We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous restaurant and lovely food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen

Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen
319-321 King Street | Hammersmith, London W6 9NH, England
+44 20 8741 4328
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #331 of 17,052 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $53 - $61
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Using home-grown spices and fresh ingredients, Potli brings Indian market-style cuisine to London. Serving a huge selection of griddled starters and curries cooked in traditional clay pots, the menu features a fantastic array of tastes and aromas. Already included in the much coveted Tatler's Restaurant Guide 2013 & Michelin Guide, Potli brings the best of Indian bazaar spices from the whole of India to Hammersmith & Chiswick districts of London. Potli offers you fantastic value for money. Along with an extensive wine list, authentic Indian-spiced cocktails are popular choices. Non-alcoholic varieties are also available, as well as fresh churned yogurt drink called lassis.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Gorgeous restaurant and lovely food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Two things struck me as I walked through the door - the beautiful decor and cushions everywhere, and the smell of indian spices - lovely! The food was wonderful and the service attentive. I thoroughly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Guest Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!
It's wonderful for us to see that you thoroughly enjoyed our authentic Indian Market Kitchen dishes and our attentive service.
Just as you appreciated when walking through our door, we’ve done our best to incorporate relevant and creative decor to enhance Potli’s dining atmosphere.
You may be interested to know that as a result of our hard and passionate work and the continued support of our valued customers, we are proud to announce that Potli has been recently admitted into exclusive guides such as the 2013 Tatler's Guide and the Good Food Guide for 2014.
We hope to have you here at Potli again soon!

Kind regards,
Team-Potli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    53
    10
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing service and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited this restaurant on a Friday evening. There were plenty of tables when we arrived but within 30 minutes every seat was filled. The waitstaff were all incredibly friendly and attentive. We ordered the Mutton Curry, Duck Amras Amrit, and for a side Rattan Manjusha Kofta. The mutton curry was delicious, but due to the shape of the bones we did end up picking them up with our hands. The duck amras amrit was also very good although quite sweet. My favourite was the kofta; there were only two bits of kofta but a lot of sauce which I dipped my naan into.

I'd definitely recommend going here and can't wait to visit again, although you should arrive early to ensure you get a seat!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Guest Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!
Just as you noted in your review, we have invested much thought and effort into bringing authentic Indian Marketplace cuisine and excellent service to our valued customers. We’ve also done our best to incorporate relevant and creative decor to enhance Potli’s dining atmosphere. We are thus grateful to you for your 5 star review in all fields of value, service, atmosphere, and food.
You may be pleased to discover that as a result of our hard and passionate work and the support of our customers, Potli has been recently admitted into exclusive guides such as the 2013 Tatler's Guide and the Good Food Guide for 2014!
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Team-Potli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Madcat get-together”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

It was a great experience to meet the Madcats at Potli. Our get together was well complimented by the décor and atmosphere of the restaurant.
We were very much engrossed in chatting and old memories but as soon as starters arrived, we were totally into food.
Although I am also from restaurant industry, starters really amazed me. They were regular Indian street foods with a twist. Specially Aloo Tikki crumb fried with sev (gram flour vermicelli) provided crunchiness and royal touch to this humble potato patty. Similarly prawns and chicken dishes were different and delicious.
The red wine offered to me was from France from Sangiovese Grapes and blended very well with mouth watering Lamb curry.
I had also been offered Rose wine from Malbec, Argentina and it was great, crisp and refreshing.
Dessert was even better, Bengali speciality from Patron Chef Jay Gosh: Sandesh with melted chocolate topping, beyond expectation.
To top it up, we enjoyed aromatic masala chai in the relaxing atmosphere of basement dining area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Guest Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor!

