We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work not pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road to your Saves list
Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BT, England (Whitechapel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #194 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Southampton
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Work not pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 weekends in a row for easy access to work at the Royal London hospital. Location not the best however buses and tube to the popular spots nearby. Very modern, clean and well equipped. Rooms a good size. I had large walk in shower. Room service good and breakfast included in price plentiful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to pass on your comments follow your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. I was pleased to note you found your room comfortable and modern while also enjoying the food we had on offer for Breakfast and via room service. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel should you once again find your self working in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    197
    31
    4
    4
See reviews for
47
164
22
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is a nice modern hotel with clean and spacious rooms. There is nice breakfast buffet and a reasonably priced dinner option. Room service has a good selection and is fairly priced. Hotel Wifi is good and works free of charge in both the room and in the common areas.

Beds are very hard, but if you like that you are golden!

The hotel is located 5 min walk away from the DLR connecting one stop from Bank, and 9 min from the closes tube.

The neighborhood is nice in the day, but desolated at night, leaving a less then friendly walk from the tube.

Overall this is a nice hotel for a few days stay.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room away from the main street as it can become quite noisy due to traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with us here at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. I was pleased to note you thought highly of our restaurant offerings within the hotel and enjoyed the complimentary WiFi. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

The new hotel is located in residential area, so stepping out there are not just tourists and business people, but regular people carrying out their daily lives. The metro is bit far away, so better to prepare for that. Though with the same kind of walk one can get already to the Thames.

The staff seemed bit curious about us, but perhaps that was because at the time my loyal customer details had country marked as Iran, not Ireland as it should have been. And as my fiancee is a petite woman, the staff knocked twice on the door after we had entered the room "to make sure the bathroom light is working properly". :D Perhaps new hotel had new staff and we were interesting couple.

The room was nice with the bathroom special lights giving it nice mood. We enjoyed long mornings before the adventures around London. It was great spot to come after long days. The hotel restaurant would have surely been best choice in the area, but their open hours were not suiting out timetables.

Still when making trip to London, and specially if events attended are nearby it is good choice for a hotel. Probably still much to see and find from around. The local living spirit is nice, and even better it is when returning to have the haven of Holiday Inn to get back into.

Hotel has business center also, where one can do what is needed if laptop or phones run out of juice and having to access the net.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and felt the hotel was nice, cozy and a pleasure to return to each evening. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond Hill
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for three nights and the hotel was just excellent the staff were polite, helpful and friendly.
As Gold members, we were upgraded and were treated with courtesy. The rooms here were comfortable and spacious.
We paid for our hotel room with priority club points and we greatly enjoyed our stay unlike our experience at hotel Indigo in Paddington which was a great dissapointment

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback back on your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. As General Manager I was pleased to note you had an comfortable stay and the team where polite and helpful throughout. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RHYL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is by far the best Holiday Inn we have stayed in. Recognition as a Platinum on check in was awesome so friendly staff with lovely smiles a bonus. Upgrade was not possible as I booked a Twin
the extra Executive goodies where assigned to our room Bath Robes ect. Fresh fluffy towels and really comfy beds with Pillow choice. The walk from Whitechapel Underground at a steady pace is around 10 mins not 5 that is stated in the information Mo Farrah must have done the original timing LOL.tHIS HOTEL HAS EASY ACCESS TO Central London which is around 30 mins away including walk to Station. This will always be on my London shopping list. Thanks to Maria for a smooth checkout




sumptious

Room Tip: 6th floor so quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
As General Manager for the Holiday Inn London Commercial Road I was very pleased to read your feedback and thank you for taking the time to pass it on. I was very pleased to note the team here, especially Maria, made your stay great and recognised your PCR Platinum status. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have just checked out the hotel today after a two night, my stay at the hotel was outstanding, the members of staff are very helpful and efficient, also very polite and friendly, me and my girlfriend were very impressed with everything, the food was great at breakfast with a great range of different foods, judging by the breakfast we decided to have an evening meal at the hotel which was pricey, however the quality of the food was remarkable and worth the money anyday!

I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the Manager and all of the staff for making this holiday inn great in every aspect!

Would deffinatley recommend this stay to anybody! Thanks!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us here at Holiday Inn London Commercial Road. I was very pleased to note the team here impressed you as did the quality of breakfast and dinner. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and thank you for taking the time to pass on your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a once a year 'stratagy' day and christmas party with my work colleagues. We have made this trip from Northern Ireland for a few years now, and I must say that this is without a doubt the best hotel we have stayed in! The rooms were immaculate, warm comfy beds beautiful bathroom, great shower!
The room I stayed in was very quiet and the whole hotel felt very safe and secure. I had a great sleep both nights and would denfinately recomend this hotel.
The breakfast was excellent, good selection of choices, and also the option of soya milk which you don't always get. Also in the room the milk was organic semi skimmed albeit UHT!
I really like the small but thoughtful touches like this,

The staff were extremely accommodating and helpful.

From Liverpool St station a taxi journey of ten minutes at a cost of £10 made it very accessable too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James D, General Manager at Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Its always great to know we are doing a great job and meeting, if not exceeding, our guests expectations. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel for your next annual 'strategy' day and Christmas party.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road

Address: 5 Cavell Street, London E1 2BT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#85 Best Value Hotel in London
#110 Business Hotel in London
#143 Luxury Hotel in London
#168 Romantic Hotel in London
#346 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of cosmopolitan East London with easy access to the City, the newly built Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road is the ideal location to experience both historic and contemporary London: perfect for business or leisure. Our brand new hotel boasts 133 modern, spacious rooms, designed for comfort and style, with panoramic views of iconic London landmarks such as the Gherkin, Tower Bridge and the Tower of London. You can expect to enjoy triple-glazed windows to ensure a peaceful stay in London, as well as complimentary wireless internet access, a free to use gym and many of the other useful amenities available in the hotel. The Academy conference centre, complete with four well-proportioned meeting rooms with natural daylight, has all the modern facilities you’ll need to ensure your meeting is a success. You can also relax and refuel with 24-hour room service and our in-house Traders Restaurant & Bar, offering a modern, international menu with family-friendly options. For business or leisure, whether you’re an individual traveller or planning a family trip, Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road is looking forward to welcoming you for a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, LondonMarketing.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn London - Commercial Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.