We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feedback” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel London St James to your Saves list
Sofitel London St James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England (St. James's)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SOFITEL CHIC GOURMANDISE
Ranked #24 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,153
    459
    91
    28
    15
See reviews for
602
1,226
198
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My husband took me to this exquisite hotel for my birthday weekend, the moment we got out the taxi and was greeted by the doorman we knew that this was going to be special. The staff are fabulous each and everyone of them and nothing was too much trouble. We were asked what we would be doing and my husband mentioned that it was my birthday and would be going to the theatre later that evening, we were shown around the hotel and the bellboy brought up our cases. We had a superior double room which was slightly small with the wardrobe and long length mirror up a tight corner which you could not see yourself in, saying that the bathroom bed and tv/iPod dock more than made up for it. Delivered to our room later that evening a homemade dessert and rose turned up which was a lovely touch, and a turndown service of homemade chocolate, water, gowns and slippers were laid out. Her majesty's theatre literally just round the corner a perfect location to watch a show. This is a fabulous hotel for a unforgettable weekend!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
What a lovely feedback. I am truly pleased to hear that you have had an "unforgettable" week-end at Sofitel London St James. We are here to indulge our guests and are most happy when we achieve our aim.

We look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

When you don't go too often to London, you better visit London in full comfort. A delicious breakfast, a perfect sleep and a perfect location is a good start for a great weekend.
Staff is pro !
Ok, it's not a bargain, but what you get compensates it's price more than enough.
We just booked again, and we're already looking forward to our perfect weekend next weekend!

Tip: try the afternoon tea !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We were truly glad to hear that you have enjoyed so much your stay at Sofitel London St James. I thank you for mentioning your delicious breakfast at our restaurant The Balcon as well as our perfect location in the centre of London. But what made me feel even happier is that the whole staff has provided you with a genuine great service.

We look forward to welcoming you next WE.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely hotel. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The hotel is well situated in the Piccadilly Circus area. We stayed in a Superior room which was a good size. The only problem was that the bed and pillows were softer than we are used to, and our room looked out onto a brick wall and air conditioning towers. I thought a Superior room would have a better view.
I would certainly stay at this hotel again, but would make sure I had a window looking onto the street, or Waterloo Place. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
I am really glad to hear that the whole team was friendly and helpful as we proud ourselves in offering high standards of services right from the heart. We genuinely love to indulge our guests.

When booking for your next stay please do not hesitate to ask us not to place the MyBed system. I would also suggest you to book a Luxury Room with a view on either Waterloo Place or Pall Mall. You will love it!

Thank you for pointing out the "excellent breakfast" you have had at our restaurant The Balcon.

We look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent one night during the trip in the UK, it was just a splendid experience with my family. We were taken so much care of, personal attention throughout from the room to the breakfast. I will keep on recommending this hotel for its services.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I was truly glad to hear that the team has continiously look after you and your family as we proud ourselves in providing a consistent high level of services.

I thank you for recommending Sofitel London St James.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We usually visit London once a year and now nearly always stay here. It is such a welcoming hotel with friendly staff and beautifully furnished rooms - especially the beds. I realise that it is expensive but there are some good deals in winter.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I am truly glad to hear that when you are in London you come over to Sofitel London St James.

Indeed we love to look after our guests and we do our utmost to please them.

We look forward to welcoming you next year.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

What an excellent experience I had. During my trip of 5 days I spend 2 nights and a day in Sofitel London St James hotel. I found it family friendly and kids friendly hotel. There are several activities for kids. Staff were too supportive, helpful and professional.

Room Tip: Go for higher floors and corners room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
I am so glad to hear that you have had such "an excellent experience" with us! I thank you for mentioning it in your feedback.

Indeed we genuinely love to look after all of our guests, children are part of them too.

We then look forward to your next stay together with your children.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in London
#9 Family Hotel in London
#19 Business Hotel in London
#21 Luxury Hotel in London
#24 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features "The Balcon" French brasserie, the St James Bar elegant cocktail bar and the sumptuous Rose Lounge. It is also the perfect place to unwind with the gym and relaxation space, So FIT by Sofitel, and So SPA by Sofitel, a new kind of Spa experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.