We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“can do better for the same price” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 37 Collingham Place London

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added 37 Collingham Place London to your Saves list
37 Collingham Place London
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 Collingham Place | Earls Court, London SW5 0QF, England (South Kensington)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #953 of 1,049 Hotels in London
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“can do better for the same price”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

no table and only one chair in the room for 4 .
windows not correct for the noise
damaged furnitures
+ 2% if you don't payed by cash, it' s not precised
bathroom is correct but no towel rail

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    26
    31
    56
See reviews for
53
20
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I needed a cheap, convenient place for travel with my two younger (20-something) brothers. So, this place ticked all those boxes.

The staff was friendly enough, but you do have to pay an extra amount to use a credit card, which I wish I had known in advance. After all, if you're looking for cheap, every pence counts!

The location is perfect: just a short block away from the Earl's Court tube station and not too far from the Gloucester Rd. station. There are shops and markets close by, as well as a few pubs and restaurants.

However, the room (top floor quad) was not very clean (dusty, dirty carpets, dingy bathroom - BUT the beds and linens were clean) and the furniture and fittings were very run down. The bathroom is small, by any standard and the faucets were all a bit of a nightmare to use (very tricky to get the water temperature correct, ie, neither scalding nor freezing). The beds were not comfortable (mine was sloping at an angle) and the pillows were thin, flat discs.

There is a small "kitchenette" area with sink, microwave and kettle, but the kettle cord doesn't reach the outlet, so you have to boil the water with the kettle on one of the beds. No sponge or soap to wash the few cups provided. Fridge was adequate.

It is a shame, because it really is a great location (especially if you are heading off to Heathrow at the end of your stay - just hop on the Earl's Court Piccadilly line to your terminal). Just a little care for the room and better repaired furnishings would do wonders. I didn't expect pretty or fancy - just serviceable and clean with basic comforts (like a real pillow).

If you are on a budget in London, I wouldn't exactly say "stay away" if you are not fussy about the things I've mentioned above. I was disappointed in the room, but it got the job done for a decent price. The TV and satellite worked well, as did the wi-fi. I'd probably look for another option if I was in London and looking for cheap, convenient place again.

If you are young and on a budget, this place is probably fine. Just bring your cash to pay for the room!

I'm giving an "average" instead of "poor" for the great location, kitchenette, price for quad room and friendly & available staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa BArbara
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

As I write this I am sitting in a sad excuse for a hotel room, my two kids are watching videos on the ipad because as others have stated the satellite hardly ever works and when it does there is no Nick Jr or other kid channels. There is also the usual cheap hotel issue of the "free wifi" cutting out all the time. But the TV is the only thing that looks new in this place. Our shower is simply black molded grout holding together cracked tiles. I mean just appalling and there is a hole in the tile wall, can't imagine the mold building up behind the wall. The shower is also in a closet literally. With 4 people we can hardly move in this "quadruple" room (what a joke) and if you are a big guy forget about the bathroom. I could go on and on, smashed bugs, all manner of fingerprints and filthy stains on the walls and baseboards, a filthy mattress underneath clean sheets (no mattress cover, just a sheet), stained pillow stuffings (mine smells like urine) and stained bedspreads, broken cabinet doors, dust and dirt galore on window sills, corners of the room. Paint peeling everywear except the three walls they painted each a different color. Toilet doesn't flush properly you litterally can't get a poo turd to go down! I feel like I am in a cave and praying there are no bedbugs to crawl into our suitcases and ruin the rest of our trip and lives. Yes, the man at front desk is more than nice, but I am always suspicious of people who are overly nice, saying they love Americans. I feel like it is being shined on because they know this place is a dump and are hoping we won't complain. We did ask for the room to be cleaned two days ago when we arrived and the shower had dirt and hair in it. Still has not been cleaned. I had to go out and buy our own toiet paper and bathroom cleaner. Luckily the vacuum cleaner fell out of the unlocked cleaning supply closet that is outside our room door so I was able to do a covert job with it. We also asked to be moved into a different room and they guy said he would ask the manager and never got back to us. All in all we are paying $160 a night for what is at best a youth hostel, but really worse than that. The only redeeming feature is that is it conveniently located. Oh yes and if you book through a website and plan to pay with a credit card upon arrival they will charge you and extra 3% for credit card use AND take your passport number which always makes me suspicious. Just don't go here and be miserable and disappointed unless you are a backpacking teenager who doesn't care. PS maybe you could get lucky with the room with the new bathroom, but i would not take the chance because the alternative is well just very bad luck indeed.

