We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small rooms - big show” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel London St James to your Saves list
Sofitel London St James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England (St. James's)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SOFITEL CHIC GOURMANDISE
Ranked #24 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Munich, Germany
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“small rooms - big show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When you enter the hotel without a suite you feel misplaced automatically. The rooms are clean but very, very small. So for a normal european man it is really hard to make a tie-node without hitting the mirror or the door... The view was to some sidestreet which was ok. It is very close to the underground and really in the centre of the city. It is a good business-hotel and the breakfast was very good. O would not recommend it for families or romantic trips.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear guest,

I thank you for your feedback.

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the size of your room. I am actually surprised with your comment as our guests are usually satisfied with the size of our Luxury Rooms.

On the other hand I am pleased to hear that you have enjoyed our breakfast as we proud ourselves in offering the freshest products on the market.

We look forward to welcoming you to our centrally located hotel.

A bientot,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,152
    459
    91
    28
    15
See reviews for
601
1,226
198
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I've been here in this month and the service was exceptional tonic for all that period it was.
The prime location near the metro station, to many attractions, makes it even more pleasant to stay.
I understand to be necessary to acknowledge the effort, commitment and care in meeting that received by Miss Rachel Gulin.
I would like the general manager did come up to her these words the gratitude of what I received.
Sofitel London Saint James I recommend! Delicious.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Madam,

Thank you so much for this wonderful feedback!

I thank you for mentioning our "exceptional" level of service. I will pass on your words of praise to the whole team as this will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing such standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

A bientôt,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Needed a London hotel to stay overnight and having an ACCOR loyalty card decided on the Sofitel St James. This is in an excellent location just off Pall Mall and near Piccadilly Circus. it is in the old Lloyds Bank building and is stunning both from the outside and inside. Rooms are very good indeed although as normal, only one comfortable chair in the room. Very friendly indeed and being part of the French ACCOR Group it has mostly French staff which was rather nice. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble. After arriving back in the hotel at 10:00pm we asked for a pot of tea and something sweet to eat, no problem at all. Food in the bar was really tasty. We were really struck by the friendliness and helpfulness of everybody. As we had a Platinum ACCOR loyalty card we were up-graded, always a good start. A really good experience, I would not stay anywhere else now in London.

Room Tip: As always, go for the best room you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guest,

I thank you for such positive feedback!

Indeed we genuinely love to pamper all of our guests and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim.

We look forward to your next visits.

A bientôt,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Lovely largely French staff, excellent restaurant and v comfortable beds.
Great location too. I would stay there again for sure.
A bit pricey for families but ideal for work and couples.
Very helpful and accommodating

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for this positive feedback.

I am truly glad to hear that you have loved your stay at Sofitel London St James.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

A bientôt,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Palmas, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

They say location is everything in London and they are right, the Sofitel St James is about as central as you can get without rip-off prices. Our stay included the London Marathon week-en and, although very busy, the staff were always there with a smile to help you. The luxury room we stayed in had all the amenities one expects of a top class hotel, comfy beds and the bathroom was extremely well fitted out. Breakfast, sometimes a bit hectic, had a good choice of items and staff were all very friendly and efficient. A bit of french "savoir vivre" in the heart of London!! We'll definitely be staying there again on our 3-4 yearly trips to London!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear sir,

Thank you for this marvelous feedback.

As a matter of fact we are centrally located yet on the quiet Waterloo Place which is very convenient as being a stone's throw from the London buzz.

I am also glad to hear that we have met your expectations in terms of service.

We look forward to your next visits.

A bientôt,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Sofitel St James is outstanding in every way. The decor is stunning the rooms are very clean & spacious (we had a luxuary room) the bed is the comfiest bed you can ever imagine & the breakfast was delicious & had plenty of choice. The hotel is a 5 min walk to Trafalgar Square & Buckingham Palace. My husband was running in the London marathon so we wanted a hotel close to the finish line (It's a 5 min walk at the most which my husband was very grateful for after completing). The hotel staff certainly went the extra mile & sent a good luck card, provided a welcome gift of bananas, apricots, water, juice & protein bars & on marathon day wished us good luck then we was welcomed back & congratulated by all staff on our return. This was very much appreciated & shows just how much the hotel supports their guest.

Room Tip: Luxuary room was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for this superb feedback!

As a matter of fact we support our guests in such a crucial moment as the London Marathon. This must be quite an experience to run such distance...

Thank you very much for your words of praise. Like we say everything coming from the heart goes to the heart.

We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention.

A bientôt,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at Sofitel over London marathon weekend and everything about the hotel, it's location and its service was perfect.
The team were friendly but also professional and they even provided 4 extra pairs of slippers, oodles of bathroom goodies and lots of bottles of mineral water in our room after I'd done the marathon. Such a nice touch.
Could not recommend the hotel enough for business or pleasure.
We hope to stay in the Sofitel when I do the Paris marathon as we enjoyed the stay in London so much.
Thank you

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear guest,

Thank you for this great feedback.

As a matter of fact every detail counts and we were extremely pleased to support our runner guests in every possible way.

I wish you good luck for the Paris Marathon!

Looking forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention.

A bientot,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in London
#10 Family Hotel in London
#17 Business Hotel in London
#21 Luxury Hotel in London
#24 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features "The Balcon" French brasserie, the St James Bar elegant cocktail bar and the sumptuous Rose Lounge. It is also the perfect place to unwind with the gym and relaxation space, So FIT by Sofitel, and So SPA by Sofitel, a new kind of Spa experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.