We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service, staff and location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel London St James to your Saves list
Sofitel London St James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #20 of 1,066 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing service, staff and location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Where to begin, I have just signed up to Tripadvisor purely to give this hotel a review. I won't go on and on however i'd like to say that The Sofitel should be proud of the team they have here I have my own business and day in and day out i instill how important it is to deliver great customer sevice. I travel a lot all over the world and have to say this is definately one of the best i have stayed in. The team genuinely looked happy to be dealing with all queries and going out of their way to help guests, In particular Amelie and Jeremy also another gentlemen who delivered our luggage to the room he had blonde short hair. I was initially going to book The Mandarin or The Dorchester but am very happy to have chosen The Sofitel, initially we were going to head out for dinner but due to the heavy rain decided to stay in and order room service I have never experienced such great room service ever the food was excellent it was brought up on a table that was then set up as a proper dining table. The bed is absolutely divine i don't think i have ever slept through the night in the last few years I woke up absolutely refreshed, location is fabulous the Hotel is a 5 minute walk from Piccadilly underground station. I am booking in again next month for the night and adding some Spa treatments along with the in room dining :-)

Keep up the good work and I look forward to staying in the next few weeks

:-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I was truly glad to read your feedback.

I thank you for pointing out our "great customer service". Indeed we put a lot into providing all of our guests with very high standards. I also thank you for mentioning Amelie and Jeremy.

This kind of personal feedback really encourages the staff to keep on delivering such levels of service.

We then look forward to your next stay in another month.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,998
    438
    87
    27
    13
See reviews for
552
1,147
190
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
370 helpful votes 370 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Booked two nights for two people in a superior double through a booking agent - and was shocked at the extremely small dark room we were allocated on arrival. Couldn't contact anyone to dicuss, as the whole phone system wasn't taking internal or external calls, but kept telling us we had messages waiting!

Went down to query whether this was indeed a superior double with our receptionist who was very evasive about their room categories. She did eventually find us a similarly styled but slightly bigger room which was acceptable, although made it clear that this was something of a big deal, as she had to check with her supervisor. Disappointing to subsequently find that the original room allocated was a 'classic', generally sold for single occupancy, and that our 'upgraded' alternative reluctantly provided was in fact the 'superior' we had booked!

The outlook from both rooms was poor, but our eventual room was comfortable, quiet, and well equiped with a comfy bed. Having experienced many London 5 stars, the first option was just not good enough, when compared with the competition.

From this unpromising start with reception, I have to say that the hotel is lovely in very many respects, clean and in good condition, stylish and comfortable, well located, and generally with the most charming helpful staff. Afternoon tea is excellent, bar service and ambiance good (although bar rather small), and breakfast fresh and very pleasant in a lovely room. It does have quite an intimate, quality feel.

Would otherwise have given five stars if it had not been for the disappointing first impression, but first impressions do really count, and we were expecting to be wowed on the basis of TA reviews. As it appears they have many different sizes of room, and some very small ones, do clarify this if it is an important factor.

Room Tip: Suspect all rooms and beds are comfortable, but avoid 'classic' rooms unless you want a very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
I am truly sorry to hear about the disappointing start of your stay. Please rest assured that this does not reflect at all our normal standards and it will not happen again.

I am glad however to read that you were pleasantly surprised by our high standards of service in all the other departments of the hotel.

I thank you for pointing out the warm atmosphere implemented in the Rose Lounge with the "excellent" Afternoon Tea; in the restaurant The Balcon and in the St James Bar. Moreover the Executive Chef prouds himself in offering the freshiest seasonal products on the market.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Impeccable hotel in the very centre of London.
The quality of the room (and in particular the bed and the bathroom) is extremely good.
The service is flawless.
The bar has excellent after hours meals.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
I thank you for your positive feedback as we strive to offer to all of our guests very high standards of service.

Indeed we serve meals at our St James Bar however, next time, please try our restaurant The Balcon. You will be delighted by the fresh and seasonal ingredients so well cooked in imaginative dishes by our Executive Chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Having stayed several times at the Sofitel , Terminal 5 Heathrrow, we thought we would book this hotel for a celebratory weekend.

