We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful Gem of a hotel but go for the staff ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James's Hotel and Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added St. James's Hotel and Club to your Saves list
St. James's Hotel and Club
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7 - 8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England (St. James's)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 1,055 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A wonderful Gem of a hotel but go for the staff ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I stayed at the St James for a little over a week. It was a brilliantly good stay.

The property is very well located: in the heart of St James, you can easily walk to Piccadilly, the Theatre District, Trafalgar Square, the British Museum, Chinatown, Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park...

The room was spacious enough and fairly well appointed. It reminds me of a Gold Floor Fairmont room.

The quaint Michelin rated restaurant deserves it's reputation. The food is excellent, wine selection endless and the atmosphere is unique, elegant and comfortable.

But that's not why I will stay here again. The staff are fantastic up and down the line up. They are professional, very helpful and very very friendly. They made my stay feel very comfortable and always made me feel welcome.

I put this place at the top of my list.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    105
    43
    5
    5
See reviews for
69
258
42
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

All in all a very good Hotel, as all the Althoff properties are. Rooms on the very small side.
Dinner and service at Park Place restaurant excellent.
One persistent flaw is breakfast. Choice and quality is adequate, but throughout all three stays at this Hotel service is chaotic and disorganized, sometimes giving an understaffed feeling, seating arrangements hectic, orders are forgotten and one has to wait long for most things.
Profuse apologies do not compensate for this. The front room is unacceptably hot and stuffy on top.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

You can almost forget you are in one of the biggest cities in the world it's so quiet & peaceful here, so great for a good sleep. I was only reminded I was in London as I could see Big Ben from our terrace, we stayed in the Terrace Suite. It's a roof top (5th or 6th floor) suite of two room areas, well appointed even though on the smallish side unlike the terrace which was much bigger than I had expected. There are nice chairs to sit there too which is wonderful on a nice day away from the hubub. It is well situated centrally as you walk out of the hotel side street into St James's Road & Piccadilly. The staff were very helpful & friendly and were great at getting cabs if we needed one. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask if they have a balcony or terrace as a number of rooms seemed to have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I have just spent one night at the St James. We arrived quite early so left our bags with the receptionist and headed off to the sights of London. When we arrived back at the hotel in the afternoon our bags and jackets had been taken to our room and the jackets were hanging in the wardrobe. Our room was not of a large size, but it was very appealing and comfortable. The bathroom was very well equipped with a bath and a huge shower along with complimentary toiletries. Bathrobes and slippers were supplied as well as gorgeous deep pile fluffy towels. The bed was probably the most comfortable I have ever slept in and the pillows were lovely. We had a very good choice of breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed and was served by a very polite waitress and was very interested in our needs. I can highly recommend this hotel and the staff who are very courteous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Then book out the top floor suite with its own roof garden. It really is a very special experience. Lovely plants and searing area, private for Central London with a bit of a view. It feels like an oasis of calm. We tried the restaurant and had room service. The restaurant is great, sort of what you'd expect from a 1 Michelin starred place - everything well executed, fresh, good quality, good service, but not super memorable. I actually preferred the room service, food quality was great, but combined with sitting on the terrace enjoying a warm evening, it felt very luxurious.
The room itself is actually on the smaller side for a suite, but very well decorated, understated and all the amenities you'd expect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

A previous review stated that the hotel is “best in class” and I could not agree more. This establishment sets the standard for hospitality and professionalism. Luxury it is in every way, accommodating to every standard, polished in true English style yet approachable and very comfortable. Traveling with our 8 year old was terrific and the hotel and staff made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The room was well appointed and made you forget that you were in the heart of the City. It is hard to remove oneself from the bed as you are made to feel that you rest on a cloud. The wireless connecting was strong throughout the property and made working be it in the room or the restaurant easy. Centrally located and steps away from all that’s important this hotel will exceed the highest standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

A former gentlemen's club that has very traditional "English" service at it's finest. From the moment I arrived the GM personally greeted our group at the front entry. We were escourted to the check in reception keys were ready along with a very nice packet on London.

I stayed in a junior suite which was lovely. The bed was very comfortable, ample closet space and the bathroom was super special indeed. The amenities were very special and personalized. We had the awesome opportunity to go to Burrough's market with the Chef which was an very cool. I would highly recommend this hotel as it's a great value, great location, Michelin rate restaurant, and above all, GREAT SERVICE!!!

Kimberlee' Fisher
Washington, DC

Room Tip: they do not have a fitness center but they back up to Green Park which has amazing jogging trails. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
St. James's
The Stafford London
The Stafford London
#43 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 672 reviews
St. James's
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#103 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
St. James's
The Cavendish London
The Cavendish London
#89 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Brown's Hotel
Brown's Hotel
#46 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 824 reviews
St. James's
Sofitel London St James
Sofitel London St James
#21 of 1,055 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,957 reviews
Mayfair
Athenaeum Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James's Hotel and Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James's Hotel and Club

Address: 7 - 8 Park Place, London SW1A 1LS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in London
#77 Luxury Hotel in London
#77 Romantic Hotel in London
#114 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — St. James's Hotel and Club 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. James’s Hotel and Club is a five star townhouse hotel tucked away in a quiet cul-de-sac in St James’s, near Mayfair and Piccadilly. It is ideally located within central London and it is the perfect base for shopping, culture as well as business meetings or events. A multi-million pound restoration has created a harmony between contemporary chic and Victorian elegance. With fabulous Penthouse suites and some of the best guest room terraces in London, the hotel boasts stylish, sleek, contemporary yet elegant interiors finished with handmade silk wallpaper, black lacquered furniture, handcrafted Murano glass chandeliers and polished natural stone in the bathroom. A magnificent art collection also features throughout the hotel.The Michelin-starred restaurant Seven Park Place is headed up by award-winning Executive Chef William Drabble and offers a modern-French cuisine made up of primarily British ingredients. William oversees also private dining, room service and the hotel’s more informal yet stylish dining space, William’s Bar & Bistro. Traditional afternoon tea is served daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, LateRooms, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Otel, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your St. James's Hotel and Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Jamess Hotel
St James Club London
Hotel St Jamess
St. James's Hotel And Club London, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James's Hotel and Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.