We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful friendly service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sofitel London St James to your Saves list
Sofitel London St James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 1,065 Hotels in London
New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I stayed at the Sofitel St James in London for 6 nights. The staff was friendly & helpful. We were made welcome immediately. Our room was luxurious with a wonderfully comfortable bed & Hermes bath products. The breakfast was included in our rate. There was a vast array of choices, all delicious. The location was fantastic. A few short blocks to Picadilly Circus tube station & walking distance to Trafalgar Square, Buckingham palace & many other areas.
We will definitely stay here again when in London.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
What a delight to read your feedback. Thank you so much!

The Executive Chef was proud to have provided you with a "delicious" breakfast as he only serves the freshiest products on the market.

We look forward to welcoming you back in our centrally located Sofitel London St James.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,951
    432
    84
    26
    12
See reviews for
543
1,121
186
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danderyd, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was a surprisetrip for my husband due to him turning 40 and I very much doubt we could be happier with this hotel. The service was impeccable and they really made my husband feel special due to his birthday which was much appreciated. The thing that was the biggest surprise were the beds. I have never ever slept in such comfortable beds. Just lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
It was our pleasure to indulge both you and your husband. The 40th birthday is an important step in one's life! We wanted it to be perfect. I am glad to hear that we have achieved our aim.

I can tell that MyBed has taken you to sleep like onto fluffy clouds. Did you know that this unique concept created by Sofitel Luxury Hotels is also available for your home online?

We look forward to welcoming you back during the year.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel on many occasions and when visiting London this is our hotel of choice. From the moment you enter the hotel you are made to feel very special and no request made is too much trouble. The front of house staff are extremely helpful and give you personal attention. Our room was upgraded and was simply amazing the furnishings were first class and the room itself was huge, the bathroom was lovely and also large, all in all very luxurious. The turndown service is excellent and when we returned to our room everything had been laid out for us and water, slippers etc provided. The So Bed is just amazing and extremely comfortable. Breakfast in the morning as always is great, you really couldn't ask for more and the staff were very polite and helpful.the Rose Room where you can have afternoon tea is delightful. The bar area is very nice but maybe a little on the small side although once again the staff are very polite and accommodating, they certainly know how to make a cocktail!! The Sofitel is located close to all the theatres and shops and yet is a peaceful haven from the hustle and bustle of central London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you so much for mentioning Sofitel London St James as a fabulous hotel. We love to make our guests happy!

We interact in a very genuine way with all of our guests and I can tell that they feel it, as per your feedback.

Did you know that you can also have MyBed by Sofitel Luxury Hotels for your home? Order it online.

The Executive Chef and I were truly glad to hear that you have very much enjoyed the breakfast. We proud ourselves in serving only the freshiest seasonal products on the market.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our centrally located hotel.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We had the lowest end room - booked on Hotwire for $200Cdn all-in. Very luxurious and great service. The room was very small (one queen bed took up most of the space) but was fine for us. Bathroom was nice with a rain shower. Turn down service included free bottles of Evian and bedroom slippers, etc. Room service was acceptable - food wasn't great. They treated us to cake and other treats one night as we were celebrating a birthday.
The best part of this hotel was that it was two short blocks from Piccadilly Circus underground station. This station is on the Heathrow line as well. Hotel is walking distance to the west end, shopping and all the major sights. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you for pointing out our "great service". This means a lot to us as we strive to provide the best service possible to all of our guests.

We look forward to your next visit to our centrally located Sofitel London St James.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My friend and I have just spent 3 nights in the Sofitel St. James. On previous visits to London we have stayed at the Marriott County Hall but this time we wanted somewhere a little closer to the nightlife because of it being winter, and the Sofitel is perfect for this. It's stuated on a quiet corner of Waterloo Place and Pall Mall so there's no problem with noise. It's only about 2 minutes from the National Gallery and Trafalgar Square, 2 minutes from Regents Street, 5 minutes from the Strand and the Savoy, and within 20 minutes walk of Oxford St and Covent Garden. We were able to enjoy the pleasure of strolling around the city each evening and really got to know the place. Harrods is a 30 minute walk away but that too was interesting, going along by Piccadilly, Hyde Park and Knightsbridge. Another day we walked up to Buckingham Palace, down Whitehall past No. 10 Downing St to the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben, and along by the London Eye and the Thames. All the big shows are nearby; for example, Phantom of the Opera is showing just around the corner from the hotel in Her Majesty's Theatre, Haymarket, and there are hundreds of great bars and restaurants in the area, so as a romantic getaway spot it's ideal. The hotel itself is beautifully appointed. It used to be a bank and has a beautiful facade and a very elegant interior. The restaurant is beautifully laid out. The staff in the hotel are the most pleasant I have ever encountered, and one is made to feel welcome and special from the moment of arrival. The hotel is extremely good value for money - I was able to book a lovely big double room for cheaper than the lowest rate at Marriott County Hall. While we were there, there was an exhibition of bronze sculptures dotted around the hotel's foyers and corridors, and it lent a very special atmosphere to the place. If you want to impress the lady in your life you'll have a hard job finding a better hotel in London for even twice the price. I couldn't fault it, and my friend (who stays in hotels all over the world over 300 nights a year) was equally impressed. We will certainly go back again the next time we're in London.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
I thank you for praising so much Sofitel London St James. I am truly glad to hear about your enchantment.

Our utmost reward is to read positive feedbacks about our high standards of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in London
#8 Spa Hotel in London
#10 Business Hotel in London
#18 Luxury Hotel in London
#22 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features "The Balcon" French brasserie, the St James Bar elegant cocktail bar and the sumptuous Rose Lounge. It is also the perfect place to unwind with the gym and relaxation space, So FIT by Sofitel, and So SPA by Sofitel, a new kind of Spa experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Despegar.com, Otel, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.