk from the nearest tube, which is a niggle at best (it's about 10 minutes). and it's not in the best of areas.

entry was easy, reception was exceptionally helpful and more to the point, was genuine. Help with luggage was offered but not needed. Room quality is good; clean, tidy, spacious with modern décor.

Bathroom was light and large with a good sized wet room with rain shower. Towel quality varied from thick to thin but not nearly as bad as the threadbare variety at other places. Good tea and coffee station and quick kettle.

Clothes storage is the usual just about enough for one person.

Breakfast is adequate with a buffet that's sometimes dry, but, and a brilliant but, it hasd a Starbucks on site!!!!!

Overall a really good place to stay.

Sleep quality was excellent with a comfy bed and two types of pillow, both which were comfy.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have more noise (the A13) from traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your comments regarding your last stay with us. It was very pleasing to read you felt the hotel offered an excellent quality of sleep and the team gave you genuinely helpful service. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road

Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#88 Best Value Hotel in London
#113 Business Hotel in London
#143 Luxury Hotel in London
#172 Romantic Hotel in London
#337 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the newly built Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our brand new hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.