We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find in my own neighbourhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roxie Steak - Earlsfield

Roxie Steak - Earlsfield
585 Garratt Lane | Earlsfield, London SW18 4ST, England (Formerly Fyre Steak & Wine Cafe)
0208 944 9602
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #433 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great little find in my own neighbourhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This restaurant really surprised me. I've walked past it several times but as I am not a big meat eater, I didn't think to try it as the main ingredient seems to be steak. However, as my other half is a steak aficionado, we went along for our anniversary and we were very glad we did!
The front of the restaurant gives nothing away, but once inside, the ambiance is great, welcoming, cosy, yet modern. We sat at a little table close to the bar and ordered the shrimp and lime starter to share, sea bass for me and steak and a boerewors sausage for my boyfriend. The sea bass came with quite possibly the creamiest, most buttery, divine, fluffy mashed potatoes I've ever encountered and the carnivore loved his steak! We shared a very reasonably priced bottle of Cabernet Carmenere and enjoyed the whole evening. Service, great. Food, great. Location - for me? Unbeatable!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    41
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new york
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I eat at a different steak place in London every month with a group of friends and live very close to Fyre. The steak at Fyre isn't far off competing with some of the London based steakhouses yet prices are half to two thirds of what you would pay in some places. I walk home past the restaurant a lot and it's always heaving (even busy on Mondays and Tuesday)m which is a great sign. Decent service and nice atmosphere.

Great atmosphere and terrific value - go, you'll be surprised.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Local Juicy Steak House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Considering its slightly obscure location, this place manages to be fully booked most of the week. The reason is simple - succulent juicy steaks cooked to perfection time and time again supported by an affordable and interesting wine list, mainly South African but, hey why not - it works a treat every time. Service is friendly and the place has a buzz. My favourite local steak house by a mile.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited Fyre in Earlsfield last night for my boyfriend's birthday, after booking a table based on a friend's visit and other great reviews - and we were not let down. Fyre was heaving so I was pleased to have booked a table during the week and a busy restaurant is always a great sign.

Whilst the menu is not extensive, the selection was fantastic and they clearly cook their dishes to perfection. We both enjoyed a regular ribeye steak with side orders and a dessert - awesome! The steak was medium rare, but a little too rare for me. However asking to have it put back on the grill was no problem.

A great atmosphere, wine selection and fantastic steak dishes with no pretense of posh city-type steakhouses. Such a good experience for a non eating steak girl like myself, I highly recommend Fyre to anyone who's in town. Definitely a must :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best steak ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

There is not much more to say than this was a great evening. The steak was fantastic, I had the ribeye which was very reasonably priced and came perfectly cooked (rare). There was a good wine selection with a broad price range, tailored to all. The service was excellent and the waitress staff were attentive all night and couldn't do enough for you. They do two sittings an evening and it was loud and busy, but I felt this added to the atmosphere and the evening. I would strongly recommend that anyone who likes good steak, good wine and a good evening, go here.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roxie Steak - Earlsfield also viewed

 

Been to Roxie Steak - Earlsfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roxie Steak - Earlsfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.