We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Quirky Gastro Pub off High-Street Kensington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Princess Victoria Kensington

Princess Victoria Kensington
25 Earls Court Road | Kensington, London W8 6EB, England
+44 20 7937 4534
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Princess Victoria Kensington is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,784 of 18,003 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: European, Steakhouse, International, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Welcome to Kensington's very own Princess Victoria. Just as Kensington itself is steeped in history dating back to the Doomsday Book, Princess Victoria is proudly housed in a classic early Victorian building, whose history, character and style flow through every part of our Public House and Restaurant.From the inviting ground floor bar to the comfortable first floor restaurant, wherever you find yourself in the Princess Victoria you will find an ambience which is casual yet stylish in which to enjoy lunch or dinner.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Delicious Quirky Gastro Pub off High-Street Kensington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

I love wandering London and finding new places to dine, and this is exactly what happened on Sunday when I passed by a charming pub on Earls Court Road, just off the high street, with my friends. I live in South Ken, so have tried out the pub food around there too to get the full British experience, but I must say this was unequivocally one of the best pub experiences I've ever had. It wasn't the dark, dingy, traditional venue like many other pubs. It was very friendly and warm, and the atmosphere was cool and young, with cool bar staff and amazing cocktails, all reasonably priced.

I ate the Sunday Roast - a must have if you happen to go there on a Sunday. It was moreish! One of my friends had the cheeseburger (of which I had a bite - and it did not disappoint) and the truffle fries (the only way to have fries). My sister had fish and chips. I actually regretting not getting the fish and chips - they were spectacular, really fresh and perfect thick-cut chips. I'm feeling hungry thinking about it again.

Definitely coming again! Sunday afternoons will be now Princess Victoria Sundays!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    38
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely place...but tasteless food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

Just had their Pork Belly with mashed beet root. Was dry and tasteless. Perhaps fitting in with whole food health food shops for the 'yummy mummy's' in the local area. I wasn't given seasoning by the waitress who seemed lost nor by the Justin Beiber lookalike- maybe it should be standard to give the food (or small pieces spaced out on a plate) some flavour. Mind you, the beer was great. But then that was just bought in. Nice décor though!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Hired out the private area upstairs in what turned out to be a wonderful evening thanks to the friendly staff and a great atmosphere within the pub. Good music, good food and well priced- highly recommended!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Best 3 course meal I have ever had, gorgeous setting and cosy atmosphere. Very classy but in no way pretentious. Fabulous.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Notable Notting Hill Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stopped by this fabulous little pub for lunch prior to visiting 18 Stafford Terrace (a must do while in the neighbourhood). We made reservations on toptable but it likely wasn't necessary, at least at the time of year we visited, as there was no shortage of seating.

Pretty much everything about this pub is just wonderful. Unlike many of the chain pubs in London now, The Princes Vic still has a very authentic and local feel to it. The interiors are great, perfectly cozy for a winter lunch. We chose the lamb shank and steak frites both of which were great as was the sticky toffee pudding we ended our lunch with. Despite the very good food I would have so say that the service was the highlight of our visit.

I certainly recommend the Princ Vic if you are in the area and looking for a great pub lunch or dinner.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Princess Victoria Kensington also viewed

 

Been to Princess Victoria Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Princess Victoria Kensington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.