Room Tip: don't go in the basement rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I only can say that it is a place where you can feel at home. Very nice room, tv, freeser, microwave, free wifi internet, very good shower and very nice staff. The Manager, Mr, Mina great professional. Very well locate to visit any part of London as they have beside Earl Court Metro Station and Bayswater Metro Station from you can reach any museum, gallery of art, etc. Very clean and I no listen noise of car as the hotel is located in a secondary road.
Very good place to stay for the money the room cost.

Room Tip: Room number 5 is the one I was with a double bed and single bed. No especting see the beach from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We stayed in a room for 4 people and it was very small, we couldn't even open properly our baggages. They have some really old (broken and useless) furniture at the room. We didn't take the risk to let food at the fridge, it didn't even closed properly. I could see, through some open doors, better rooms, so I can't say all the rooms are like this. Internet doesn't work in our room, we had to stay at the reception to access internet. The good point about it is the location, very near to the tube and near several stores, restaurants, fast foods and all. People at the reception were nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

I chose 37 Collingham Place because of its location one block from the Earls Court tube entrance and Earls Court exhibition. I arrived in London around 13:00hrs and made my way to the hotel where I met George, the receptionist upon my arrival. He allowed me to relax while catching my breath and then promptly checked me in. My room was on the second floor, technically I would say the third floor, and George was kind enough to carry my bags to my room for me.
He opened the door and as he went downstairs to retrieve my second bag, I checked out the room. I noted that the TV remote didn't work and asked for batteries. I was told that the remote wasn't working and I would have to manually adjust the TV. The way I see it, I just spend 300 pounds in cash on the room, go out and buy the 15 pound remote.
The hotel is on a street of renovated London row homes. As you walk to the hotel, you notice the expensive cars in the driveways and the wonderful architecture of these magnificent houses. Sadly, they are far from finished with this hotel.
My room looked like a frat house dorm from my college years or a porn set out of the late 70's early 80's with its purple wall, cheap artwork, broken furniture, and leopard spotted bedspread. I could hear the music in the back of my mind, "Bow chick a wow wow" as I shook my head in dismay. The rational side of me said, "300 pounds for five nights" although in retrospect, there were at least a dozen other hotels in the same price range with more reviews.
I checked the bathroom and noticed that it was new, having been completely redone. Proof was in the manufacturer's stickers that were still on the sink. This bathroom was small by even Eastern European standards and I had to ask for soap, shampoo, and toilet paper. To shave, I had the choice of holding up the mirror or sitting on the throne. In a bathroom this small, common sense would dictate that you put a soap and shampoo dispenser on the shower wall. You hang a shelf upon the toilet for paper and accessories. For those over 5'6" tall, I would recommend another hotel as you will not feel comfortable in this bathroom. Half your body will be positioned out of the bathroom when you answer the call.
The TV had satellite issues the entire week and if I wasn't feeling under the weather, I wouldn't have cared, but I would have liked to have watched TV but all I got to look at were the TV power cord and cable cord running down the wall from the TV to the outlet with the no signal message on the monitor.
In May, I didn't think London could get that cold but night were very chilly. The room had a space heater to accomplish the job of warming the room. I must say it came in more than handy as I could roast me marshmellows over it as well. Seriously, a space heater.....I could see the headline now. Man trips over space heater in middle of night in London hotel. Dies of smoke inhalation. I am sure the apology letter to me Mum and Pop would be great. Buy an electric baseboard heater and attach it to the wall. I gave you 300 pounds in cash.
On a bright side, George in reception is first class. He greeted me with a friendly smile, was helpful with my luggage, carrying it up himself and letting me relax. He also volunteered useful imformation about the surrounding area. If they can fix the problems with the facilities, they will have a first class establishment.

As the owner or manager of this property, I would have made it a point to let me know as a guest that the room that I was placed in was not normally in use and I would be moved as soon as the next room opened up the next day. This room should have been ready with white walls, appropriate artwork, room darkening shades, and what was addressed above.

Room Tip: This hotel is a four floor walk up and has narrow staircases. I would not recommend to the elderly o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Nice staff , great location,good prices ,tube and lots of shops , direct shatull to gatwick airpor

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 37 Collingham Place London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 37 Collingham Place London

Address: 37 Collingham Place | Earls Court, London SW5 0QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #953 of 1,049 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 37 Collingham Place London 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 37 Collingham Place London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
37 Collingham Place London England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 37 Collingham Place London, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.