We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good choice...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Ham United Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added West Ham United Hotel to your Saves list
West Ham United Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boleyn Ground, Green Street | W Ham United Football Club, London E13 9AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #453 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Cadiz
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A good choice...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

We stayed at this hotel during a week long visit to London. We stayed for 6 nights and booked directly through the hotel website and got a good rate with breakfast included.

Like the other reviewers say, it is clean and well maintained and the staff are very helpful.

The rooms are Executive Boxes at the West Ham United Football Club stadium, and when not in use are turned in to bedrooms.

During our stay the team were playing away, so we had the chance to stay a Saturday night, otherwise according to the hotel brochure, we would have had to check out on Match day and return to the room later the same night. People wanting to stay over a weekend better check the football fixtures in advance!

WHAT WE LIKED:

The room was clean though basic. A double bed, couple of chairs, clean small bathroom with shower, hairdryer, Flat screen TV (with pay movies or pay Play Station) and tea and coffee facilities.

Housekeeping was very good and honest.

The Bar Staff are nice and friendly. There is also free parking. Travel by Tube to central London takes about 25 minutes.

WHAT WE DISLIKED:

Though breakfast was included we never woke up on time (the dining room closes at 09.00hrs)(Our fault, we know....)

The wardrobes are locked, though hangers are provided so you can hang your clothes on the wardrobe handles. Not great if you are staying for a week and have clothes to hang. An Iron and ironing Board can be collected at the Reception.

The view over the football pitch is great, especially if you like the team, though the balcony doors are also locked. This made the room feel a little claustrophobic.

The in-room Aircon/ Heating System was not working. Reception can control the Central Aircon/ Heating from their desk, which means that you have to keep calling them if it is too cold or too hot. On the first night (at 01.00hrs) we had to ask for an extra blanket and was told that one would be provided the following day (why not at that moment?). Telling them that the room was too cold, they turned on the heating. An hours later we had to call down because it was felt like a sauna (remember you cannot open the balcony doors).

We reported the faulty controls the next day, and it seemed that the hotel were fully aware that the Aircon/ Heating Controls in the rooms (all the rooms we were told) have problems.

Later in the day an extra blanket was provided and we asked to have the Central Air/ Heating turned off for the rest of our stay.

On the day we checked out we asked if we could leave 30 minutes later (at 11.30) and were told that there would be a late charge. The charge is 10 GBP and lets you stay in the room until 13.00. We told them that we we only asking for 30 minutes and had stayed 6 nights (and paid nearly 500 GBP), but the receptionist said that it was Company Policy. We reminded them that throughout our stay the Aircon/ Heating controls never worked and to keep warm we had to have an extra blanket, and was once again told that the hotel knew about this problem and the system was old.

We paid the extra 10 GBP as we didn't want to wait 30 minutes in the bar with our 4 suitcases waiting to be collected at 11.30 to go to the airport.

OVERALL:

The hotel is nice, clean and quiet and within 30 minutes from central London. There is not much to see in the local area, and at night it can be a little intimidating.

There are many fast food take away shops nearby which are open almost around the clock.

We would consider to stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    90
    44
    9
    3
See reviews for
29
70
13
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

We are from Canada and planned a 3 week vacation around England. Must husband loves football (go Leeds United!) so we had decided to visit other stadiums all across England. We came across this in Laterooms and I thought it would be fun for us to stay at a football club for our three nights in east London. First off not knowing London and working from a map it took a bit for us to find. Once we arrived our first impression of the area around the stadium was a little disappointing as it looked a little dodgy to say the least. This impression proved to be very wrong. We walked early morning and late at night back and forth to the tube to the hotel and never encountered anything or saw anything that made me feel unsafe. It was very lively area even late at night.
The hotel itself was amazing. When you arrive you pass through the large gates and have ample free secured parking - no mesing with pases or tickets or window displays! The reception area is very nice and the staff very proffessional. They treated us like VIP's which is more than I can say for the 4 Star hotels in England that we stayed at. Our room was on the second floor and had everything we needed. It is amazing to wake up and draw the curtains and see the pitch and stadium. The Floor to ceiling room lengthed window is lock but the view is terrific and the pictures turned out great. I should mention that there are no fridges in the room though. We ate twice in the restaurant. The food was good and plenty of it. The bar staff was friendly and helpful. When it came time to check out we discussed with the receptionist how we had been touring stadiums but were unable to be there for a tour of their facility. Within 5 minutes we had a private tour of the stadium that included a walk through the tunnel and onto the pitch. Their club is amazing. The players area far surpassed every club we had been to even Liverpool. They treat their players and staff very well and their acadamy is amazing. Although my husband remains a Leeds United fan for life, I have chosen to become a West Ham United Supporter. Did I mention the team store is right beside the main front door. We paid 69 sterling and if I am fortunate enough to return to England I will still there again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

