We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London St James

Save Saved
You added Sofitel London St James to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #19 of 1,073 hotels in London
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Managed to get a great deal in this classy center on London hotel - its location is just perfect with WestEnd Shows running in the street to the rear of the hotel, Picadilly Circus and tune station at the top of the street, and St James Park and Buckingham Palace at the bottom of the street - brillant - and top it off the staff were very friendly - even bringing up a birthday gift for my girlfriend on the mornintg of our first stay :) defo coming back

Room Tip: ask for one at the front - high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
The whole team and I are truly glad to have pleasantly surprised you and your girlfriend with a birthday cake. We love to indulge our guests. We cannot help it.

We look forward to many other occasions for you both to come over to Sofitel London St James.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,876
    411
    82
    26
    11
See reviews for
519
1075
182
371
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Whilst our stay was brief it was attended by first class treatment in every aspect. The staff were pleasantly accommodating and the facilities impeccable. To add to the charm of the experience the dining was excellent and the staff knowledgeable and happy to please on any reasonable request. The location of the hotel is superb with ready access to the Mall, Trafalgar Square and other such tourist magnets.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
I thank you for such praise regarding our high standards of services. Our aim is indeed to genuinely look after all of our guests.

The Executive Chef and I are really glad to hear that your dinner at our restaurant The Balcon was excellent.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Even if you've experienced the Sofitel style before, it's still a real pleasure to enter one of its properties and see real service in action. Turn around and someone is there to help with a smile, but never in a pushy way. And there is real French panache in the way that a classical British bank headquarters has been turned into a coherent and stylish hotel, with minimal disruption of period features. The location is amazing - 200 yards from Trafalgar Square and about the same from Piccadilly Circus, but the hotel is quiet and a world away from the hordes of tourists outside. Great beds as always. Well-equipped rooms. And, most gratifying of all, senior management constantly on the floor of the hotel, checking on details, helping people out, delivering complimentary champagne and making sure the operation is seamless. Thoroughly recommended if your budget can stretch to it! A great hotel.

Room Tip: One facing Pall Mall should give you views of both Trafalgar Square and the Houses of PArliament. Go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Indeed we are centrally located, close to all major attractions in London. However Waterloo Place is extremely quiet.

We have balanced French elegance with English tradition at Sofitel London St James. I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed it.

I thank you very much for recommending our hotel to TripAdvisor surfers as well as to your friends.

We look forward to your next stay.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed three nights at this beautiful hotel centrally located in the city of Westminster. The value for the amenities this hotel has to offer is amazing. The best night's sleep we ever had in Europe, the concierge service was excellent, even helping us with the next leg of our trip in Paris. The hotel I'd in walking distance to Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Buckingham Palace. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
I am truly touched by the title of your feedback and I thank you very much for pointing us out as being a "heaven in London".

Indeed our Concierge team is quite an asset for the hotel. They are extremely efficient.

I can tell that MyBed has once again achieved its gola in taking you to sleep like onto fluffy clouds. Did you know that you can buy this unique system online?

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Loved St. James. Staff friendly, helpful, competent. Decor of public spaces very stylish, well done. Room good sized, attractive. Happy to find separate shower & bath. Room very quiet, excellent for sleeping. Will return when I am next in London!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Our aim is to have all of our guests feel at home away from home. Therefore we genuinely look after them.

I am glad to hear that you have enjoyed our French style within the English tradition.

I look forward to your next stay.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

This hotel is really lovely. From arrival to departure, we were made to feel so welcome. The reception staff showed us round when we arrived and we were given a refreshing drink as we booked in (it felt like we were arriving at a friends house where we were really wanted). The room was very relaxing and linen and decor excellent. Breakfast was good and the little teapots were so diffferent. Every member of staff made us feel that they wanted us to be there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
I am truly glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much staying at Sofitel London St James.

Our aim is to have all of our guests live magnifique moments with us.

I look forward to offer you our undivided attention in the near future.

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The Sofitel at St. James rivals the quality of London's top hotels at a fraction of the price. While still not cheap, it is a great value when compared to other similar options. Very safe and convenient location. Super clean and comfortable rooms and linens. Hermes bath products.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I thank you for ranking us among the London's top hotels. It is our utmost reward for me and my whole team to be qualifyed as such.

I am most pleased to hear that you have had a very enjoyable stay at Sofitel London St James.

We then look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in London
#9 Spa Hotel in London
#11 Business Hotel in London
#17 Luxury Hotel in London
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features "The Balcon" French brasserie, the St James Bar elegant cocktail bar and the sumptuous Rose Lounge. It is also the perfect place to unwind with the gym and relaxation space, So FIT by Sofitel, and So SPA by Sofitel, a new kind of Spa experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, ACCOR, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.