We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smile's Thai Cafe - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Smile's Thai Cafe
106 Foxberry Road, London SE4 2SH , England
020 8469 0953
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

This is an excellent basic Thai restaurant with good food. It is BYO so that makes it cheaper. I don't like the television though.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Felt a bit annoyed about bill mistake”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The main thing that I'll remember about this restaurant is that they got the bill wrong. It was a lot of indecipherable scrawling on 4 bits of paper. Admittedly we were a large party - 16 of us, taking up most of the small restaurant. Luckily someone felt the bill wasn't right and queried the bill and the owner did it again - it came out about 20% lower (even then, some of us thought it was a bit higher than it should have been, but it was really difficult to check as the writing was illegible, and we could tell they wanted to close).
It was a cold place on a Feb evening. Being a small room opening out on the street, it's difficult to heat (there was a calor gas heater).
Also, in some cases, the rice came 10 minutes after the main course, to it got cold before you could eat it.
Food was OK for the price, staff were nice. But the bill problem and the draftiness of it would deter me from going back.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 193 cities Reviews in 193 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
“didn't find this on my Brockley search you will now”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

My daughter who lives nearby had this recommended to her by a friend. I am glad she did. The pubs in Brockley are quite far apart but we went here on our way home. It was a great 'find' to all intents and purposes it looks like a takeaway ( which it is as well ) from the outside and to be honest a takeaway with tables on the inside but the service and food was excellent. It does not have a licence so get your drinks from the off licence by the garage or take it with you. Red curry and green curry with rice and noodles went down great with the shared Smile's starter. A quirky place but well worth the visit. Bet you find it on the search now! Good price as well.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A little local gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

I get either take away or dine in. Never been disappointed. It is a great local thai place. I have tried many thai places and to find one that is consistent is really hard. It is run by a thai family and looks a little out of place on a residential street BUT don't let that fool you! It is always packed on Friday and Saturday, so get a rez. The beef spicy salad is good and so are the noodle dishes! Service is always with a smile, ha.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smile's Thai Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smile's Thai Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.