We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and pleasant stay...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London St James

Save Saved
You added Sofitel London St James to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel London St James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique breakfast
Ranked #20 of 1,073 hotels in London
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Perfect location and pleasant stay...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

If you want to stay very central in London in hotel with great service and cozy rooms, Sofitel is a good option. Nicely decorated and pleasent atmosphere and rooms have what you need, but fairly small. There is a small but acceptable gym and a nice breakfast is served in stylish grand restaurant! Our compliments to the staff, that are very service minded :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Indeed our central location is perfectly convenient for leisure as well as business purposes.

I will pass your praise on to my whole team regarding our high level of service as it will serve as an encouragement to keep on providing those standards.

A bientôt,

Corinne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,842
    406
    82
    26
    11
See reviews for
503
1061
181
368
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel in very handy location. First class staff and service.
My room was spotless, bed comfortable, everything working, what more can you ask for?
I am returning to London in the new year and this hotel will definitely be my too choice.

Oh and a fab selection of wine!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for pointing out so many positive aspects of Sofitel London St James.

We then look forward to welcoming you back for New Year's Eve!

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed here for one night as were getting married across the road at the IOD . So it was an excellent location for us to get ready and then come back to after the wedding. The Sofitel was very accommodating by allowing us into the room early which made things a lot easier. The room was clean and spacious with good facilities. The bed was super comfortable and we ended up having a view of the IOD from our room which was nice.

We didn;t try the breakfast or the any of the facilities as we were busy with other stuff.. There is free internet which is great, as all to often hotels try to charge extra for this.

The room was expensive but that sort of goes with the location of the venue being right in the centre of London. So if you can afford it you would be hard pushed to find a better base from which to see London from.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Once again congratulations! A lot of happiness for all those years together to come!

We were truly glad to welcome you and we hope to do so at many other occasions.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Had a really good three nights at this Sofitel, well placed in the centre of London. It is in a beautiful old bank building. Slight problem with the room on arrival - the bed was right up against a wall so you could only enter from one side however this was rectified by moving us to another better laid our room. Got 3 nights for 2 so felt the price was pretty good for this level of hotel. Top marks for all of the staff but especially those in the cracking hotel bar who serve exceptional quality cocktails (try the caiparinhas) - it was really buzzing in the evenings. Would definitely stay again - hopefully in 2014.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
I thank you for making me feel so proud of my whole team.

Indeed we provide high standards of service in a genuine way. As it comes from the heart it goes to the heart!

I will cascade your praise to the team and especially to the St James Bar's.

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bochum, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Nice place to be for a short stop in London.
We came for a gig and stayed pretty luxurious at the hub of the world.
The hotel is close to almost every single sightseeing place.
Buckingham Palace, Horse Guards, Trafalgar Square, the Thames, Leicester Square, Picadilly Circus, Regent Str. are all within easy walking distance. The rest could be reached via Tube.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
First of all I hope that the concert you have attended was fantastic!

Indeed our centrally located hotel is extremely convenient for both business and leisure stays.

Please don't wait for another gig to come over. We are so close to Germany...

We look forward to your next stay.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I booked a stay for my parents at the Sofitel St James to celebrate my Mother’s 70th birthday. I spent a lot of time researching hotels with a good location and this hotel is bang in the centre of things, although tucked away from the actual hustle and bustle. The booking team were fantastic and promised that they would take great care of my parents. It appears that they did exactly that. My parents have raved about their stay. Upon arrival they were upgraded to a fantastic room much to their appreciation.

During their stay my parents said that the staff were amazing, very attentive without being overbearing. They took my mother a celebratory birthday dessert to her room which she said was divine. They also thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast, which my father reported served the best black pudding he’d ever tasted.

My parents could not recommend this hotel enough, and I’m looking forward to staying there too in the very near future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We thank you to have booked Sofitel London St James for the celebration of your mother's 70th birthday. It is quite an occasion! This is the reason why we have genuinely pampered your parents.

We truly like our guests and they can feel it.

We now look forward to welcoming you.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park 
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in London
#8 Spa Hotel in London
#9 Business Hotel in London
#17 Luxury Hotel in London
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features "The Balcon" French brasserie, the St James Bar elegant cocktail bar and the sumptuous Rose Lounge. It is also the perfect place to unwind with the gym and relaxation space, So FIT by Sofitel, and So SPA by Sofitel, a new kind of Spa experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Agoda, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.