We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of the attic rooms in the summer!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Airways Hotel Victoria London

Save Saved
You added Airways Hotel Victoria London to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Airways Hotel Victoria London
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   29-31 St. George's Drive | Victoria, London SWIV 4DG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF BEST RATE
Ranked #759 of 1,054 Hotels in London
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beware of the attic rooms in the summer!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

When we checked in we were told our room was on the fourth floor and there is no elevator. We had to go up 8 flights of stairs (81 steps) to get to our floor. We couldn't help but notice the bad overall image of the hotel as the carpet had holes in and was stained. We were in the attic and due to the July heat the room was stifling! There was only a tiny window and no air-con. The room was very small.

We tried to have a shower but there was no hot water - however luckily it was boiling so we bared a freezing shower before going to the theatre. That night the room was almost unbearably hot so we got the hand towels wet and laid on our beds with the cold towels on us to try to get cool enough to sleep.

In the morning we were very disappointed with the breakfast. It was in the basement, in a tiny room with lots of people crammed at the same table. The was only 3 cereals, 2 juices, a tub of yogurt and croissants. You could not move so it was all very awkward.

I would not stay at this hotel again and do not feel it was worth the £110 we paid for one night.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    92
    156
    90
    148
See reviews for
112
125
65
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Good things:
a. Nice location, walking distance to the Buckingham Palace, the Big Ben and almost all of the attractions. There are really good restaurants around. The warwirck was the best one, and is close to the Victoria station.
b. Staff was very friendly. If you need a taxi to go to the airport, arrange a shuttle pick up with the staff, it is 14 euros per person.
c. The water in the shower was perfect.
d. Free wifi, and worked good.
Bad thins:
a. No air condition.
b. No elevator.
c. Bathroom really small, tiny shower.
d. The first day they put us in the basement, totally horrible, I was scared of being there, it was dark, no space at all, really tiny and depressing. They changed us room the next day.

Room Tip: No basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Room dated, no lift, carpet should be replaced- tatty and several large holes
No hot water- tried the basin taps and shower in several positions and over 5 mins- just cold- refused to give any money back- joke of an hotel- should be an essential to have hot water- they will no doubt disagree- but I tried several positions on the shower for a long time and several times if the day- just cold water
Tried the basin taps- again just cold
Don't go there if you need to shower and/ or need hot water in the basin

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Oh dear, thread bear carpet with holes, no service at all. breakfast what can I say . Un drinkable coffee, cups but no saucer, plastic trays . It was the worst place I ever stayed. We had a twin room and the wardrobe was wedged at the end of the bed and didn't open.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The worst hotel I have ever stayed in. The room was basic but there was dark hairs in my bed and bathroom. I am blonde so not mine!!!!!!!
No air conditioning. Standard of cleanliness was appalling. Tried to speak to General Manager who was not available on arrival , during my stay, or on departure .
One week on tried to send pics of to GM. - still no response or apology

Room Tip: Rooms basic , but my bathroom was disgusting! Hairs found in my bed and bath which were not mine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

As soon as my friend and I approached the Hotel there was a member of staff sitting outside and watched us struggle with out bags. We left a camera behind on our bed and this went 'missing'. Not good!

Room Tip: Be prepared that the breakfast 'room' may be packed and has little space to manoeuvre around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

On the 2nd or 3rd floor? That's alright, just a few flights of very steep stairs to go down for breakfast helping build up an appetite and once you've had your croissants and/or cereals you can burn it off by returning to the room.
Simple fact is I'm a healthy(ish) young(ish) male(ish) and the stairs were a quite a struggle when I had to carry my girlfriend up the stairs when she hurt her knee. So ask for a ground or level 1 room.
Other than that it's decent enough it's in Central London, close to the coach station, tube station and rail station and as we all know location is key on city visits! If you moan about a standard b&b that's clean and serves food that won't kill you, you're not doing the city break right.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airways Hotel Victoria London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airways Hotel Victoria London

Address: 29-31 St. George's Drive | Victoria, London SWIV 4DG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #759 of 1,054 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Airways Hotel Victoria London 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Airways Hotel Victoria London Looking for cheap budget hotels in London? The Airways Hotel may be the answer to your search. We are a family run budget hotels in Central London offering affordable accommodation with quality service.Our en suite rooms are clean and comfortably furnished, and our staff are well trained to ensure they can help you with whatever you may need and are eager to help. Although we are a cheap central London Hotel we have not compromised our quality of service.Our rooms have:Complimentary “Cole & Lewis of London” toiletriesWorld renowned “Hypnos” beds in every room15-22” Flat screen Digital TVTelephoneHairdryerHospitality Tray with tea and coffeeComplimentary Continental breakfastFree Wi-Fi24 hours ReceptionThis bed and breakfast hotel in London is conveniently located in the central area of Victoria. The Airways Hotel is 7-10 minutes walk from Victoria Station, which has links by Underground, Bus, Train and Coach to all parts of London, including tourist sites, and places as far as mainland Europe. Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, London Eye and Harrods are all within 20-30 minutes walk of the Hotel and if you use public transport you are within 40 minutes of all of London’s tourist attractions, including Tower of London, and airports (Heathrow, Gatwick and Luton).This budget hotels in central London is housed in a mid Victorian building in a well conserved residential part of London.The Airways Hotel is the answer for tourist and business travellers looking for a cheap central London hotel in a quiet and safe residential setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Airways Hotel Victoria London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airways Hotel Victoria London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airways Hotel Victoria London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.