We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Indian Restaurant in London!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chakra

Chakra
157 - 159 Notting Hill Gate, London W11 3LF, England
+44 20 7229 2115
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Chakra is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,575 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Price range: $16 - $70
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Chakra is at the cutting edge of Indian Cuisine. We combine the Royal Maharajah Kitchen stye of cooking with classic street food dishes. The result? Our food is as delicious as it is stunning to look at.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Indian Restaurant in London!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Chakra, for me, is probably the best Indian restaurant in London. Authentic Indian food, great service and ambience. Top notch!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    29
    16
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“INDIAN FOOD ON DIFFERENT LEVEL.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Been to many indian cuisine around london but was amazed in CHAKRA. SURKHI-JINGHA(tigerprawn) from tandoor was just perfect with spiced cheese on side. We also had some selections of veg which was done in perfect cooking manners. Very clean and service was very elegant and helpful. Me and my friends from QATAR had really pleasant time and will be back again and its worth recommending.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very poor after high expectations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Saturday night, nephews birthday and big family get together so we wanted to book somewhere with good reviews and a good name.
Booked this restaurant and had to wait for a table before being served an hour after ordering with cold food, hair in one of the main courses and very poor service overall. Very disappointing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyVarma, CHEF at Chakra, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest
I'm so sorry that you had a negative experience at Chakra last night. I got a full brief from Fateh, your server on the night. We complimented your Bhel Puri, which had a ladies' long hair (our chefs are male in the kitchen) we took it off the bill. You complained about the Chicken being cold. We cook a la minute on the pan, and since your table was large, it could have become warm on the table. We nevertheless sent you a rush repeat order of the Chicken without charge. We also gave you complimentary tea & coffee for your large table. When you left, you were satisfied with the immediate corrective actions that the manager took, and even complimented them. We are disappointed that you did not mention these on your review!
Regards
Chef Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wow factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

What a find. Great staff, fabulous food, clean and well decorated. This is not your usual run of the mill Indian Restaurant. Chakra has the WOW Factor.
If you visit London check the underground info and make for Notting Hill. If you are a London resident it's worth a trip even if you live right across the city. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyVarma, CHEF at Chakra, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest
I'm delighted that you loved the cuisine and the atmosphere at Chakra! I look forward to welcoming you again!
Best Regards
Chef Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Chakra ... nice service, atmosphere and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've been to Chakra 3 weeks ago during the weekend and I've to say that the Food is excellent and the service too...if you want to eat indian with a special atmosphere then this is a place to visit.

The only disappointment was the Wine list... not regarding the wine offer but for the prices which were a little too expensive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyVarma, CHEF at Chakra, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Guest
Many thanks for your review! We have redone the wine list, and are continuously striving to perfect it, and give value to our dinner guests! I look forward to seeing you again!
regards
Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chakra also viewed

 

Been to Chakra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chakra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.