We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, clean comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge London Bank

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge London Bank to your Saves list
Travelodge London Bank
19 - 23 St Swithin's Lane, London EC4N 8AD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Saver rooms available
Ranked #450 of 1,065 Hotels in London
Glasgow
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Good location, clean comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights costing £189 for total stay.

We arrived at 11pm but found hotel easily from bank underground station. It is a few minutes walk to either bank or cannon street underground.

It is down a lane which we felt bit uneasy walking down late on Friday night but apart from that was an excellent location. It's also only a 5 minute walk to london bridge.

Check in was quick and we were given room 220 on 2nd floor it looked out onto the lane so we had to close window as was a bit noisy. The room itself was a good size and clean. Bed was comfortable. There is hanging space and tea/coffee facilities. I believe you can ask for hairdryer etc but none in room. It was perfect for our needs as we were hardly in room other than to sleep.

The bathroom only had a shower - no bath and the shower curtain was too short so the floor could get bit wet.

On the sat evening there was a disturbance in a room near us but that wasn't hotels fault and could have happened anywhere. The hotel did speak to us about it on check out. A phone in the room to reception would have been helpful in this situation.

We read the reviews and visited the city harvest cafe for breakfast and can also recommend. Turn left and left again when leaving travelodge and its on cannon st. There is also a macdonalds just a long road.

Overall would definitely recommend for a stay in london. Location and price for a comfortable stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    91
    37
    14
    10
See reviews for
10
108
14
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Good location for the Bank area and walking over to Borough Market and The Shard. The check in was easy with pleasant desk staff

The Room was spacious and clean which is all I need and expect when paying £35 a night.

The only downside was that there is some building work happening in the building opposite but that isn't the fault of the hotel. It may be worth asking about the quieter rooms when booking.

We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the building work on nearby building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Location is great with 2 tube stations within a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Room was clean and tidy. I would ask for a room not to the left of the elevators as there is a building work which starts approx. 7:30. The rooms can also be a bit stuffy and require a fan. I was also hoping for some toiletries like tester size shower gels and shampoo but there was only a bar of soap. However I would still recommend this hotel as it is in a great location and is clean.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Bank, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thanks for your review Kris B, we’re so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is regrettable you were disappointed with the temperature in your room, unfortunately we do not provide air conditioning in this particular hotel however in an attempt to make our customer’s stay more comfortable we do offer fans which are available from reception. Although we do not provide toiletries in the rooms, customers have the option to purchase toiletries from vending machines at reception should they need to, this allows us to continue to offer great rates in great locations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed here twice in close succession now stayed in double room and single both were spotless comfortable and functional. First time I stayed we found it difficult to find but the second time I found it much easier to find, my tip get off tube at Cannon Street (although this station closes at times) come out of main entrance cross road and about the second small side street st swithens lane is we're the hotel is located tucked away down a side alley by the don restaurant.
Receptionist was friendly and helpful and let me check in a little early, both rooms I have stayed in are exactly what you expect from travelodges not luxury but clean comfy and have all the basics for a short stay.
The bathrooms were small and I think the wash basins to small for the power of the taps, it spills over on to the floor and soaks it and the shower curtains are not the best but all in all its clean and does the job which is what matters to me.
The hotel is centrally located close to transport links to both east and west end there are numerous bars food outlets close by including the city harvest cafe which does a sizeable and tasty breakfast for a very reasonable price particularly for london.
For £53 for the double and £35 for the single on each occasion I would recommend this place and stay again if the prices were comparable.
Room tips a room over the court yard is quieter but all in all had two decent nights sleep here given how noisy central london is.
8.5/10!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Good location (2 minutes walk to two different tube stations) but shops and one tube station close on Friday evening and don't open until Monday morning. Bring your own hair dryer and toiletries as they are not supplied. A lot of building work going on so quite noisy. Could have done with a fan or air conditioning. Rooms clean but there is a lack of storage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge London Bank, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We’re happy to hear you found this hotel to be in a good location Phill A. Our standard is not to provide toiletries in our rooms although we do offer the option to purchase extra toiletries from our vending machines. Similarly, whilst we do not provide hair dryers in the rooms, they can be obtained from reception anytime, free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed one night at Travelodge Bank. Rooms have been refurbished since my last stop there last year and are very comfortable. Room was at comfortable temperature, clean and comfy. Bathroom clean and well maintained. Only gripe was kettle lid was broken but fitted. Also the cost of WiFi is in my view excessive

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Our room was fine, clean and comfortable although it got a little bit hot, but there were fans available if needed. The bed was very comfortable indeed, can’t remember a better Travelodge night’s sleep. All the members of staff we spoke with were friendly and helpful.

At the weekend there is very little open in the immediate area in the way of pubs and restaurants; however that suited us and meant that the hotel was very quiet during the night.

There are 2 or 3 underground stations very nearby and the number 15 bus, which runs between the Tower of London and Trafalgar Square, stops right opposite the entrance to St Swithin’s Lane.

We used the City Harvest café for breakfast, just round the corner, this was spot on.

All in all, we had a great long weekend and will certainly look to go back to this Travelodge in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge London Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Bank

Address: 19 - 23 St Swithin's Lane, London EC4N 8AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#346 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge London Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge London Bank Hotel London
Travelodge London Bank England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge London Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.