We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steak.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roxie Steak - Earlsfield

Roxie Steak - Earlsfield
585 Garratt Lane | Earlsfield, London SW18 4ST, England (Formerly Fyre Steak & Wine Cafe)
0208 944 9602
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #481 of 17,039 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great steak.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went for impromptu Friday night supper. Restaurant was packed. We hadn't booked but they suggested we could eat at the bar if we wanted to. Delicious squid starter followed by fillet steak (less that £12!) and a Thai beef salad, which had a rather overpowering dressing, but was tasty. Cheese to finish with,which was a generous platter.
A great local restaurant and will certainly book a table and come back. Very friendly service too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    46
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely Birthday Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I were here for his birthday, having visited for mine in December. I can't fault Fyre. The food is always consistently very good, as isthe service. We would recommend the Matiz malbec which is lovely andvery reasonable. we're lucky to live in walking distance and will definitely be back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Having lived in Earlsfield for over 2 years I stumbled across this place one evening, and I can't wait to go back!

Steak was excellent, the meal overall was delicious, and absolutely amazing value! It's a real find to come across a place in London where you can get really good steak without the pretentiousness and high price.

Small downsides - service a little slow, and was a bit toasty inside!

Tip - ask for your steak slightly more done than you would normally like it as they tend to come out slightly less done than requested.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Tender & tasty steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Perfectly cooked, tender & delicious steaks, relaxed ambience and friendly service. Restaurant area is fairly small, so you feel like you are sat right on top of next table ... But hey, that's London! Great wines too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great little find in my own neighbourhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This restaurant really surprised me. I've walked past it several times but as I am not a big meat eater, I didn't think to try it as the main ingredient seems to be steak. However, as my other half is a steak aficionado, we went along for our anniversary and we were very glad we did!
The front of the restaurant gives nothing away, but once inside, the ambiance is great, welcoming, cosy, yet modern. We sat at a little table close to the bar and ordered the shrimp and lime starter to share, sea bass for me and steak and a boerewors sausage for my boyfriend. The sea bass came with quite possibly the creamiest, most buttery, divine, fluffy mashed potatoes I've ever encountered and the carnivore loved his steak! We shared a very reasonably priced bottle of Cabernet Carmenere and enjoyed the whole evening. Service, great. Food, great. Location - for me? Unbeatable!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roxie Steak - Earlsfield also viewed

 

Been to Roxie Steak - Earlsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roxie Steak - Earlsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.