We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If only all restaurants were like this one” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sappho Meze Bar

Sappho Meze Bar
9 Clapham High Street, London SW4 7TS, England
020 7498 9009
Improve this listing
Ranked #367 of 17,041 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
LONDON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If only all restaurants were like this one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I can't recommend this place highly enough - no frills but lovely atmosphere, very reasonable prices, and lots of delicious simple food. just the place for a pauper's blow out - and one that makes oner realise what can be done with a bit of hard work and imagination.

You could pay treble the price and far so much worse, especially in Clapham.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    10
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“This place is the real Greek!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Went back to Sapppho the other night after a long break (spent living in Greece). I always loved this place and was pleasantly surprised to see that it still existed and that it's prices have barely changed (if at all) in the intervening decade! As per the title, forget the fancy priced imposters, this is the real deal. Simple food, exceptionally well cooked and not off the back of a large lorry and thrown into a microwave like so many places in the UK. Perhaps you get a little less of it these days (though it is still enough) but I think the quality has actually improved over the years (whilst that in my beloved Greece has gone in the opposite direction). The owner is actually a Cypriot who lived in Athens for a number of years which distinguishes his fine food from much of the boring food that is served in contemporary Greece (well, Athens at least). Perhaps the biggest compliment I could play this place is that if it opened in Greece I think it would be a huge success. And a lot of this would be down to the charming κύριος who runs the place with paternal care, ever ready to offer the wisdom of his ancient forebears.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great budget meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

There's no menu, the waiter brings you several courses each containing multiple plates of meze - whatever the chef felt like cooking that day. We had olives and crudites, several varieties of hummus, taramasalata and tzatziki with bread; ginger mushrooms, beans; and a main course with simple chicken, pork and lamb dishes. The lamb was so tender it fell apart at a touch, and everything was tasty.

Three of us ate for £50 (3 meals, 2 beers, 1 bottled water and service included). Fantastic value, and well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing healthy food at great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Sappho Meze Bar is probably one of our favourites in the area. Since we discovered it we have been coming back several times. The restaurant does not look very attractive from the outside but do not get put off by that. The food is fantastic, and amazing value for money.
You get a vast selection of starters/meze followed by vegetarian or meat-based mains. Everything is home-made, very healthily cooked and, although the menu is fixed, is difficult to get bored of it. We must have been here 15 times in the last year and a half...
It's great for parties too, although it's recommended to book in advance as it can get pretty busy mostly at week ends! Everyone we took here simply loved it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiplake
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good value for money and great variety in one meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I simply love this place and have gone many time. It feels like home cooking in a relax setting. The owner/cook is the loveliest man and he clearly loves the place and the food he makes. Don't let the set menu put you off, with all the food you are serve you are bound to find something you will like!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sappho Meze Bar also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Sappho Meze Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sappho Meze Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.