I can only re-iterate what others are saying about this hotel, everything was excellent. Breakfast choice was amazing & the staff were very attentive & friendly. A clean, spacious, friendly hotel, with free parking. What more you could you want from a hotel?

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing at all
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
297 reviews 297 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 140 cities Reviews in 140 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

We chose the West Ham United Hotel simply on price and location after a search on laterooms.co.uk without even knowing beforehand that the football club had a hotel! What counted for us was that it was close enough to the O2 Arena for a concert later that evening. We paid 70 pounds for a double room overlooking the pitch and this included parking and breakfast.

The room itself was reasonably clean, and pretty basic with a small shower room and a desk and TV. There was a kettle with the usual budget tea and coffee making facilities. From a large balcony window, you could see over the West Ham pitch and ground though the window itself was locked so that you could not go outside into the executive box itself.

Breakfast was a buffet that was of reasonable quality (above average for an English buffet, but nowhere near as good as a freshly cooked breakfast). There's a restaurant in the hotel that had a decent sounding menu at least, but we didn't try it as we left for the O2 around 5pm.

The football ground and the hotel are located very close to a tube station (2 minutes' walk) and we were easily able to find a parking space in the car park next to the stadium (included in the room rate). It's very easy to reach as it's around 5-10 minutes drive from the North Circular and about 10-15 minutes from the end of the M11, which was a big bonus for us too.

The Tube to the O2 involves one change, but each leg of the journey is only a couple of stops and you stay in Zone 3 for the trip to North Greenwich. We probably took around 10 minutes from leaving the Hotel to arriving in North Greenwich and coming back was not much slower.

Overall I'd say that that the hotel is of the quality of a mid-range chain hotel in the UK, but the location and cost for London was the clincher for us. Hotels near the O2 were double the price when we looked to book.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falmouth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

We have just returned from a three night stay at the Quality Hotel in West Ham. The staff were very helpful and friendly and genuinely seemed happy to be there. The breakfast was excellent and the service again was superb. There is free parking right outside which is unusual to find in London. The nearest tube station is approximately 300 yards away and you can buy a ticket after 9.30 for £5.90 which will take you around central London by bus or tube for the whole day. The rooms which are the West Ham directors boxes on match days are very comfortable and well fitted out.

  • Liked — The service given by the staff.
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

I've stayed here a couple of times and our stay has been perfect on both occasions. The rooms are superb value for money and for the class of hotel its by far one of the best in the local area. The room itself it very clean and cosy with nice furniture and decor all round. The view is very unique being the actual football pitch! The bathroom is clean and confortable although not entirely modern and on one of our stays the shower wasn't really up to scratch but we didn't mind too much as the room itself made up for it. The hotel is located at the quieter end of a very busy high street. There are many takeaways, restaurants and shops nearby and also a huge market which is on everyday. There is a drinking and dining area near the reception but I have not tried either.

  • Liked — Cleansiness and confort
  • Disliked — Bathroom could do with a little touching up
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2008

I stayed for 4 nights on business and was very impressed. The room was spacious and the views over the ground were awesome. Only shame was not being able to access the balcony or the mini bar!

The staff were friendly, efficient and very helpful. Offering good advice on local eateries and pubs (where to go and where to avoid!).

Breakfast was great, fresh fruit, selection of cereals, pastries and fully cooked as well. The Service at breakfast was impeccable.

Only 5/10 mins walk away from Upton Park tube so easy access into Liverpool Street.

Would definitely go back.

  • Liked — Fantastic Views
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to West Ham United Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Ham United Hotel

Address: Boleyn Ground, Green Street | W Ham United Football Club, London E13 9AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#70 Best Value Hotel in London
#288 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — West Ham United Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your West Ham United Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn London
West Ham United London
West Ham United Hotel London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Ham United Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.