We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delight in Greenwich” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Pea

Green Pea
92 Trafalgar Road, London SE10 8NB, England (Greenwich)
+44 20 8858 9319
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 17,879 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Greenwich
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delight in Greenwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Green Pea is not the easiest or most obvious place to find, principally because it is within a larger pub with a different name, and the signs for the restaurant are not particularly large. In effect, the Green Pea is in the side saloon.
It was the first time that the chef has ever drawn up a chair at our table, sat down and then recited the evening’s menu, describing the appeal of each item. Tom is certainly unique and his enthusiasm for his food is compelling. It was difficult making a choice as to what to have, but we ended up on the fish and chips, and my friend had the fabled lamb shanks.
The lamb shanks were grand as the meat fell away from the bone as others have described. My friend also said that the gravy was sublime. You could taste the freshness of my fish.
For dessert we chose a lemon tart and a bakewell tart which we then split and shared. Both were homemade.
Both Tom and his Polish waitress were enthusiastic and attentive, but they leave you to enjoy your meal in peace in contrast to other establishments where you are always aware of hovering waiters.
Both my friend and I have agreed that we must return when we shall try the meat pies for the main course as they did sound wonderful.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    28
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You won't be disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I chose this restaurant for lunch on Friday based on 100% excellent score on Trip Adviser (at the time of looking). It more than lived up to expectations! Surprisingly, we were the only customers which felt a little strange at first but Tom's warm welcome and enthusiastic description of the menu soon put us at our ease. I had the excellent steak and ale pie with lashings of gravy, my wife the chicken and ham pie. Both came with carrots, cabbage, broccoli and choice of potato either mash, sauteed new potatoes or hand cut chips. As my wife had shown interest in the way Tom prepares the ham he explained that you couldn't really tell what the it tasted like in the pie so we were presented with a plateful to take home with us to try. It was wonderful!
The portions were generous (unfortunately leaving no room for pud!), the food obviously freshly prepared and beautifully cooked. Service was warm and attentive without being intrusive.
Value for money exceptional. Drinks also comparatively inexpensive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a lazy Sunday afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Lovely relaxed atmosphere made even more special by Tom's lovely sense of humour! The food is wonderful - on both visits I have had roast beef which simply melts in the mouth. Certainly a lovely way to spend a lazy Sunday afternoon!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The green pea is like no were I have been before. Tom the chef is amazing the way he describes his food makes you want to try everything on the menu. He doesn't have a printed menu it's all in his head. He loves food and cooks it all perfectly and it's irresistible. The portions are more than ample with plenty of gravy. The desserts were all gorgeous and it was difficult to decide which to have. Best to book as he was really busy when we were there and will only take so many at any one time.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've been here around a dozen times over the last few years and the food and service is always very good. Most recently, I had a delicious veggie fajita dish (complete with a huge, and piping hot, portion of crispy roast potatoes, broccoli, carrots, cabbage and gravy) while one of my friends had the roast beef and another had steak and ale pie (both also served with potatoes and veg). They also do a decent cooked breakfast/brunch.

Prices are very reasonable (£8-9 a main) particularly given the portion sizes and it's all freshly prepared.

Tom the owner is quite a character and always makes his customers feel welcome when he explains what's on the menu.

There is also some cool artwork on the walls, and a Sunday paper or two lying around if you want to chill out on the sofas after lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Pea also viewed

 

Been to Green Pea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Pea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.