We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should hire staff who can understand english” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Tyburn

The Tyburn
18-20 Edgware Road, London, England (Marylebone)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6,331 of 17,870 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Should hire staff who can understand english”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Ate here for breakfast
Staff member at till could not understand English well at all. Asked for pint of soda water and lime - tried to charge for a £6 bottle of soda water. Eventually used draft soda water with no lime- asked for lime and a slice of fruit was added

Ordered toast and preserves, got two slices of bread and butter. Complained to manager about the staffs poor grasp of English but he didn't really care

The food itself was ok usual wetherspoons stuff but the staff are hopeless

One to avoid

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    58
    24
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malta
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

A friend suggested this restaurant in the heart of London. They serve the best curry ever, it is on thursday!!.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location. Average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

During the Olympics we were at an event in Hyde Park and the four of us wanted something to eat. The thought of heading down Oxford Street scared us so we tried Edgeware Road and this was the first pub we found.
It's a Wetherspoons so you're not taking about high class cuisine. There is an extensive menu, plenty of burgers etc.
We ordered quickly but the food took a bit longer than expected but we weren't in a huge rush.
The quality was fine and there was plenty of it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flitwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Tyburn Pub--Edgware Road London”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Visited yesterday (21/11/12), for Sunday Lunch, ordered just after noon, and meals arrived at 12.30.
Both meals cold, and my wife had chosen Chicken, but it was inedible as it had been cremated.
Asked to see Manager, who after the second request appeared, offered apologies, but explained that all Pubs serving meals, are the same (Cold Food and overcooked).
When I said that I would be contacting WEATHERSPOONS direct, he offered a complete refund.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place for a quick brake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

First time, we stayed just for a breakfast, i had an excellent full english beakfast. Second, we stayed for a couple of drinks.
Generally, it is inexpensive place with nice food, good selection of drinks, very good location close to Oxford street (could be nice relaxing poit for heavy shopers).

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tyburn also viewed

 

Been to The Tyburn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tyburn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.