We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paddington Apts” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paddington Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Paddington Apartments to your Saves list
Paddington Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   9 Talbot Square, London W2 1TR, England (Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate )   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #327 of 650 Specialty Lodging in London
Cork, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Paddington Apts”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

When we arrived at the apartment block at 9 Talbot Square, we rang the intercom to discover that we had to walk 15 minutes to reception to check in. When we checked our confirmation e-mail, this information was not under the 'Important Information' heading, rather it was hidden under the 'Cancellation Policy' heading. We spoke to two people in the reception via the intercom and also via the cleaning lady's phone. Both were extremely unhelpful, abrupt and rude. They sent a car to take us to the reception area. We dealt with a gentleman called Mohammed who also dealt with us in a poor manner. His female colleague (a blonde girl) was equally dismissive and rude.

While we were in reception, another gentleman came in who was also staying in Paddington Apartments. He too was complaining about the very poor service, which only served to verify our initial impressions. The only polite person we encountered on arrival was the cleaning lady.

Re the apartment itself: This was very clean and modern. However, the headboard on the bed was broken, the water pressure in the shower was terrible and there was a faint smell of sewerage in the room when the window was closed. However, the bed was comfortable and the amenities in the room were adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    16
    19
    13
    13
See reviews for
17
14
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have arrived yesterday and in mi first room there are fecal water in the sower plate and in the toilet, there are a lot of problems with maintenance. After some discussion they gave another room... It seems to be ok... Only until i went to bed... I started hearing some noises... And what was my surprise... A rat eating in the thrash can...

Of course i have filled a compliance form... DON'T COME TO THIS APARTMENTS!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have requested for late check out the night before ( as advised by the receptionist) at 2:30pm and the request was immediately accepted. The joy was surely unfounded.

We returned at 2:20pm and realized that no arrangements were made and access could not be gained. Repeated calls to the reception reassured that the cleaners were still there and there would not be a problem. Instead, the door was answered by travellers who were waiting for their companion to check in at the office miles apart. They were not the only ones that we have met during our 5 nights stay who were confused and irritated by the distance between the check in office and the actual rented property.

The climax of our outrage was reached. One of our neatly packed baggage - a brand new shopping bag with 6 Krispy Kreme in its original packing - the box, a bag of crisps for subsequent consumption on the train could not be located. We were furious. The 3 cleaning ladies s(who refused to reveal their names)still in the room displayed a non-caring attitude and denied all awareness of such a distinguishable paper bag. Repeated requests for help were unanswered.

We were outraged by such denials and aloofness. They turned their discussions in their own languages. They just claimed repeatedly that they have never encountered incidents such as ours- loss of property- during their numerous years of service in this apartment ( 10+ ?).

Our demands for help were finally reluctantly and brutally answered. They finally hinted that the bag has been thrown away as rubbish!! The empty bag was subsequently dramatically re- emerged and retrieved ( uncreased and don't know from where) after our full 10 minutes cries for help. Our demands for the location of the food inside the bag were revealed by our insistence to search the rubbish bags!! Could you Imagine??!! The folded discarded EMPTY box of Krispy Kreme was of course found independently among the loads of rubbish.

The truth to me was so obvious. Who would discard rubbish by taking the contents out of its bag? out of its box? Who would bother dissecting rubbish if it is believed to be so?

The nonexistence of early check in,the broken chair, the cracked floors in the toilet, the broken door of the mal- functioning washing machine, the lack of toilet papers , the practice of no cleaning of the apartment during our stay were nothing , the value of our loss is minimal , when compared to the employees working attitudes and ethnics,when compared to such a disgusting and unbelieveable end to our stay.

Room Tip: Must stay at the above street levels for quietness and security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My rating is between average and very good. The apartment was tidy and clean, newly renovated with a very well equipped kitchen and a ok double bed. I suppose we just had bad luck of getting the room in the basement with a prison-like feeling. In addition, you wish for quiet neighbors with leaf-thin walls and roofs. We didn’t have luck with that one either. No heating in the bathroom, which I suppose is quite common in the UK. The sofa which is described as a possible bed is not very comfortable. As described by others the key must be picked up at another address. The location is the best; close to Paddington station, Hyde park and walking distance to Oxford street.

Room Tip: Avoid basement apartments!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This was a present for my girlfriend and we both like staying in apartment hotels and this was absolutely perfect for us. I booked this in October and I was a bit of a pain for the team at the hotel cause I was quite worried as it was a present... I emailed Bibi at the hotel quite a few times and she was always very helpful and sent me all the info I needed and more! (Thank you Bibi!)

The housekeeping standards were great and our room was serviced every day with clean towels and bed making, which was something that we weren't counting on, so that was a nice surprise!

I can definitely recommend this place if you fancy a nice little room with comfortable beds, big windows and good service. The only thing I can think of was that the bathroom and shower was a bit small, but good enough for one person to shower and do makeup etc.

Paddington is a lovely area to stay in and the hotel is close to restaurants, pubs, tube- bus and trainstations and a few small shops if you need milk etc.

Highly recommended!

/My and Sanna

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

It's a budget apartment. We booked three rooms quite early in 2012 & managed to get them at a cheaper rate than normal. Two rooms had washing machines that didn't work, the third just had a hole where it should have been.
One apartment was so hot, my son & his partner had to sleep with their window open...not ideal in winter, particularly as it rained all night!
Our son-in-law moved our daughter & their 9 month old to another hotel, because it was so noisy they had very little sleep.
The beds weren't overly comfy, showers soooo small, if you drop the soap, forget it!
Thin see through curtains made no difference at night, may as well have left them open.
Workman in & out at all hours & were still working in the apartment above ours until late into the night...we heard every footfall!
Even though the lift worked, I'm not sure how safe it was & very, very tiny & slow.
The only upside for the apartments, would be the staff, who did try to sort out any issues and, the area.
Remember, photos aren't always true... Do your research!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

If you are planning a romantic proposal (as my partner was) do not stay here! On arriving at the check in location about 15mins away from the apartment, we were greeted by friendly members of staff who checked us in quickly and promptly. We could not fault this part of the experience. On arriving at the apartment we were stunned by its clean, spacious appearance. The location for us was ideal as the tube was about 3-5mins away. Nothing could be faulted with this. The only but major problem we encountered was the noise from the apartments above! The noise (party) started about 8pm and continued until about 4:30am getting louder! The noise flowed from the apartment onto their balcony, onto the landing above and the hallway outside our door! Needless to say we didn't get much sleep! If you are planning to stay here please check with staff what other people are staying in the building! If it wasn't for the apartment above we would of had the most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paddington Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paddington Apartments

Address: 9 Talbot Square, London W2 1TR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bayswater / Notting Hill / Lancaster Gate 
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #327 of 650 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paddington Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Paddington Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paddington Apartments London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paddington Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.