On arrival at 2.40pm our room was not ready. we were told that availability starts at 3.00pm. Still not ready. After prompting the recepionist we were given complimentary tea.

The location has to be one of the best in Central London - no need for taxis- it is possible to walk to most places in Cental London from here. Trafalgar Square is round the corner, The Mall and the beautiful St James' Park a stone's throw away., while The Haymarket , with theatres , cinema and restaurants are also close at hand. A walk up Regent Street brings you to Piccadilly and the shopping district plus the exhibitions in the Royal Accademy.Despite its fantastic location, the hotel is set back from the main traffic areas and looKs out onto the fine buildings of the Atheaneum Club and Carlton Gardens.
The hotel has a quiet ambience and the bedrooms are well equipped, with superbly comfortable beds.We opted for bed and breakfast,. The dining room is very attractive,with large windows, and retains the character of the old banking hall it once was. We were somewhat disappointed with the breakfast buffet. As this is a French owned hotel the croissants etc were good, but the bacon in a casserole dish was uncooked and greasy. Better to stick to continental breakfast ,or order food from the waiter, or go out and get something if you are not on an expense account!
All in all, we had a very pleasant stay.
.
.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Indeed one of our assets is our central location really close to all London attractions. We are centrally located however a bit aside on the quiet Waterloo Place.

I am glad to hear that you have had such an enjoyable time at Sofitel London St James.

We look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Sofitel is my hotel of choice when on business in London. From the attentiveness of the reception staff to the comfort of the rooms together with its perfect location makes it an obvious choice for me.

As soon as you say your name they welcome you back. There is always a note on the table. The room is always perfectly presented.

When I have come as a guest on a trip for pleasure, to the theatre or dinner, the welcome is always the same - perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
We are truly happy to hear that you will keep coming over to Sofitel London St James when travelling to this magnificent city.

We look forward to welcoming you with our undivided attention.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Excellent hotel in a great location. Very near theatres, shops and two minutes away from Piccadilly Circus tube station. Friendly helpful staff, immaculately clean and comfortable beds. Great selection for breakfast. Deserves its five star rating.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you very much for all your compliments regarding our high level of service with friendliness and helpfulness.

I can also tell that Sofitel Luxury Hotels has once again achieved its goal thanks to MyBed. This unique bed system which takes you to sleep like onto flyffy clouds.

The Executive Chef and I were delighted in offering you this great selection of the seasonal freshiest products for breakfast.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
145 hotel reviews
Reviews in 130 cities Reviews in 130 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We keep coming back here, because of the location, the comfort and the level of service, which on this occasion was outstanding. The refined style and the peaceful ambiance of the Softiel St James suits us perfectly. For a world-class city centre hotel, the quiet elegance of the hotel is remarkable and contrasts hugely with the large, corporate rivals not so far away. A temporary sculpture exhibition crowded the lobby somewhat on this occasion and detracted from the beautiful floral displays and elegant furnishings which set the tone so well.

As noted in previous reviews, the location is superb for both shopping, sightseeing and theatre. All are within five or ten minutes walk through interesting and well populated streets, even late at night. On a fine day, St James Park is a mere step in the other direction - how much more pleasant than having to walk along (or cross) a busy dual carriageway of fast moving traffic!

On this occasion, we very much appreciated the upgrade to a junior suite. Room 336 was comfortable and very spacious, with our preferred walk in shower and all the usual amenities we enjoy. The Sofitel bed is so comfortable and On this occasion, we couldn't stay long - but there's always next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Thank you so much for emphasizing on our "outstanding" standards of service. Indeed we put a lot into delivering such level. And we do it in a genuine way. I can tell that all of our guests notice it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in London
#9 Spa Hotel in London
#12 Business Hotel in London
#19 Luxury Hotel in London
#21 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features "The Balcon" French brasserie, the St James Bar elegant cocktail bar and the sumptuous Rose Lounge. It is also the perfect place to unwind with the gym and relaxation space, So FIT by Sofitel, and So SPA by Sofitel, a new kind of Spa experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.