We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wines, great food, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The 10 Cases

The 10 Cases
16 Endell Street | Covent Garden, London wc2h 9bd, England
0207 836 6801
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The 10 Cases is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,436 of 18,011 Restaurants in London
Price range: $8 - $50
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lausanne
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great wines, great food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was a great discovery. We booked only the evening before on the offchance. We were welcomed with a warm smile and the service was friendly throughout. The food was truly excellent and the soft-shell crabs were simply the best we have eaten (including a recent trip to the US East Coast!). The menu is limited but all of the dishes we had were perfect: grilled octopus, scallops (cooked to perfection), swordfish, anchovies etc. The idea of sharing a selection of small starters, "à la tapas", is a great way to start a meal. The concept of only carrying 10 cases of red wine and 10 cases of white wine is an interesting one and results in an eclectic list with some nice discoveries - both the Gavi white and Portuguese red were excellent and reasonably priced. The restaurant is a little cramped for space and it's certainly not a bistrot for a cosy, romantic tête-à-tête. But for a relaxed, reasonably priced evening out, the 10 Cases is a great address.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    58
    23
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate England
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Lovely Bistro odd winetaster?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just popped in after having an Indian meal nearby - asked if OK to just drink a bottle of wine (between 4 people) and they said yes.
The puzzle was that after ordering a bottle of wine, the waiter opened it nearby and poured a little out himself to taste it before bringing it to the table. I did not spot this but my friend did and said "You taste the wines do you"- answer "Yes, and then I ask if you want to taste too" I have never come across this before and don't particularly like it . Wine bar looks very appealing and is pleasant on the eye and comfortable. Nice place to have a drink of wine. Would have definitely given 4 stars but for the pre wine tasting . Did not eat but have given food 4 stars to not confuse the scoring.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Brilliant concept delicious lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

A great lace for lunch or dinner in covent garden. The is limited to around 5 main courses with specials but all the better for it! The concept of 10 cases of wine is great. Nothing over priced and the food is absolutely delicious.

Will definitely go again and again and again......

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincolnshire, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We expected more from this popular little bistro. Yes, it has a good selection of interesting and reasonably-priced wines, and yes, the staff are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Beyond that, there's not much to recommend it. The food was forgettable - unlike the toilets which were rank and badly in need of a refurbishment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A fantastic little 'bistrot'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We went here last night and it is super. It is very small and very 'bistroey' with large windows folded back so the tables spilled out onto the pavement. There is no menu just blackboards dotted around on the walls with the choices written on them. A nice wine list and very good service. I had anchovies (fresh not pickled) the crab tian and then we shared the chocolate mousse (a large bowl with 4 spoons!) all of which was excellent. The foie gras was also divine as was the black tapenade and the padron peppers. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The 10 Cases also viewed

 

Been to The 10 Cases? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The 10 Cases, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.