We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Insight into Jewish London” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewish London Walking Tours

Jewish London Walking Tours
Whitechapel High Street, London , England
+44 7967 561759
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 610 activities in London
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Join me, Stephen Burstin - a tour guide for 25 years - for an experience that delights both Jewish and non-Jewish visitors to London as well as locals. Click above on Website (in blue) and see the highlights of my various tours, each one informative and entertaining for all ages from my tours in London's East End which reveal the incredible story of the Jewish community to my exciting tours featuring London's famous landmarks (with Jewish connections too) such as Buckingham Palace, Tower of London, Houses of Parliament etc. I delight in sharing my knowledge and enthusiasm for London, especially its Jewish heritage. Public tours from just £10 and reasonably priced private tours any day of the week.
Los Angeles
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Insight into Jewish London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our tour with Stephen, he is so enthusiastic and is a wealth of knowledge of the Jewish history of London. It was fun to explore an area of London we otherwise would have never visited. You don't get to see a lot of existing Jewish sites since the Bevis Marks temple is the only Jewish building in this part of the city that's still around today. However, we really enjoyed visiting the landmarks and hearing the stories of the Jews in London (the famous and infamous!) and would highly recommend this tour.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    25
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Interesting, although there are few tangible sites left to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We are Jewish and so enjoyed discovering this aspect of London. The highlight is the Bevis Marks synagogue which is completely intact from the 1700's. Otherwise it is a bit of a treasure hunt to find the few indications of Jews in this area.
Stephen is incredibly enthusiastic and does a good job of explaining the historical context of the Jewish presence. I thought the tour overly long at about 2 1/2 hours, but I think that was due to Stephen's enthusiasm and desire to show us everything possible!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A morning of learning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a very enjoyable tour with Stephen who was very informative with a great sense of humour. It lasted about two and a half hours and was worth every minute. We have been brought up in London and saw places we didn't know existed. Definitely worth doing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Wonderful morning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stephen was engaging, interesting and a good storyteller. Even though it was rainy and damp, we had a good time. My kids (14, 12, 10) were wary about taking the tour, but they enjoyed it too -- particularly hearing about historical figures in the Jewish community!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WORCESTER, MA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Jewish London by foot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We walked with Stephen for close to 3 hours and saw sites that you would walk by on a normal basis and totally miss. It was very enjoyable. Stephen was a terrific guide, very knowledgable and enthusiastic. You could tell he was very passionate about his discoveries and always seeking out new tidbits to tell his followers.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewish London Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Jewish London Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewish London Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jewish London Walking Tours to your Saves list