We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to the Royal Albert Hall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure London Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure London Kensington to your Saves list
Mercure London Kensington
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1a Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JJ, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #406 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    403
    194
    75
    37
See reviews for
149
366
99
170
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in a Privelige room for 3 nights, good facilities and space. We arrived early and Were warmly welcomed with a hot cup of tea whilst Alessia tried to see if she could find us a suitable room. We then decided to go for a quick trip to Portabello Rd, and recived a text to confirm our room was ready. The Staff were alays welcoming, polite and helpful. You could tell that they enjoyed their work. The location is good close to 2 tube stations, good value restaurants and pubs. This would be a great hotel for 1st time visitors to London.

Room Tip: Splurge on the King size room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Management Office at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Darryl R,

Thank you so much for the great feedback and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Warm regards and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Jalila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Overall we were impressed by this hotel and this largely down to the excellent quality of staff, from room attendants, to cleaners, bar staff and receptionists etc, who all worked very hard and were warm, welcoming and professional as is standard of the Mercure brand. Comfortable, clean and yes the rooms are small but this is common for London and this is made very clear on their website. The only reason we are not giving 5 out of 5 was the sound insulation between the rooms, although they did provide earplugs which meant no rude awakenings in the night. It seems the bigger rooms though are better soundproofed going by what others have said and their size might make it worth the extra money.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Management at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear DollyBirdScotland,

Many thanks for your feedback and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you another time,

Kind regards,

Jalila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights to visit Kensington Palace and museums. Perfect location for both. All of the staff we met were friendly. The room was clean, and set out well. Fridge in room was a nice touch and contained free soft drinks, it was also silent. Breakfast had a large selection of cold and hot food, something for everyone. We had the cooked food and it was hot and fresh and the bacon was lovely! We were at the front of hotel and did not hear traffic noise, although ear plugs were provided if you found it a problem. The only thing I would say is that there was only a small amount of tea, coffee and milk in room. There was a note to inform us that we could ask for fresh milk, but we were near Sainsburys, so we just got our own supplies (handy to have fridge).

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Management at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Suzanne D,

Thank you so much for your review and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Jalila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for three nights recently on a business trip. Very good location, a 10-minute walk from Earl's Court tube station and also close to many restaurants and pubs as well as being handy for the Natural History Museum. The room was exceptionally clean and had all the basics needed. It was also very quiet, despite overlooking the Cromwell Road. The only downside was that I couldn't open the window to let fresh air in. The staff were all very welcoming and at £70pppn it was a bargain for London.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linforth, Management at Mercure London Kensington, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear MattR,

We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Jalila
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Kensington

Address: 1a Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park , Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#269 Luxury Hotel in London
#280 Business Hotel in London
#342 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We currently have off site parking next to the hotel at £30 a day.(T&C- Subject to availability) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Mercure London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure London Kensington Hotel London
Mercure London Kensington England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure London Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.