We were pleased to welcome you during the Madcat reunion.
We have put much thought into bringing authentic Indian Marketplace cuisine to London, and are happy to see you enjoyed your time here. Indeed, our regularly renovated menu is carefully designed, every dish being individually spiced and cooked using fresh local produce combined with exotic spices.
Our team has also done its best to incorporate a decor which we feel represents our Indian Market Kitchen concept, to enhance Potli’s dining atmosphere.
As a result of our passionate work and the fantastic support of our customers, Potli has been recently admitted into exclusive guides such as the 2013 Tatler's Guide and the Good Food Guide for 2014!
We hope to see you again soon and give you another 5 star dining experience.

Kind regards,
Team-Potli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant .. Don't miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Potli is an Indian restaurant with a Difference, which shines out in its decor, it's ethos, it's service and especially it's food, which wasting no time, is superb.

It is an 'authentic Indian restaurant' in bringing the best dishes from various regions, and cooking them to the highest standards with quality ingredients imported from India or. it's decor from decorations to its unusual cutlery (I must get some!) highlights its difference.

ervice is always excellent, from keen knowledgeable staff, and an energetic engaging manager. as for the food, it is simply some of the best Indian food I Have had anywhere, and this in an area where competition is high and customers demanding. d particularly recommend, the chicken lollipops, paneer shashlick and lamb haramasala, though you may want more than one visit to explore the menu over time.. Check out the cocktail bar with Indian snakes and ladders to pla while you wait!

Really can't recommend tis place highly enough, it is authentic, spicy (unlike other higher end restaurants that have 'food cooked by Indians' that is weakly spiced for western palate) , potli portion generously and spice well.

The only improvements can see would be to increase the range of the menu..and so saying, having dined here many times, there is often 'something we are trying out' that can be had which works its way into seasonal changes by the manager.

Do not miss the experience and the food of this outstanding restaurant, it's atmosphere, service and particularly their food are simply marvellous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Guest Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Customer,

We greatly appreciate your fantastic review on TripAdvisor!
It's always encouraging for us to see that our customers recognise the efforts we have invested in not only the quality of our food and service, but also our decor and atmosphere. We consider the bar to be an important part of the action here at Potli: where drinks are prepared, where customers can come in and order take away, where our guests can enjoy a drink while partaking in conversation with the bartenders. Children and adults alike playing snakes and ladders together at the table near the bar is also a common site.
Potli ensures the quality of food you described thanks to the marrying of spices imported from India and fresh local produce. We are also appreciated for our list of delicious cocktails as well as mocktails, some of which are also spiced.
Despite the amount of fantastic reviews we receive, we always strive to improve and perform to our very maximum in order to offer our guests the best possible experience.
I'm sure you'll be pleased to discover that Potli has recently been included in the distinguished 2013 Tatler's Guide as well as the Good Food Guide for 2014!
We look forward to having you here again soon.

Kind regards,
Team Potli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Delited”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

What can say about the place where I couldn't find a single negative. Being in the same profession I have been little critical when coming to this wonderful place. But it utterly changed my perception of Indian food in Britain. Having eaten best Indian food around London I can only tell you about "Potli" is.....
"This is it"
Despite the phenomenal food... The service is exceptional. The restaurant's decore gels together with the concept and above all the professionalism delivered by staff can't be explained in mere words.
Bharat the restaurant manager has the best mannerisms one can ever get in service industry. Excellent product knowledge and salesman skills.

"Well done and all the very best for keeping up the good work"

Don't forget to try the special drink--
GOL BAZAAR

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamPotli, Guest Relations Manager at Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor! It was great having you as our guest last night.
As you noted, we have invested much thought and effort into bringing authentic Indian Marketplace cuisine and excellent service to our customers, as well as a decor which we feel best fits our market kitchen concept. It is thus inspiring to us that you appreciated all these aspects of Potli upon your visit.
We are indeed well known for our cocktails as well as our mocktails, or "unspiked funs" and are delighted that you enjoyed our Gol Bazaar, one of our very popular drinks.
You may be pleased to discover that as a result of our hard and passionate work and the support of our customers, Potli has been recently admitted into exclusive guides such as the 2013 Tatler's Guide and the Good Food Guide for 2014!
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Team-Potli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen also viewed

London, England
 

Been to Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Potli-An Indian Market Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.