We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best doogh outside of Iran...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azerbaijan

Azerbaijan
291-293 King Street | Hammersmith, London W6 9NH, England
(0)20 8563 8553
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,000 of 16,892 restaurants in London
Cuisines: Turkish, Persian, Halal
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best doogh outside of Iran...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

... according to my boyfriend. This restaurant offers the standard Persian fare (various kebabs with rice and stews) with a few Azeri/Tabrizi extras. I particularly appreciated the attention to detail in that butter was provided without asking (I have been to too many Persian restuarants where you have to ask for it to be brought out) and the food was also served with soomagh (sumac). I'm not a fan of doogh (Persian yoghurt drink) myself, but my boyfriend declared it excellent. The restaurant was also very tastefully decorated, which belied the unprepossessing exterior, with photographs from Tabriz in northern Iran. It was very quiet at lunchtime, so I think this restaurant is best visited in the evenings. The manager seemed to be taking a lot of bookings over the phone whilst we were there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    9
    4
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Overcooked, dry, and deceiving!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Booked this restaurant for my wife's birthday party. We reserved for a table of 16, and asked on two separate occasions prior to the big night that each guest would choose 'a la carte' so that each person can chose what they want. The evening started with a selection of Persian starters, including aubergine dips, yoghurt dips and fresh salads. This was fairly tasty and came with bread.
The main course however was not as expected. Rather than allowing us to select off the menu as arranged, without knowledge, several large trays of kebabs were placed on our tables, and whilst still halfway through our starters, the plates with our dips still on where quickly taken away from us mid-bite and replaced with rice and kebabs!
The rushed nature of the servers was not to the taste of any of our guests, however, there was a time and place to talk to the staff about it, but now was not the time so as not to spoil the birthday.
The food was very below par! The kebabs were overcooked, dry and tasteless. With Persian cuisine normally fragrant and full of juicy kebab, I was very disappointed at this sub-standard selection that was put in front of us.
The chicken kebabs were tiny, (almost quail sized), the koobideh was awfully dry and had no taste, the lamb kebab was burnt and the rice was cold!
Normally I would have sent it all back, but I didn't want to embarrass the event in front of my guests.
There was live music which was ok, the singer made a half hearted effort, but was missing the will to make a good night of it. In fact, if our party was not in the restaurant, the singer would have had an audience of about 3 people!
This restaurant is in an affluent Iranian part of London, (Finchley) and therefore should be much better, but I strongly advise avoiding this place and going further down Ballards Lane to Behesht Barin where everything is much much better, and without doubt one of the finest Iranian restaurants in London.
The final straw was that at the end of the evening, each guest was slapped with a 26 pound per head bill, which for all of us was an extremely expensive evening for a poor effort.
I will not be returning to this restaurant, nor do I recommend this restaurant to anyone!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Very tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Really fresh and tasty food. The cuisine is similar to Turkish or Lebanese cooking, with a few Azerbaijan twists thrown in. The bread is gorgeous and the ice cream out of this world.

Service was a little slow but not so bad that it ruined the evening. The dishes were explained to us and the waiter also made some recommendations of his own.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“the best night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

It is the gratest restaurant experience.
i don't know where to start? warm and friendly reception, excelent food, the most energic live music, and polite staff. PS they have delivery service too!!
when you leaving you feel that you have been in a party with lots of joy in heart and full stomac.
bon apetit

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food ! Live Music! Lots of Dancing! Very Cosy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The staff are excellent, the service is superb and the food is superb in it's quality. We found abundance of choice on the various Azerbaijan and Persian menus. Loved starters. Fresh hot bread with special cheese and butter, great salads, tasty various types of rices, kebabs etc.
Got there at 7pm, left after midnight. Great Live music = Lots of dancing!

We enjoyed it so much, so decided to come here every month. We have been to many Persian restaurants, but this one is the Best!!! and you get two in one (Azerbaijan and Persian Cuisine)

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Azerbaijan also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Azerbaijan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azerbaijan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.