We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast a bit pricey but tasty and filling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thyme at Premier Inn

Thyme at Premier Inn
26-30 York Way | Kings Cross, London N1 9AA, England
0871 527 8672
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,081 of 17,997 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breakfast a bit pricey but tasty and filling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Food are tasty and restaurant staff are friendly. The breakfast buffet closes at 10am so for those who wake up late during their holidays be sure to get up early and taste their full English breakfast.

Coffee is provided by Costa and part of the buffet breakfast.

We also sampled other dishes and they tasted good. If you are too tired after a whole day of roaming around London you can go back to your hotel and order for room service from Thyme

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    41
    22
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Talbot S Wales
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hit and miss service ( food was fine)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Had both breakfast and dinner here recently about breakfast no complaints at all .

The evening meal was good value but the night we were there ( sat 19th oct) the service was patchy . We ordered pre meal drinks which took an age to arrive ( mid main course ) the starters mains drinks with the meals and coffee turned up on time . The dessert ( shared eton mess ) again took ages turning up well after the coffee had been finished . Pity as the food itself was good value and pretty good ( under £55 for 2 of us ) .

I have eaten in the night here before and think we were juts unlucky this sat , as service before has always been spot on .

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place - fantastic deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went there for a libation and to catch the football match. Was pleasantly surprised to find a modern and well kept resto/bar.

We went back for dinner and took advantage of the 'Meal Deal' which gave us dinner (3 courses) and a drink (beer/wine) and a ticket for the hot breakfast buffet next morning. All for 23 pounds.

Service was great. The buffet in the a.m. was quite good. Endless everything. If you just want the buffet, it is 9 pounds, which is quite good, considering the prices in the region.

Will definitely make our way back here - on our way out of town.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I ate both dinner and breakfast in Thyme the restaurant attached to the Premier Inn at Kings Cross.

The food was superb and service excellent. Friendly genuine staff with great personalities and a can do attitude. I had the mixed grill with triple cooked chips. Yum. Really enjoyed it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GREAT restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

from the professional waitstaff to the delectable cuisine, Thyme restaurant serves up wonderful food at reasonable prices. My wife and I had an unbelievably good meal there yesterday (she had the meatball bolognese I had the chicken curry) and today (she had the sirloin steak, I had the "famous full house". So, here are the highlights (since there were no lowlights):

1- I can make a good curry but they had THE BEST CURRY I've eaten in my life. Moderately hot but not overpoweringly spicy, it was great, and that's an understatement.

2- my wife enjoyed both her meals tremendously!

3- the desserts were excellent, we thought we were stuffed from the main dish but wolfed down the dessert.

4- cozy environment, tables were not crowded together and it was quite spacious.

5- background music was nice

6- everybody on the waitstaff were wonderful

7- Prices were quite reasonable, will not break the bank

All in all, would not hesitate to go back!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thyme at Premier Inn also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Thyme at Premier Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thyme at Premier Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.