We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A WONDERFUL STAY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London St James

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Expedia.com
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 1,071 hotels in London
São Paulo
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A WONDERFUL STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have never received a better service in any other hotel. All the staff was perfect.
Since the reservation through the web site I noted that my my choice was correct.
The location of the hotel is great and the room was perfect.
I will certainly return to the hotel and also stay at other Sofitel hotels expecting to receive the same kind of service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for such lovely a feedback!

Indeed we have a passion for our guests and we love to indulge them. I am truly glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed your experience at Sofitel London St James.

We look forward to your next visit.

Até breve.

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,309 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,802
    390
    81
    25
    11
See reviews for
462
1003
174
351
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The Sofitel St. James is one of those extraordinarily elegant old hotels that oozes comfort and impeccable service, and makes you wish you never had to leave. Its location, a 2 minute walk from the Piccadilly tube stop, makes it convenient to anywhere in London. The rooms are not huge, but are awash in all the comforts you could want, including uber-comfortable beds and well-appointed bathrooms with Hermes toiletries and luxuriously plush towels. The staff are welcoming and attentive to any help you need with dinner or theater reservations and assistance in navigating transportation in the city. The glass bowl of handmade fruit lollies at the reception desk was a nice touch, as was the shot glass of fruit juice offered at check-in. Our stay there was absolutely flawless and stress-free. HIGHLY recommend this wonderful French hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
I thank you for such wonderful a feedback!

I love to hear satisfied guests with our "impeccable service". We put a lot into providing outstanding standards of service and I am glad to read that we have exceeded your expectations.

I also thank you for recommending Sofitel London St James to your entourage.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I've stayed at this property many times and they are holding to a high standard in all respects. The only drawbacks for the business traveler, depending upon how/when you book, are possibly high costs for the rooms and a relatively limited fitness facility.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I am extremely pleased to hear that we are keeping up with high standards of service. Indeed we do our utmost to exceed our guests expectations.

Regarding our So-FIT, it has got the latest Technogym devices.

We look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Julie and I loved this hotel. When we arrived, we were invited to the bar for tea (it was 2:00 PM) since our rooms were not yet ready. Then, every evening, we ended our day in the bar talking about our adventures.

The staff was professional and accommodating. The rooms were well appointed and quiet. The restaurant was excellent for breakfast (it's the only meal we had at the hotel). Candidly, I cannot think of anything I didn't like about this hotel. They even provided umbrellas for my entire family, even though two of them were not hotel guests!

I highly recommend the Sofitel. It's in the center of the city, right near all the sites you are going to want to visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
What a great feedback! Thank you for that!

Indeed we do our utmost to satisfy our guests expectations and I am truly glad to hear that you have enjoyed everything about your stay. You have made our day!

I also thank you for recommending Sofitel London St James to your entourage.

We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I cannot state how much I enjoyed my stay at the hotel. We had interconnecting rooms (kids) and the layout of both rooms was absolutely perfect. Service by all (front staff, concierge, room service, room cleanup) was absolutely the best I have experienced at any hotel. The location was great - only 30 seconds from the Piccadilly Train Station. Right next to Buckingham Palace. Rooms were very clean (serviced twice a day) and the beds were great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I am truly pleased to hear that you have adored your stay at Sofitel London St James.

Indeed we do our utmost to fulfill and exceed our guests expectations. I am glad to read that we have achieved our aim.

We look forward to welcoming you back with our undivided attention.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This time I got a smaller room that by far was not as nice as the last time but still the room was not too small (by London standards), clean, with bath tub and shower, free WiFi and complimentary water (or so I hope :) ). The bar is great and this time there were no fancy statues around the hotel that would embarass young ladies. Overall good experience, the only reason for not rating it at 5 stars is that for the value the price tag is still a bit too high (even by London standards).
At least I could see that my neighbour paid the same rate as I when I found neighbouring room's bill under my door. I realised it wasn't mine only when I saw charge for breakfast which I did not have and I was about to call reception to settle it ;)

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I thank you for your feedback.

I am pleased to hear that you have had a very good stay!

Rate wise it all depends on supply and demand I am afraid.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Sofitel St James London Hotel
Accor St James London
Sofitel London
London Sofitel St James
London Sofitel
Sofitel St James
Sofitel London St James England
Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in London
#8 Business Hotel in London
#11 Romantic Hotel in London
#13 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features "The Balcon" French brasserie, the St James Bar elegant cocktail bar and the sumptuous Rose Lounge. It is also the perfect place to unwind with the gym and relaxation space, So FIT by Sofitel, and So SPA by Sofitel, a new kind of Spa experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Splendia, ACCOR, Tingo, Venere, Otel, Priceline and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sofitel London St James to your Saves list