We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London St James

Save Saved
You added Sofitel London St James to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #20 of 1,073 hotels in London
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
“What a wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were lucky enough to stay at the Sofitel London St James last week. The service was exemplary, the staff so friendly and helpful. One room was not quite ready when we were checking in so we were shown to the bar and provided with a lovely cup of tea while we waited. Later that evening we returned to the bar to be entertained by the staff mixing cocktails with flair. The rooms were incredibly comfortable and beautifully clean. Lovely toiletries and every facility you could want or need. Looking forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: We had the little rooms overlooking the rooftops of the City of London, quiet +++
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,889
    412
    82
    26
    11
See reviews for
523
1081
182
371
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sicklerville, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel London St James in December and we were very impressed! It was the first Sofitel hotel we have stayed in and now we know we can trust the Sofitel name. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated and the bathroom was spacious. It was a very central location for nearly all of the tourist attractions. We would definitely recommend the Sofitel London St. James.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear Madam,

I am extremely glad to hear that your husband and yourself were amazed by Sofitel London St James.

We genuinely love to look after and to pamper all of our guests.

I thank you in advance for your loyalty towards the Sofitel brand and look forward to welcoming you back in London.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We stayed one night in May as I was running a race in London and wanted to combine that with a night away just myself and husband. We arrived earlier than normal check in but was pleased to find our room was ready early as requested earlier in the week by email. Our room was on the first floor and was beautifully decorated and very clean just as all our previous visits the only downside was the room wasn't a ' bright airy room ' as described by the lady on check in as it was in a inner view of the air conditioning units! However this didn't bother us as we were only staying one night and were heading straight out. Lovely big bathroom with a shower and bath which is always a bonus and the bed and pillows are so comfortable we didn't want to get up! We knew this from previous visits so ordered breakfast in room which was very good for room service, still fairly hot and fresh. The best thing about this hotel for us is the amazing bar! The cocktails are to die for and the staff really make them special. If something isn't on the menu the staff will mix it up for you anyway. The only thing which wasn't good for us was the oar conditioning didn't get cool enough for us but again as we were only staying one night it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear guests,

I am truly happy to hear that you have had a wonderful stay at Sofitel London St James.

I thank you for pointing out our excellent St James Bar and its bartenders. They are indeed a real asset for the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Excellent location. Good service, at times a bit over imposing, but with nice touches like the bellboy who offered me water when I came back from a run in the park. Rooms are ok but the view we got was a very close wall right next to the window and we were told this is the setup for all the "cheap" rooms, something we did not expect or were told when they asked for our "preferences" at booking. The free wifi is spotty but manageable. Fitness room very beautiful but equipment that was not functioning was not repaired even after two calls to maintenance on sequential days. The amenities are high quality and friendly service at the bar.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear guest,

I thank you for your feedback.

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed our kind attentions after your jogging.

I am sorry to hear about a faulty device in our So-FIT. Please rest assured that this does not reflect our normal standards. This will be fixed straight away.

I am also glad to hear that you have enjoyed the atmosphere in our St James Bar.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Posted May 28, 2014
The staff and service was absolutely outstanding!!! I have traveled a lot and have stayed at the Sofitel in New York and Chicago but the London St. James was the best level of service I have ever experienced! The person that checks you in walks you to your room and provides an overview. A refreshing beverage was served while checking in. The doorman was exceptionally friendly and helpful. The concierge provided outstanding restaurant recommendations and tickets to Windsor. The bartender, I think his name was Enzo, presentation of drinks and taste quality of drinks were outstanding - we had to go back the next night. And the waiter for breakfast remembered our preferences from the day before and provided exceptional service. We plan to stay at this hotel on any future trips to London. Location was also fantastic!'

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N_Pesty, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear geust,

Thank you for such positive a feedback!

The whole team and I thank you for pointing out our "outstanding" standards of service all throughout the hotel. This is indeed our utmost reward!

We look forward to many other visits of yours!

Au revoir,
Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in London
#10 Spa Hotel in London
#11 Business Hotel in London
#17 Romantic Hotel in London
#19 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features "The Balcon" French brasserie, the St James Bar elegant cocktail bar and the sumptuous Rose Lounge. It is also the perfect place to unwind with the gym and relaxation space, So FIT by Sofitel, and So SPA by Sofitel, a new kind of Spa experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.