We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and quiet room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental London Westminster

Save Saved
You added InterContinental London Westminster to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental London Westminster
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22-28 Broadway, London SW1H 9JS, England (Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 1,073 hotels in London
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good location and quiet room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

First stay in the IC Westminster. Hotel is located well and the room was a good size although our room had no view other than roofs and air conditioners.
We opted to upgrade to club level which was OK ,but no bubbly at all on offer. This surprised us as the IC Park Lane always offers Moët during the happy hour.
Although we have no complaints of note we still prefer the IC Park Lane and in future will return there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at InterContinental London Westminster, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your loyalty to the InterContinental brands and for staying this time at the InterContinental London Westminster. I understand how important it is to have the best view however the hotel is located next to high rise buildings. On your next stay kindly make a note in your booking of your request and we will do our best to allocate you on a better view. We recommend for you to try our Unlimited Champagne Afternoon Tea in the main lounge for bottomless champagne. Looking forward to have you again.

Kind regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    657
    160
    35
    13
    4
See reviews for
130
388
43
146
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Needing a night away without kids we booked this hotel. The room was clean and comfortable with a great bed although for my female taste a little too male. We did not eat in the hotel preferring to explore London and get out and about but it's location is superb and it's very close to lots of the major landmarks. I get the impression it is a hotel mainly for business and political visitors although there were a good number of tourist types in the lobby area. There is free WIFI but it's v slow and for fast efficient WIFI you have to pay £14 per 24hrs. In this day and age super fast wifi should be everywhere and either free or very inexpensive. I would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at InterContinental London Westminster, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for this commentary from your most recent stay with us at the InterContinental London Westminster. I recommend for you to visit and try our Afternoon Tea at the Emmeline's Lounge and hope this will give you a feminine feel about the hotel. We also have exciting culinary offerings from Blue Boar Smokehouse so you might want to try that as well next time. It's a shame that the WIFI connection did not meet your expectations. Nonetheless, we are very happy that you chose to stay with us and for thinking of staying with us on your future visits.

Warm regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexicali, Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Great modern hotel with a perfect central location on a quiet street, walking distance to many important attractions and you have an underground station just in front. Excellent service and fantastic rooms! Worth the stay. 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at InterContinental London Westminster, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is indeed very gratifying to learn that we were able to deliver the high level of customer service that we are renowned for. I am pleased to read how highly you have praised the location, the staff and the rooms. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again at the InterContinental London Westminster.

Kind regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grundisburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a last minute escape to London and we were so pleased that we chose to stay at the InterContinental Westminster. All of the staff we dealt were friendly, helpful and efficient. The superior room was modern, clean and well equipped with large bathroom and separate shower room and separate toilet. The room was exceptionally quiet for a London hotel - we heard no street noise and very little from elsewhere within the hotel.The turndown service (with cards indicating the next day's weather placed on the pillows) was a lovely touch. We ate in the hotel's Blue Boar restaurant on our first evening and had a delicious meal, where the waiting staff were extremely attentive. The Blue Boar bar is also well worth a visit, especially to try the beer cocktails. Breakfast was also very good, with a choice of options cooked to order. The location was perfect - just opposite St James Park tube. Lastly, for anyone with an interest in British politics, the decor in the bar and restaurant and the 'do not disturb' cards will bring a smile to your face.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at InterContinental London Westminster, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We could not be happier to read your well written feedback. Thank you for your detailed and lovely feedback. We are always pleased to hear when our guests feel extremely satisfied during their stay with us. We would love to have you return for another stay when you come to London next time and I am sure your experience will be just as great as this time.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The quality of Intercontinental properties is consistently high, and this new(er) location is no exception. The most memorable aspect of our stay was the excellent customer service we received from all of the staff members we encountered - from Reception, Concierge, porters/bellhops, to Housekeeping. I wish I had remembered to jot down their names. The rooms we had were ultra-modern, and I loved all of the lighting options. The only complaint about the room was that our shower door seemed to have a gap at the bottom, so water seeped out onto the tile. Maintenance promptly came to the room when I was away, and the next day it was better but still not full resolved. Saying that, the other room we had didn't have this issue.

The location, as others have mentioned, is ideal for sightseeing with a tube stop right across the street, and walking distance to Westminster Abbey, Parliament/Big Ben, and St. James Park/Buckingham Palace. There are also several chain coffee and sandwich shops (Starbucks, Costa, Pret a Manger) nearby. A short walk takes you to Victoria Street with several dining options.

I love how the hotel renovated a historic building (Queen Anne's Chambers), but that also means that the lobby and ground-level seating areas are limited in their size. One wonders if the toy sculpture could be removed to allow for more seating! I like the other art pieces but this one seemed cheap (plastic figurines all painted in a metallic color). Oh well, it didn't detract much from the experience, and I still consider this an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at InterContinental London Westminster, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your charming review of your stay at InterContinental London Westminster, it is always especially pleasing to hear such great feedback from our valued guests. The concierge and front of house teams are a hand-picked specialists, who pride themselves on their outstanding level of customer service and always going the extra mile to exceed our guest’s expectations. The hotel is ideally located for both the business and leisure traveller, with many of London’s top tourist sights within walking distance and is adjacent to a central transport hub. We could not wait for you to come back and create wonderful memories.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica, MS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

i have been in this very comfortable hotel last month with my family, evrything is very efficient,and clean . location is central and the have a very good restaurant
rooms are wellequipped and clean. expensive

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at InterContinental London Westminster, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear David,

Thank you for your kind review of your family stay at InterContinental London Westminster! Your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to see you again when you visit London next time.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed here for one night during my visit in london and really enjoyed it!
Warm welcome at arrival by the staff members and after check in they will show you to the room which is great if you keep in mind they have 300+ rooms!
The room is clean and modern with nice amenities and separated Shower/Bathtube! The standard room is not very big but ok for london.
We visited also the restaurant which served good quality and a great porterhouse steak! You have to try the ribs aswell they are awesome!! Definitely worth a visit!
It was a great stopover at a new hotel with caring staff always having a smile for you.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONWMHotelMgr, Executive Assistant to General Manager at InterContinental London Westminster, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments from your most recent stay. Your feedback is much appreciated and it was a pleasure to read about how much you enjoyed your experience at the InterContinental London Westminster. It is always pleasing to read great news from our most valued guests. We hope to welcome you once again on your next trip to London.

Best regards,
Liz Thompson
Executive Assistant to GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental London Westminster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental London Westminster

Address: 22-28 Broadway, London SW1H 9JS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair / St James's / Piccadilly / Green Park  , Westminster / Belgravia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in London
#25 Luxury Hotel in London
#31 Business Hotel in London
#36 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental London Westminster 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your InterContinental London Westminster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
InterContinental London Westminster England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental London Westminster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.