We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact,comfortable and chic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Z Hotel Soho

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Z Hotel Soho to your Saves list
The Z Hotel Soho
17 Moor Street, London W1D 5AP, England (Soho)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #302 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Stone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Compact,comfortable and chic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I love this hotel! Beautifully designed with every thing in miniature. Like hobbit heaven. Lovely quiet inside room even though it is at the centre of soho and theatreland. Free....yes free wine and cheese buffet including hummus,bread,olives and chutney from 5pm to 9pm which is v tempting to stay at all evening even though you are within walking distance of 20 or so restaurants. Lovely cosy bar and an outdoor heated patio. Staff have high standards of customer service....feel I should be paying twice as much. Best for solo travellers or couples who like to be up close and personal all the time. Very quiet considering the location.....I have stayed at London hotels and felt I might as well be sleeping on the street amidst all the traffic....not here.....it is really quiet if you get a room over the courtyard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    370
    104
    43
    23
See reviews for
32
384
112
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Just what you need for a central location stay - perfect for one night in Soho. I Recommend this hotel - we wanted to have access to soho bars and stumble back to the hotel. The rooms were clean and modern and cosy - also soundproof considering the location. Also there is a free 'happy hour' which goes for a long time with complimentary wine and cheese from 5-7pm- amazing!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I've just come back from staying a couple of nites here at The Z Hotel Soho. I knew the room would be small but for 1 person it was ideal. It suited my needs to be in Leicester Square area. I opted for a double room with quiter settings and I got a room small wndow on the 3rd floor overlooking the interior. Enjoyed the TV, the bed was comfortable and was clean. I liked that they used the space to its full advantage. I didn't use the cafe but it seemed like a cosy joint and unfortunately I wasn't available for the wine and cheese event which would've been nice. Was able to get an early check in and requested a late check out which they kindly accommodated. I got back late on my final nite after 2am and I used my room key to get in but reception was manned 24hours. I would recommend this hotel to people and I would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed here for a week, and couldn't have had a more pleasant stay. The staff was very accommodating and helpful, and you just can't beat the location. Yes the rooms are tiny, but I'm certain no one goes to London to sleep! Perfect for all of us urban adventurers out there!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed here as I was in London for a concert. When you read reviews about the rooms being tiny they really are. The room I was put in had no window even as it was an 'inside room' The hotel itself is clean and in a good location. I can't say any more really. Be careful how much you pay per night. Anything over about £80.00 isn't worth it.

Room Tip: Be careful not to get an 'inside room' with NO window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brum
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Perfect location and perfect stay.

Hotel is in a fantastic location for a west end show. Show finishes and you are back in no time at all. Rooms small but well thought out and well finished. No spare space but that is what the hotel tells you at the start. There is even a little oasis of calm in the middle.

Really helpful and friendly staff which created a small town hotel feeling in london. Perfect

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Small rooms, but efficiently designed. Very clean and comfortable with a great price. Plus add in the free wine and cheese in the evening and the value of the hotel soars. This is my second time staying at this hotel and it has been excellent both times. The staff is exceedingly friendly. And the location is right on the edge of Soho/Seven Dials. Great for getting around.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor if you're noise sensitive. But even on the first floor the windows are almost...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Z Hotel Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Z Hotel Soho

Address: 17 Moor Street, London W1D 5AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#230 Business Hotel in London
#254 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Z Hotel Soho has everything you need for a couple of nights in town. Concentrated style, an out-of-town price and the West End – at your feet the moment you step out the door. No off-central, tourist hotels for you.Space is unimportant. How you use it is vital. You step into your Z Room, and suddenly the price makes perfect sense. You’re staying in central Soho, where space is at a premium. But you’re not paying a premium. We have rooms start from 8 to 14 square meters of compact luxury.Z Soho is a designer conversion of twelve Georgian townhouses. From the outside you see classic architectural proportions, combined with contemporary style. Inside, you find 85 rooms gathered around a central courtyard. And it places you in Moor Street, between the theatre and bookshops of Cambridge Circus and Charing Cross Road – and the vivid cosmos of Old Compton Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Z Hotel Soho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Z Hotel Soho London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Z Hotel Soho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.