We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French class and sophistication” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London St James

Save Saved
You added Sofitel London St James to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #18 of 1,075 hotels in London
Alleins
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“French class and sophistication”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I have been staying at the St James regularly for the past 8 years and I have never, never been desapointed.
Maintaining such a level of excellence is quite an achievement. Well done to every member of staff of make each stay a special one.
Simply the best hotel in London on all account.
Don't look further, you will not be desapointed

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I truly thank you for your loyalty towards Sofitel London St James!

Thank you also for highly praising our standards of service.

We all look forward to welcoming you back for many many more years.

A très bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,884
    415
    86
    26
    11
See reviews for
496
1052
180
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Sofitel St James recently and we were really pleased with the overall Sofitel experience. Room was an ok size, with all the plush comfort of Sofitel! Lovely bedding and towels. Food was to a high quality with some quirky twists! Loved the black pudding scotch egg with pickle. Fantastic location for business and sight seeing! We will stay in this hotel again as its location for the theatres, restaurants and London sights was second to non.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for such positive a feedback.

I am glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed the food served in our restaurant The Balcon.

Indeed our central yet quiet location is one of our assets.

We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My Husband and I booked a trip as a gift to your son and his fiancé.The one thing I insisted on was that the four of us stay at the Sofital St.James. We all agreed that our stay at this hotel made the difference between having just a vacation and Having one of the Best vacations! Location was super convent - staffing top notch, warm, caring, helpful- lovely rooms- super ambiance all around ( something as simple as the flowers were changed daily in the lobby was so lovely to see and experience ) Fabulous spa - loved the high tea!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
I am most pleased to hear that you have been enchanted by the whole team at Sofitel London St James. Indeed we genuinely love to indulge all of our guests and they can tell that our service comes from the heart.

I thank you also for pointing out our "fabulous" So-SPA.

The Rose Lounge where you have had your Afternoon Tea is the perfect room to be pampered in the English tradition with a French touch.

We look ofrward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levis, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our recent stay here,was a memorable week in the life...As a grand prize winner of a contest by the Coca-Cola Co.,with almost all expenses paid,we chose London and this fine Hotel.The staff was very competent and helpfull.Many spoke French,which was appreciated by my wife.Our Superior room was quite adequate.The breakfast buffet had a plentiful selection to choose from.The Hotel's great location in the heart of the west-end.permitted us to visit much of the best attractions by foot or by the city's double-decker buses to get to some farther attractions using the Oyster Card wich is easy and cheap to use..Overall,found London to be a great place to visit, ,very clean city and not that expensive if you take the time to search in advance of your trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I am so pleased to hear that you and your wife have had such a "memorable week" at Sofitel London St James! Thank you for pointing this out in your feedback!

We look forward to welcoming you back as often as possible as Canada is a bit far away.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night as we had to go to The ExCel for business and decided to try it, our first time in a Sofitel Hotel but the reviews on Tripadvisor were very good.
We checked in and they kindly upgraded our room which was very nice, but when we got to the room they had upgraded us to a Luxury Disabled room which didn’t have a bath but a large shower.
We decided to go back to reception and ask to change as we preferred a bath and a shower, this was done without any real issue and we have a very nice room on the 6th floor.
One thing I will say about this hotel is that the rooms are very quiet to say it is in the centre of London and you cannot hear any traffic noise.
We went for lunch at The Balcon restaurant which was very good and I have already reviewed this.
We went out that night for a meal but when returning to the hotel we tried The St James Bar and yet again great staff, great atmosphere and had a really good time.
Breakfast – this was really very good, the best breakfast I have had in a 5 star hotel in a very long time and would recommend to anyone any day of the week.
When we were leaving the restaurant after breakfast a member of the management team came over to my Husband and myself to say there had been an issue with our car and that they had damaged one of the wheels getting it out of the car park, but not for us to worry as they would sort all of this out for us as the damage was enough to need the wheel replacing.

The reason why I have not reviewed the hotel before now was the simple fact that I wanted to make sure they were true to their word and that they would sort this out, which I am very happy to say they have and that we have booked again to stay for 2 nights in June and if the service and food is as good as before this place will now be our preferred London hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I thank you for your generous feedback about Sofitel London St James as well as about our restaurant The Balcon!

I thank you for mentioning the good atmosphere you have felt all over the hotel areas. As a matter of fact we proud ourselves in delivering high standards of services in a genuine way. I am pleased to hear that you have felt so.

We look forward to welcoming you back in June.

A bientôt.

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and i spent 4 nights on this hotel. The hotel is very beautiful and luxurious, the staff is great and make you feel easy. The breakfast is fantastic! The room was a little but small for the price but inside of the room you have all the convinient goods to make your stay very confortable.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I thank you for your praise regarding the high level of service provided by the whole team at Sofitel London St James.

I am very pleased to read that you have had a "fantastic breakfast" as we proud ourselves in using only the freshiest products on the market.

We look forward to your next visit.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

great building, great breakfast, grrrrrrrrrrreat SPA, great location, very good service and no attitude

I was there once for bus, meetings but from now on I ll be staying there no matter what the reason to be in London is

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
I am extremely thankful to all of your compliments regarding the high standards of services delivered all over the hotel areas.

We then look forward to welcoming you back both for business and leisure purposes.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#10 Family Hotel in London
#16 Luxury Hotel in London
#18 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features "The Balcon" French brasserie, the St James Bar elegant cocktail bar and the sumptuous Rose Lounge. It is also the perfect place to unwind with the gym and relaxation space, So FIT by Sofitel, and So SPA by Sofitel, a new kind of Spa experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, ACCOR, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.