We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good and reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banana Tree - Soho

Banana Tree - Soho
103-109 Wardour Street, London W1F 0UQ, England (Soho)
+44 20 7437 1351
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,444 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Price range: $11 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Soho
Description: Fresh and funky, Banana Tree - Soho presents regional specialities from the Indochina region. Crafting their authentic flavours since 1991, Banana Tree places special focus on the lemongrass-growing areas in South East Asia, including Vietnam, Laos, Thailand and Cambodia. Delicious Pan-Asian noodles, soups, curries and temptingly sweet desserts can be found on the Banana Tree menu. Traditional yet cosmopolitan, Banana Tree restaurant is a failsafe favourite for vibrant Asian delicacies.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I loved the beef rendang. It's quick and not too expensive. Service was a bit slow and it's packed! They offer corn cakes and rice with your entree, the corn cakes weren't very good so I wouldn't get them again. Everything else was pretty tastey

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    130
    43
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Very good, no fuss S.E. Asian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I'm always weary of these chain restaurants but thankfully my fears were misguided as the uber cool setting dished up some fresh flavoursome asian food that is as good as you'll get in asia. The place represents excellent value for money, especially when you use your taste card. If you're looking for a cheap, no fuss sort of place that serves delicious food in a trendy setting then come here!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“The best indochina street food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I ate there last week with a client, I have passed the Wardour St restaurant so many times and it was always packed. They don't take bookings and there is a Q. Having just eaten there, now i know why. I had lunch there it was soon packed with cool Soho workers, simply the food is soo authentic, having travelled and lived in Asia for me going out and trying street food was the best way to discover real local food and Banana Tree replicates this to perfection. The satay is to die for, we had two curries and they brought back memories of Bali and China. The service is a bit off the mark, twice the waitress came back and asked us waht we ordered (the computer was 2 feet away). But you know what there is nothing like this around (we have Wagamama, Eratira and Wachaca) but they are defined concepts, Banana Tree is real local food, it brought back memories. Well worth a visit and bill for lunch was £38 including tip, no booze, we were stuffed when we left....

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food and good value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Really nice menu, the staff were friendly and the food was very tasty! Had the rendang curry and pad thai for main courses, and the puddings were delicious - highly recommend having the chocolate fondant with coconut ice cream and passion fruit. I would say this place is on the same level as busaba eathai (which is just round the corner!), but Banana Tree is on the tastecard, which makes the bill even more satisfying.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Nice and contemporary.
Varied menu, excellent dishes not overpriced.
Good service.
I'd like to go back!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banana Tree - Soho also viewed

 

Been to Banana Tree - Soho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banana Tree - Soho, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.