We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's about the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Z Hotel Soho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Z Hotel Soho to your Saves list
The Z Hotel Soho
17 Moor Street, London W1D 5AP, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #320 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Monte Carlo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's about the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in a double room which I think they call a 'Z Double'. Yeah, it's a double bed more or less shoehorned between two walls but the room was uber clean, brandnew and smartly appointed. The bathroom was small but not ridiculous. Look, book this room if you going to spend most of your time out and about enjoying London. It's not really a room that you completely 'make yourself at home'...but you could if you are used to small spaces. When we stayed it was a Tuesday evening and there was free wine and cheese in the bar...we raised our eyebrows, we were so surprised! But we took advantage and there was even chutney and at least 8 different cheeses on a display. We were dead impressed. I liked the place and it would suit a romantic couple or theatre visitors who don't want to trapse to the cheap hotels in Paddington which are not nearly as nice. I suspect the prices of Z will go up eventually so gather ye rosebuds while ye can.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    385
    107
    48
    25
See reviews for
35
400
114
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We were met by smiling staff and a generally warm friendly ambience. The room was very small but immaculately presented with the most comfortable bed with a tv literally at the foot of it. We had lovely cheese and wine in the bar, chatting to other very happy guests before heading off for the theatre round the corner. It was really great fun, loved the location and can't wait for an excuse to go and stay again.

Room Tip: All the rooms looked great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Z Hotel in Soho last Thurs-Sun. I chose the hotel because of its reasonable price considering the location. Location is a short walk (5-10min max) to Leicester Square and Piccadilly Circus underground stations. This hotel is as central as you can get really.

CHECK-IN
Very pleasant and quick check-in. I had originally booked a inside double (no window), but we were upgraded to an inner outside room (which had a small frosted window facing into courtyard) on arrival. We were initially worried about the size of the room (we had 2 large suitcases), but the receptionist reassured us this would not be a problem and that additional storage is available free of charge.

ROOM
The room is compact, but it was completely fine for a weekend stay for a couple and has everything you need and expect from a modern hotel. The room has a mimimalistic and modern design and was very clean. Each room has large plasma screen at foot of bed with free SKY TV, tea coffee, bottled water, hairdryer, showergel, towels. Really impressive what they have packed into such a small space. The only thing I would point out is that the toilet/wet room has only a glass door, so there is limited privacy.

Room was cleaned/re-stocked everyday to a high standard..

FOOD
We ate the continental breakfast buffet every morning which included parma ham, cheeses, bread, croissant, pastries and tea/coffee included- cooked breakfast option available- all freshly grilled!!!! Also, there is free wine, cheese, olives, hummus, bread every night 5-9pm!!!!! What more can you want!!!!

OVERALL
I felt really comfortable at this hotel. 100 % recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a reliable no fuss hotel to rest their heads in central London.

Room Tip: Don't worry about not having a window or the compact size of the room- it's actually really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The location was right in the middle of Soho which suited us for the theater and pubs.  The room was VERY small and not worth the price paid but it was very clean with a comfy bed!

Most Theatres are within 2-10 minute walk, Leicester Square tube station and the Square itself only 5 minute walk.  Lots of places to eat and drink in the area. 

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just come back from a weekend in London to see Les Miserables. Stayed at the Z Hotel Soho in a double bedroom without a window. Room is small but we were only sleeping it in after all. It does have air condition. Room and shower was very clean. Widescreen TV with sky on the wall which my hubby was happy about after we got back from the show. Kettle, tea and coffee provided which was nice. Reception staff was great and friendly and we were told about free wines and croissants etc from 5-9pm onwards, unfortunately we were going to Nandos for tea (which is around 5 minutes walk). We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The price we paid was great considering we were in the centre of the West End was brillant, also the tube station (Leicester Square) is close by

Room Tip: We had room 102 but this was without a window, but it has air condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marbella spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 1 night on arrival complimentary drink great idea then from 5 till9pm for guests complimentary cheese board and drink as much as u like wine unbelievable ! Our friends arrived to meet us and had the same for only 12 pounds per person great value.
The staff were very attentive and polite
I did not realize that the rooms were so small and compact and I get a little claustrophobic so they showed us 3 other rooms that were a little bigger and differently laid out which made it feel more spacious they were so helpful
Will defo go back there when in London great location

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isle of man
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The location of this hotel is fantastic, situated a very short walk from Leicester Square. Directly outside the door is the theatre hosting Singing in the Rain.
The hotel itself is very stylish, perfectly clean and modern. It's quite quirky in design but interesting and away from the norm. Staff were friendly and efficient providing a very quick, informative and polite check in procedure.
The Room: very small but serviceable. Very clean with all essentials. Nice shower and facilities. The bed however was a slight issue as it is against a wall on one side and was bordered in by a partition to the en-suite at the bottom. A large TV was positioned over the bed which had a full range of Sky TV which was great. The bed itself was quite hard and left my wife in a little bit if discomfort in the morning. The hotel is obviously designed as a stylish base in a great location for visitors exploring London for one or two nights. It's clearly not designed for people wishing to spend their day in the hotel or for an extended stay. I would stay here again if the price was right, as it was this time around. Very reasonably priced for a Covent Garden hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Z Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Soho

Address: 17 Moor Street, London W1D 5AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#249 Romantic Hotel in London
#284 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Z Hotel Soho has everything you need for a couple of nights in town. Concentrated style, an out-of-town price and the West End – at your feet the moment you step out the door. No off-central, tourist hotels for you.Space is unimportant. How you use it is vital. You step into your Z Room, and suddenly the price makes perfect sense. You’re staying in central Soho, where space is at a premium. But you’re not paying a premium. We have rooms start from 8 to 14 square meters of compact luxury.Z Soho is a designer conversion of twelve Georgian townhouses. From the outside you see classic architectural proportions, combined with contemporary style. Inside, you find 85 rooms gathered around a central courtyard. And it places you in Moor Street, between the theatre and bookshops of Cambridge Circus and Charing Cross Road – and the vivid cosmos of Old Compton Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Z Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Z Hotel Soho London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Z Hotel Soho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.