We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel London St James

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel London St James to your Saves list
Sofitel London St James
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England (St. James's)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SOFITEL CHIC GOURMANDISE
Ranked #22 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,153
    459
    91
    28
    15
See reviews for
602
1,226
198
415
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My family and I spent a week at this lovely hotel and liked it very much. With 14 people, half of whom were young kids, service and warmth were important. Led by an " all world " concierge desk, the service was impeccable. Nice rooms, lobby, bar, etc.

Room Tip: Ask for a good window
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We genuinely love to indulge all of our guests and children are also our guests. We do our utmost to have our guests experience magnifique moments at Sofitel London St James. I am truly pleased to hear that we have achieved our aim.

I thank you for especially mentioning the very knowledgeable service provided by our Concierge members. Indeed they are a true asset to the hotel.

We hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back soon.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Very good service, obliging staff and a killer location make this an excellent choice for the business traveller to London. Rooms are a little on the small side but the hotel is well run & has nice touches like the Espresso machines in each room. Internet though is a bit of a disaster , with patchy availability and poor speeds for the Free version. Faster speeds will cost £15/day which is pretty outrageous in this day & age.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the inner courtyard in which case you'll look onto office spaces with very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I am extremely pleased to hear that you have so much enjoyed your stay at Sofitel London St James.

Indeed we do our utmost to have our guests have a magnifique experience.

Regarding Internet, our free version is enough to check your e-mails and to browse websites however you would have to upgrade if you wish to download movies.

I look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Definately an above average hotel as it has all you need in a fast moving city. Good hotel for business but also for pleasure had a great location would come back soon again.
Was certainly an expensive for the class it is in, but could find deals available on the net after a few searches.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Thank you for pointing out that we are suitable for both leisure and business purposes stays. We are indeed centrally located and guests are pleased to enter into our haen of peace after a long day.

We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed for a couple of nights last month having checked it out a year ago. My previous stay in London was at the Corinthia - if budget is not a concern Cornithia is definitely better, but price there has gone up a lot since summer 2011 - understandable after a year with really good reviews. Sofitel is one notch lower in room quality etc, but for value is still very good.

My room was comfortable and decent size for London -around 27-28 metres. Overlooked an office building, so not exactly one for views, but it meant it was very quiet. Rooms are quite elegant but neutral enough that it should be ok for most tastes. Breakfast was very good - excellent Eggs Benedict - and that is comparing to Cornithia, One Aldwych, and Connaught.

the suites have been recently done up and are very good.

I also had dinner in the Brasserie one evening which was also very good.

Front desk and concierge service was very good.

Location - good for the city as you avoid the Piccadilly traffic and still good for theatres and shops.

Overall, a good, reliable choice - suitable for holidayers and business people which do not find hotels further west convenient.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I am thankful to you for this review full of praise about Sofitel London St James.

I am pleased to hear that we have met your expectations in terms of services all over the hotel being at Front Desk, Concierge, or at our restaurant The Balcon.

We look forward to your next visit.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for one night and initially having baulked at the price of the room, I soon realised that it was worth it. We paid 365 pounds including breakfast for one night. The location is very central, a short walk to Trafalgar square and Buckingham Palace, Pall Mall.
The room was quite spacious for a London hotel but amazingly clean both the room and bathroom. The bed was really comfortable with beautiful sheets.
We had drinks in the bar and was looked after really well by the bar staff, the atmosphere very spacious but intimate too.
Breakfast in the morning was a nice affair with a good selection either buffet style or A la carte.
Staff were very friendly all the way through and made us feel like we could have been somewhere in France!
Would definitely go back for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Indeed our central location is quite an asset. Both our leisure and business guests enjoy it.

I am glad to hear that we know how to look after our guests as we strive to provide the highest standards of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back and not only for a special occasion.

A bientôt,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for a few days as a stop over on the way to the Caribbean.

It is in a great location - very close to the tube station and within walking distance to Soho, tourist attractions etc. The hotel itself is lovely and the rooms very comfortable, if not a tad small. The staff are all very friendly and the spa is great.

Note: we stayed in January 2011 not January 2012

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis_Dupart, General Manager at Sofitel London St James, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Indeed our central location is one of our assets and I thank you for pointing this out in your feedback.

Our So-SPA has also won the Condé Nast Traveller Readers’ Spa Awards 2011 – Best UK Hotel Spa & Top 25 Worldwide.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel London St James when you next visit London.

Au revoir,

Denis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel London St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel London St James

Address: 6 Waterloo Place, London SW1Y 4AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in London
#9 Family Hotel in London
#17 Business Hotel in London
#20 Luxury Hotel in London
#24 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel London St James 5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel London St James lies discreetly at the very heart of London. Created in a magnificent grade II listed building, the 183-room hotel boasts accommodation to suit every taste. The hotel features "The Balcon" French brasserie, the St James Bar elegant cocktail bar and the sumptuous Rose Lounge. It is also the perfect place to unwind with the gym and relaxation space, So FIT by Sofitel, and So SPA by Sofitel, a new kind of Spa experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel London St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel St James London Hotel London
Accor St James London
Sofitel London St James England
London Sofitel St James

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel London St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.